10/23 Chiqui, AMPS 348

Daniel Jerónimo Tobón

Member Since 2019
Hi everyone,
Chiqui was diagnosed the past week, and started treatment last saturday. The vet did a curve with a high dose of Novalin (wich led her to hypoglimecia). After some research, My wife and I found this forum and other sites, and decided to switch inmediately to Lantus. There is a fuller explanation of this in the welcome group post. We are still looking for a vet more informed in the current treatments for diabetes. She has been answering my questions (point for her), but doesn't seem to have done any research on the mechanisms of gargline, so we don't think she is the right one.
Chiqui's symptoms have improved. She is drinking less water and urinating less, and seems more energetic. Also, we are moving her to a exclusively wet, low carb.
We will continue to measure her glucose thrice a day. We are worried by her numbers, but guess we'll stick to the dose at least until this saturday, and then decide. Any thoughts on that?
Have a nice day and thank you all for your help and advice
 
Welcome to the forum! You've come to the right place to get help, advice, suggestions and support to help Chiqui get better!

First it's nice that you found a vet to help you by answering your questions - however a lot of us have discovered that we cannot depend on our vets to have a vast depth of knowledge about feline diabetes. Fact is, most have had very little training when they were in school and they do not have time to stay up on the latest studies and literature about FD.

You'll find more information in the stickies at the top of this forum - than in any vet you're going to find - unless of course the vet is a specialist in endocrinology...harder to find...

So the first thing would be to get her off the dry food - looks like you're already working on that. Second thing is to select a protocol. Here's the stickie that discusses the two types of protocols. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Her numbers are a bit high right now, but we've seen worse! So let's hope with a bit of patience, treatment and better food she'll run down the road to remission.

Nice job posting!:bighug:
 
Hi and welcome! So glad you found us as there is a wealth of knowledge and experience here.

You can do your own curves at home. When they are done at the vet’s, kitties are so stressed and their BGs soar up and then the vet bases an I crease in those inflated numbers.

Keep posting daily and asking questions and we will help you .
 
Welcome to the Lantus/Basalgar, Levemir Forum!

Because she is still eating some dry, your only option at this time is to do Start Low Go Slow and I see you have indicated that on her SS. Great job! You’ll want to hold the dose for a week and then do a curve so you have the right idea.

If you are switching from dry food, just be sure you do it slowly and test. We have had members who took away the dry and the BG really dropped so be aware.

Please let us know any questions you have.
 
Hi, @Sue and Luci, @Marje and Gracie and @Bobbie And Bubba. Thanks for your insight. We have cut her completely out of dry food, and trying a mix of lowish carb wet foods (ranging form 4 to 12). Hope to talk to another vet this weekend and, if her numbers don't move down (which they don't seem to), talk about a dose increment and look for other clinical signs. On the plus side, even with those numbers she is clearly feeling better, more energetic, and less thirsty, so that's a plus.
I'll post again this weekend. And thanks again for the great advice
 
Welcome to you and beautiful Chiqui! Hope you can find a vet who knows enough about long acting insulin, so he can help you treat your little boy !
Don't worry with the high numbers, it will get better; it's just a matter of time, proper food and good dosing! Great that your SS is all setup!
 
Wonderful news that she is feeling better. If you are able to , keep her wet low carb under 10%.

Here is the carb % and how they are classified:

High Carb HC. 16-24%
Medium Carb MC 11-15 %
Low Carb 10 % or less

All these % are depending on the carb sensitivity of the cat.
 
Hope to talk to another vet this weekend and, if her numbers don't move down (which they don't seem to), talk about a dose increment and look for other clinical signs
Hi Daniel and Chiqui!

Great advice already. I encourage you to read the stickies on the Lantus forum. I haven’t looked at your intro post but I’d just like to comment and second other’s posts.

Many of us here don’t rely much on our vets with our cat’s diabetes. We go to them for other issues of course. But most of us dose according to the methods practiced here. One of which was studied and published in a veterinary journal.

Of course, I do hope you find a great vet who can work with you through Chiqui’s diabetes journey. We are happy to help you in anyway we can!
 
Hi Daniel

That’s great news!!

Just as an administration thing, we usually do one thread (we call them “condos” in this subforum) per cat per day. That means all of your questions whether it’s about dosing, syringes, foods, vet visits.....everything to do with Chiqui will go in one condo each day titled as you started this one. Keeping the numbers updated in the subject line will also help us help you as many of us scan the numbers in case we see something that needs attention.

This post on how we do things to best help members in this forum might help as well.
 
Welcome!!

Between your into in the other forum and the information here, hopefully you're not getting overwhelmed with information. (The sticky notes at the top of the board are guaranteed to give you information overload.)

The only thing I would suggest is that you get at least one test during the PM cycle. We encourage everyone to get a "before bed" test so you know that Chiqui is in safe numbers when you go to sleep every night.
 
Back
Top