10/23/24/HannahGlory121+3.5 104+4.5 125+6

Status
Not open for further replies.

Priscillalea

Member Since 2011
Okay now I am really confused..I know the 365 must be a rebound from low doses yesterday, but I had to give a low dose didn't I ????? She had no food all night long, so it is not that, I mean when you haves BG's of 156 and 139 you cannot give 2 units can you? I was told not to at 168, and I allready had given 2 U and ended up at the ER VET....I was so happy with her low numbers, oh well onward and upward...............Priscilla and Hannah Glory
 
Re: 10/23/11 Hannah Glory AMPS 365.........WHAT???

good morning! ~O)

this is my first visit to your condo and my first look at Hannahs ss.

My first question is, what is her dose??

Lantus likes consistency and I don't see much of that in the past few cycles- 2u, .5u, 1u, 2u. . .

Why the dose hopping?
 
Re: 10/23/11 Hannah Glory AMPS 365.........WHAT???

I'd suggest taking a look at our spreadsheets to give you a feel for how people shoot. While I realize it's not completely intuitive, if you're giving 2.0u and the pre-shot is 300, numbers could easily drop 200 points. If your pre-shot is 125, there isn't going to be a 200 point drop at the same dose. If you look at Gabby's SS on 10/2, you'll see what I mean. The basic rule is to "shoot low to stay low" once you have the data to do so. Right now, with all of the dose changes, you don't have the data.

I also think you will become more comfortable with low numbers. Most of us want to see our cats' numbers in the 50 - 60 range. These are normal BG numbers. Again, if you look at Gabby's SS, you'll see that her numbers will drop into lower ranges and I manage the curve with HC food. Testing and having HC food to steer the curve gives you a great deal of control.

Lantus does like consistency. If you keep moving around the dose, it effects the shed which in turn, effects Hannah Glory's numbers. If you take a look at the stickys, you'll note that with Lantus, we use 150 as the cut point for evaluating whether (or how) to shoot until you are data ready. If you get a low pre-shot number, you have choices other than skipping. You can stall (and don't feed) to see if numbers are coming up or shoot a reduced dose. I would probably not reduce to 0.5u but there are also times where you need to do what you feel comfortable with.
 
Re: 10/23/11 Hannah Glory AMPS 365.........WHAT???

Morning, To Sandy.........My dose is 2U for a little over a week now....before that it was 4U for a long time.........A little over a week ago I tested her and she was 168...I decided to cut it in half and gave her 2U and then come to this site where someone said do not give 2U for 168, it is too much, so it was too late to change it..............He BG went to 79 and I began to panic and threw her in the car and rushed to the VET by then it was 68 and they were concerned, so she spent the night....A little history; a year ago she fell to 38 12 hours after her 5U dose of Lantus, she had a seizure, nearly into a coma and went blind, I nearly lost her and so I am scared to death when she gets near 100.I know what they say normals are but I cannot help getting scared........So when she left the ER VET he said go to 2U....... when I go to work, I work many hours and cannot monitor her, if I get up and she is 156, I am afraid to give her 2U and go off to work, so I gave her less and still worried all day......................That night of the ER I had given 2U for 168 and was told I should not have..................So what i am trying to say is I cannot delay or wait around to see what happens if I have to go to work so I have to make a decision of some sort.............I need to keep her on a schedule if possible.........I wrote more about my having to deal early in the AM with this a few messages ago like FRi. Am, I think..................I gave her 0.5 yesterday AM because she was only 186 and I had to rush off to work, had no idea what else to do and do not have time to get on here and ask................I am trying to do a curve today, unless I get called into work, I am on call...............I feel so badly sticking her little ear constantly, isn't there a level of stability that can be reached ??? I only started testing her a few months ago, up until then she went to the vet every few weeks and they did a curve and then said what to give her..................I know that is not enough but I am not here all the time and I know alot of you must work too and I just want her safe.......If there was never that incident a year ago then I would feel differently I'm sure...................I've looked at some other spreadsheets and I see some dose changes from time to time, how do you decide? I need to know at 0600 when I am getting ready for work, feeding 16 cats, scooping out litter boxes and getting a 154 BG what dose to give if I am going to be gone all day.......Sienne, if I were home I could maybe manage her drop with HC foods but what if I am not here? I am sorry, I feel so stupid with this at times, I just want to not feel worried about her all the time, even my vet said he would rather have her run high than too low after last year. Don't give up on me I'll keep trying.I love Hannah so much.Priscilla
 
Re: 10/23/11 Hannah Glory AMPS 365.........WHAT???

Hannah Glory may be an exception when it comes to where her safe range is. Every cat is different (ECID). For example, Zener's lows are set at a slightly higher level because of a neurological condition. All of this is workable.

As I said, we typically use 150 as the point for evaluating dose when you don't yet have data. If you're more comfortable, use 200. I would read and/or print out the sticky on shooting and handling low numbers. There are some people here early in the morning if you need a hand although it sounds like you have a jam packed morning routine.

I don't know if this is feasible but can you shoot a little earlier so you have a cushion with respect to getting a test before you need to leave for work? it may not be possible given your PM shot time but it may be worth considering.

Will Hannah Glory feed herself if her numbers are in the lower ranges? If so and if you can isolate her, you can leave her with a feeder. That may help to ease your mind when you're out of the house.

There is a point where regulation may occur but it really depends on your cat. Not all cats go OTJ or get easily regulated. Part of getting to either place is doing what you can to both understand the nature of the insulin you're using and your cat's response. It sounds like you are looking for a sliding scale for dosing that's based on your pre-shot test info. Unfortunately, that's not the way Lantus works. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir.
 
Re: 10/23/11 Hannah Glory AMPS 365.........WHAT???

Sienne, Yes, you are right, it is the nurse in me that is fighting for the sliding scale, Lantus works differently in humans. I will keep trying, sorry to sound so frustrated, I worry so much. I'm awake half the night, if she moves, gets on or off the bed, I am instantly awake to see if she is okay, I'm sure I am driving us both crazy............I'll keep working on this..............Maybe I can smuggle her into work and keep tabs on her, wish I could...........Have a Blessed Sunday........P+HG........I have read the "stickies" and will reread them as often as I can...............
 
Re: 10/23/11 Hannah Glory AMPS 365.........WHAT???

I know that feeling about bringing your cat to work. I wish I could, as well!!

FWIW, there are other types of insulin that are used that do have sliding pre-shot dose scales. I believe PZI (ProZinc) is one of them. I tend to think that Lantus is more gentle, though.
 
Re: 10/23/11 Hannah Glory AMPS 365.........WHAT???

I asked my vet about prozinc because the ER Vet mentioned it, but he said he did not think it a good idea to change.............I'll just have to learn that's all..........I have been doing a curve all day and will continue to get BGs a couple of more times.see SS. P and HG
 
Re: 10/23/11 Hannah Glory AMPS 365.........WHAT???

It is 3.5 hours after 2 Units for Hannah Glory and she is 121 she was 215 when Ins given and had a good size dinner, I am nor used to these numbers, I know they are probably okay but they scare me, is it okay ?????? Priscilla
 
10/23 PM +3.5 121

Hi
I have not posted in your condo before but just read your story. I know you are worried but 121 is a good number. Since you are worried you can feed her a small amount of her regular low carb food and recheck in one hour. Stay calm she is really going to be fine. :smile:
 
Re: 10/23/11 Hannah Glory AMPS 365.........WHAT???

The "bump" is a reply to a message so that your condo goes to the top of the message board and someone with experience is more likely to see it. 121 is a good number and scary when you're not used to it!
Liz
 
Re: 10/23/11 Hannah Glory AMPS 365.........WHAT???

Just rethinking.....since you are very concerned you can recheck in 30 minutes to see if the drop has slowed down.

You can also remove the 911 from your post since Hannah is not in any danger. You could put "Help Please" in your subject line to get attention from others.
 
Re: 10/23/11 Hannah Glory AMPS 365.........WHAT???

Thanks Liz, Am still real new at all of this..................Priscillalea
 
Re: 10/23/11 Hannah Glory AMPS 365.........WHAT???

Priscilla:

If you need a hand and it's not an emergency, the best way to get attention to your condo is to change the subject line. To do this, you go to your first post in the thread/condo, and click on the "edit" button that's above the text box. Change the subject line to indicate you have a question, need help, etc., and then click on "submit." People will then respond.

As everyone is pointing out, these are good numbers. Many cats tend to experience lower numbers during the PM cycle. In addition, sometimes, when you see a flat yellow cycle, it' can be an indication that an active cycle will soon follow.

As Miriam suggested, feeding a small amount of low carb food and start to slow things down and encourage some surfing in a good range. You'll get used to seeing lower numbers. This is a good thing -- really!!
 
Re: 10/23/11 Hannah Glory AMPS 365.........WHAT???

Thanks Sienne, was just getting scared, yeah those lower numbers really cause me alot of anxiety...............P and HG
 
Re: 10/23/11 Hannah Glory AMPS 365.........WHAT???

It is one hour later and she has had some to eat and is 104.......P and HG
 
Re: 10/23/11 Hannah Glory AMPS 365.........WHAT???

It would really help if you edited your subject line so the BG test numbers were there. If you look at the other condos, the subject lines are updated to reflect the test info.
 
Re: 10/23/11 Hannah Glory AMPS 365.........WHAT???

It is +6 and we are 125. I have EVO dry down so she can snack if she wants, I gotta try to go to sleep, gotta get up in 5-6 hours....I may have to get on here early because if she is still low I need to know what if any to give her for an Ins. dose.....................P and HG
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top