10/22 Twice AMPS 383-deja vu

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kim & Twice

Member Since 2013
Today-Amps 383 +1 371 +2 394 +4 383 +6 412 +7.75 328 +8.25 +8.75 304 247 +10 304 +10.75 275

Yesterday-PMPS @11.5 443 +10 292 +4 299 +3 340 +2 356

Yesterday's Condo
I have no idea how to put yesterday's condo on here...sigh ~O) ~O)

Twice had a pretty anxious night into this morning. He was acting like he was starving. I almost caved into his demands last night, but we both ended up passing out. I'm sure that was for the best. I would really like to not tamper with his numbers right now, as I need to learn more about this new insulin works on him. I'm very happy I was able to have the last few days off work to stay home and watch him. Such a rare treat. He has been very alert, spirits high, clumsy tho and looking a bit skinnier. Will have to weigh him again...ugh...that means weighing myself too. :lol:

Hope everyone has a wonderful day. May the only excitement be the good kind :-D
 
Re: 10/22 Twice +10 292 AMPS 383 +1 371

Hi guys .. I don't think I've stopped by your condo before, so welcome from us! To get yesterday's condo in here, you would find the condo, highlight the address at the top of the page, then find the [*] and insert it into that .. at least, I think that's how it's done .. it's been awhile for me! Ugh on the weighing of the kitty .. thats a job for peter in this house! :lol: have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/22 Twice +10 292 AMPS 383 +1 371

Hi Kim. A belated welcome to LL to you and Twice from PurrFace and me. You'll get the hang of the sugar dance in time. There's a lot to learn so take it a little at a time. Reading through your condos, I saw you had an interesting time the other night and handled it very well. When you weight Twice do it the way I do. Get on the scale holding Twice first. That weigh when you get on without him you weigh less :lol: .

Here are the steps to put a previous condo link in your post.

1. Open the previous days link.
2. Copy the address for the link.
3. Go to main TR page and click on NEW TOPIC tab.
4. Click on URL tab.
5. Put = after the "l" in the first URL. Looks like this
6. Paste the link to the previous days condo immediately after the = sign. Like this previous condo's link
7. Type whatever name you want for the link between ][ like this. Name for link

Hope that helps. Here's the link to Twice's yesterday condo.
Yesterday
 
Re: 10/22 Twice +10 292 AMPS 383 +1 371

Hi Peter & Mocha Jo

I tried the text insert thing just now and no luck. Have had a couple cups of coffee now so my computer illiteracy issue doesn't seem so bleak anymore :lol:
Wow :-D congrats on the 22 month 2+ yearOTJ!! So many inspiring kitties out there! (You listening Twice? No more yummy Karo parties please)
Thanks for stopping in Peter. So nice that many beans and their OTJ kitties still hang out here to help others!!! :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 10/22 Twice +10 292 AMPS 383 +1 371 +2 394

Hi Kim,

Looks like Twice is still bouncing from your pajama party the other night! Hope it clears soon :-D

When I first joined FDMB, I had to print out the directions to naming a condo, then with a little trial and error, I was able to create one! Cleo was only OTJ for 3 months, yet I had forgotten how to do it! I needed some advice to make one again. :lol: :lol:

Good luck, and enjoy your days off!

Jane
 
Re: 10/22 Twice +10 292 AMPS 383 +1 371 +2 394

Thanks Donna (I'm assuming.., sorry if it's John or Purrface :smile: ). It worked and for the next month I will have to keep going back to the instructions i'm sure..lol
I actually guffawed about the weighing advice :lol: That is an awesome idea!
Thank you for the welcome. Hope to see you more :-D
 
Re: 10/22 Twice +10 292 AMPS 383 +1 371 +2 394

Hi Jane,
Ahhh..bouncing. I forget about these things and what they do to the numbers. Thank you for the mention. When they are like this, is it better to give little snacks if you can or just leave them be? Seems to me the food would drive them higher, but I feel so sorry for him when he thinks he's starving.
Nice blue numbers to start Cleo's day :-D I know everyone wants the green, but the blue don't look bad to us!! :-D :-D
Thanks for the drop by. Just checked out where you live and it reminded me that we were supposed to be in Disney World for 2 weeks right now! But on the bright side, we have our first snow on the ground as of yesterday :lol: :sad: :lol:

Have a great day Jane and Cleo. Enjoy Florida for us!!!!
 
Re: 10/22 Twice +10 292 AMPS 383 +1 371 +2 394

Hi Kim,
Looks like twice is still in "bounce mode" from his adventure a couple night ago.

On the feeding question.
When they are like this, is it better to give little snacks if you can or just leave them be? Seems to me the food would drive them higher, but I feel so sorry for him when he thinks he's starving.

You don't need to alter from a regular food routine while he's bouncing. If you would normally feed him snacks during the cycle, you can continue doing so. Yes, the snacks might raise the numbers a little, but those "boosts" don't last forever. With diabetes in general, multiple small meals during the day or night are actually better than dumping all the food load into a system just twice per day. You don't necessarily add to the daily intake of calories. You just spread them out more evenly.

As long as you try not to feed in the two or three hours prior to AMPS or PMPS, the food isn't likely to show up in his BG numbers for those tests.

Does that help?
 
Re: 10/22 Twice +10 292 AMPS 383 +1 371 +2 394

Good morning Carl ~O) :-D Yes, that helps immensely. I would like to be able to offer him a little morsel here and there when I am around to do so. Since ALL the cats (and the poor dogs too) have been put on the timed feeding/wet food only diet, you can probably imagine how loud my home has become! :lol: :lol:
So nice to see you. Tummy kisses to Bob!!
 
Re: 10/22 Twice +10 292 AMPS 383

I'm feeling a little deja vu here. Twice's numbers are doing what they were two days ago. He started getting bigger drops around +8-+11 (same as today). Then at pmps he was the lowest all day. Then he dove. Adding to the nervous feeling is the fact that I plan to give him his dose at +11.5 as I am needing to get him back on his schedule so I can go to work tomorrow. I may be jumping the gun, but his shot is to be in half an hour from now, and if his #'s drop more I fear another PJ Party and another missed day of work. I may be overreacting, but I have been a tad nervous since his +8 today.

Today-Amps 383 +1 371 +2 394 +4 383 +6 412 +7.75 328 +8.25 +8.75 304 247 +10 304 +10.75 275
 
Hi Kim and Twice!
thanks for stopping by Charms condo today! I have read your posts also and thought you had a dramatic introduction to this incredible board. But you could not have been in better hands! The people on this board are amazing! They are totally responsible for Charms success. Lantus was the third type of insulin that we tried and honestly my vet was ready to give up. Now Charms has gone from 8.5u to 1.25u . I still can hardly believe it when I fill the needle! You are in the right place. As they say here ECID, every cat is different , but there are so many people with so many different experiences, that someone is always able to help you. And if they can't help then they will give you support and encouragement and that goes a long way too! - Sam
 
Hi Kim and Twice and a somewhat belated welcome to LL,

Nadirs can move around, so I don't think that's a concern. Just have patience and follow the protocol and you will know that your kitty is safe.

A quicker, but not as elegant, method of putting in the link to yesterday's condo is to put the cursor on the title of your yesterday's condo in the Tight-Regulation list, then right-click (PC) or control-click (Mac). A drop-down box will appear: choose "copy link" (or "copy", or whatever wording your browser uses). Open a condo for today (click "New Topic"). Position the cursor where you want the link to appear, click the URL box, then go to the "Edit" tab on your browser and click "paste".

Everything gets easier as you go along. Welcome again,

Ella & Rusty
 
I know you're concerned about another PJ party, but remember, we kind of saw that one coming because of the big drop at +2

As you learn more about how Twice reacts and get more testing in, you'll start to see those "patterns" as well as learn when to watch for things....Like that +2!


Josie, I'd asked about that name too! It's a GREAT story!! It's in her original post on Health here...http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=106397
 
Kim, now I've had a few minutes to look at your spreadsheet

The difference between the other night and today is that you had that big drop at +2...when that test is a lot different from the Pre-shot number, you know to expect an "active" cycle...now sometimes this means they'll go too low like Twice did the other night, and sometimes it just means to keep an extra eye on them

Today, you didn't get a big drop at +2...your "big drop" at +8.25 was his nadir for that cycle..the nadir moves around, but it's the point in the cycle where the Lantus is working it's BEST...so it's generally the lowest number of the cycle...Dropping 81 points at +8 when you started in the 300's isn't a big deal....but if your pre-shot was 160 and at +2 you got an 80, that's when you have to watch out....or any big drop from pre-shot to +2 or +3...the +2 should be similar to the pre-shot...not a big dip down

A Lantus cycle looks like a smile...it starts at the top, drifts down through the cycle, and then heads up again..some cycles will be like :smile: and some will be more like :-D ..that "dip" on the bottom part of the smile is what you're looking for

You're doing great...just stick with the protocol and hold the dose until Twice has had the .75 at LEAST 3 days (6 cycles) or he drops below 50 again and earns another reduction
 
Thanks all for the replies and thank you Chris for posting that link for Josie (it would have taken me forever to figure it out). :lol: I guess I was thinking that his morning numbers that day were similar in "where" the nadir was and that it would result in tonights numbers following the same way as they did that day. I am totally reading too much into it. I'm not sure how much an a.m cycle affects the p.m cycle. So much to learn :?
 
I'm not sure how much an a.m cycle affects the p.m cycle.

No more than the PM cycle affects the AM cycle...LOL

Each "smile" is a cycle (or each cycle is a smile)..it starts at the top corner of the "smile", goes down (to "around" +6) and then starts to head up again....then the whole thing starts over. :smile: :-D

For now, we tell you to not shoot if the Pre-shot is under 200...that's because Twice is new to Lantus, as well as you're gathering data on how he responds. Eventually, you'll learn to shoot lower and lower...until you're giving insulin at Pre-shots as low as the mid 50's even, but that's awhile off so don't worry about it now.

If you get a Pre-shot under 200, we say to "stall", don't feed, and retest in 30 minutes to see if the number is going up or continuing down..If you can, use that 30 minutes to find someone to help you...otherwise, you have know the Shooting and Handling Low Numbers sticky and use the information there to help you.

All our protocols and sticky's are first of all, safe...that's the number one rule here!

Was happy I could find that story for you! I remembered it well!!
 
Hi Kim and Twice (love the story about his name)
Welcome to LL, the best place you and Twice could be to get him healthy again!
Good luck and you're already doing a GREAT job :thumbup
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top