10/22 Topper PMPS 244 +3 63

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jan and Topper

Member Since 2013
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=106223
Well here I am again. I worked Topper's shot time back to 1 am and pm so I can leave at +6 or +7 and be back in time for next shot so "PM" is really 1 am.I know, I'm confused too. His dose is now down to 1.25 except since he dropped to 63 I guess I'm reducing again. This is ridiculous and I just don't know what to do. I think he's going to end up getting a drop of insulin and his preshots will still be in the high 200's. I really don't know what to do. I have a medical appointment today and won't be back until about shot time.
I don't know why I'm posting, obviously I either start keeping him in lower numbers and if he's super low I just leave any way if I have to, or I end up giving him a drop of insulin on high PS's. I'm feeling very frustrated.
 
Hi guys .. wow, quite the drop for topper in just three hours .. fingers crossed he just surfs safely .. dealing with FD can be very frustrating to say the least .. hopefully someone will come along with some advice for you .. have a great day!
 
I'm not quite sure how to advise you, either, Jan, but you do have to be able to take care of yourself as well as Topper. You're doing an amazing job with him, but I know those low numbers are difficult for you to manage. Hopefully the LL team can help you come up with a plan that will work for both of you. Sending many prayers your way!!
 
Hi Jan,

First, you did just the right thing at +3 when you saw the 63. Your SS says you fed higher carb. And that brought him up at +4.

The 63 wasn't "too low", but it was lower than you wanted at +3, and you knew you had to leave by +6 or so. So you didn't want Topper going any lower. So feeding to get the drop to stop was the right thing to do.

I think we are going to have to try being "creative" to help you with this. I look at your SS, and yes, you are definitely testing enough. What I can't figure out easily is what your schedule is.

Your shots are at 1am and 1pm. Can you tell us ...
When you work?
And in a perfect world, when do you sleep?

We have to help you work around that.

Just thinking about today for now - can you test about a half hour before you need to leave? That number will help in determining what to feed or leave out when you have to go out.
 
Jan

Sending healing vines to you and Topper. I think you continue to do GREAT with him with all you have going on!!!

If it were me, I wouldn't change his dose. He's just bouncing and he might eventually stop. I would suggest you focus on the nadir and ignore the bounces. If his nadirs are ok with you, leave the dose and see if he will eventually stop bouncing. You have to be able to feel safe leaving him alone when you need to be out. I think he's doing just fine and I wouldn't worry so much about the numbers right now. You never know when he's going to quit bouncing so he could continue to require less and less insulin and then stop the bouncing and the PSs would come down. I'd just hold him where he is now until he earns a reduction or you feel you need to reduce him because the numbers are worrying you. It's ok!!!

Let's try to just focus on where he is today and not worry about where he might be if he's just getting a drop of insulin. We can't know that far in advance but we do have some tricks up our sleeves if he decides to do that :-D As I said, you are doing great with him so just keep doing what you're doing. If you worry about the nadirs being too low, reduce. If he starts giving you high numbers again, take him up a little bit. I would be flexible based on YOUR needs because you have to. He's spending alot of time below renal threshold and that is what is important considering your own health.

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top