10/22 Tom Amps 99 no shot PMPS 158

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sonia & Tom (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterday:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=54716

Tom is really overgrooming himself :sad: He doesn't look very good but he's behaving like a bugger. He slept with me, in my arms, purring until we both conked out and then woke us all up 'cause he was hungry ;-)

I am not shooting this and he's eating LC right now. Need to pickup more strips today. One of my many errands. Actually, DD and I are going to Sick Kids Hospital today to donate a large bag of new/unopened toys. She's 7 now and she gets soooo much stuff as gifts between birthdays, holidays and grandparents just beeing grandparents that we made a deal to put some aside to give away. Her pick of which ones and how many. She old enough to get it and she gets excited about it. :-D
 
Re: 10/22 Amps 99 no shot

Happy Caturday to you and Tom!

Sorry, I have no real advice about the overgrooming. Have you tried changing food to rule out allergies? Maybe call the vet and see if they have any suggestions you haven't tried yet. Overgrooming is a difficult behavior to correct. His behavior sounds great, though!
 
Re: 10/22 Amps 99 no shot

I'll take purrabye over a lullabye any night!

What a great idea for the extra toys! She will "get it" for the rest of her life!
 
Re: 10/22 Amps 99 no shot

Wonderful start for Tom, and wise to not shoot if you don't have strips and won't be around. I hope you and DD have a wonderful day taking toys to the hospital. What a great way to instill a sense of giving. I hope you get to the bottom of Tom's overgrooming soon... have you ever tried a feliway diffuser? there is a $10 coupon for the comfort zone ones on coupons.com. If the overgrooming is stress related, it may help relieve some of that stress. I know it worked wonders for Willie when he was grieving earlier this year... not sure what we would have done without it!

Enjoy your day!
 
Re: 10/22 Amps 99 no shot

Libby and Lucy said:
Happy Caturday to you and Tom!

Sorry, I have no real advice about the overgrooming. Have you tried changing food to rule out allergies? Maybe call the vet and see if they have any suggestions you haven't tried yet. Overgrooming is a difficult behavior to correct. His behavior sounds great, though!

The overgrooming was one of the reasons, along with the mass, that we went to the vet 3 weeks ago. At that time, he was still on the same food he had been for over 3 years. We recently added new flavours, higher carbs, just to make him eat. I don't know if the new food may be part of it.
Vet seems to think it may be a reaction to pain and/or him feeling the need to groom because he drools so much - drooling due to the mass on the tongue.
I gave him bupe last night and this morning and he seems to have groomed less. I'll try that over the weekend and see how it goes. I don't want him in pain in any event.
It's really hard at this point to balance getting him to eat while managing diabetes and keeping him hydrated and comfortable.

Maybe i'll get him a shirt like Teddy had.
 
Re: 10/22 Amps 99 no shot

Christie & Willie said:
Wonderful start for Tom, and wise to not shoot if you don't have strips and won't be around. I hope you and DD have a wonderful day taking toys to the hospital. What a great way to instill a sense of giving. I hope you get to the bottom of Tom's overgrooming soon... have you ever tried a feliway diffuser? there is a $10 coupon for the comfort zone ones on coupons.com. If the overgrooming is stress related, it may help relieve some of that stress. I know it worked wonders for Willie when he was grieving earlier this year... not sure what we would have done without it!

Enjoy your day!

I have Feliway spray.would you spray that around his sleeping areas?
 
Shot 0.25.

DD was so cute after dropping off the toys. She got lots of thanks at the hospital and I told her how proud I am. Her response? It really wasn't that hard mommy, I have lots of other stuff I like better.
So much for the idea of having her do it for others :lol:

Tom got a tshirt today, attempting to cover his chest so he doesn't groom himself as much there. It's getting a little irritated. DH thought it was silly but I got a cool shirt. He's walking as if he's carrying the weight of the world though. Pics later.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top