10/22 Teronto +35 118; +41 101; +46 98; +48 92

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teronto and Pauline

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's

Wow, My brain is not functioning this morning. Maybe it's the knowledge that it has to go back to work today? So, short and sweet this morning. Teronto is at +11 118. He's eating now because he made such a ruckous about it this morning so maybe the +11 should be a AMBG....??

I'm super super ecstatic about his turn around. Still no shot and he's managed to come down into NORMAL! He's my personal Rock Star!
 
Re: 10/22 Teronto +11 118

good morning! :mrgreen:

awesome number! i agree... no shot. let's see if he can continue to bring himself down using food instead of insulin.
will you be able to continue small meals with going back to work?
 
Re: 10/22 Teronto +11 118

Unfortunately no. But today is a none school day so I'll be home for lunch. Tonight I'm going to try to make some of those Catsicles and try those out tomorrow since it's a school day for me.

I was looking at auto feeders. It's probably my best option for him. Do you know anything about the auto feeders and if so, could you recommend any?
 
Re: 10/22 Teronto +11 118

no, i don't, but if you put the word "autofeeders" with a question mark in your subject line i'm sure others will weigh in on the subject.

can't wait to see how today goes!
gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo teronto!!!
 
Re: 10/22 Teronto +11 118 Auto Feeders?

I use a two compartment feeder. It's pretty low tech and has worked well. Others here use a more sophisticated, 5-compartment feeder. I had absolutely no luck with this feeder and returned them to Amazon because they both stopped working. However, I think I'm the outlier with that feeder as others have used it quite successfully.
 
Re: 10/22 Teronto +11 118 Auto Feeders?

I've used both PetSafe 2 compartment feeder and 5 compartment feeder. I prefer the 5 compartment one. It's cat-proof (to my cats anyways), quite (digital timer), and programmable to any time you want for up to 5 meals.The 2 comparment one is noisy (loud and ticks constantly unless you take battery out) and some cats may not like it, can only be set in approximate 2 hours increments, the lids are flimy and many cats can pry them open, the feeder is lightweight and can be pushed and flipped around :shock:, and the battery is impossible to put in or take out without involving severely pinching your fingers :-Q (my fingers anyways and, no, I do not have fat fingers).

Catmate is another popular brand of tmed feeders.
 
Re: 10/22 Teronto +11 118 Auto Feeders?

I just tried this one over the weekend, but Buster broke into it on the first trial run ohmygod_smile
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001EMXWLM/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

So now...I have ordered this one because it has clips on top and 6 trays. I only need two trays so I am going to try putting the second feeding in the tray opposite the opening in the hopes that he can't get to it. We'll see...
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B005POODL8/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

If you youtube whatever feeder you're interested in, many times you can see kitties busting them open. I swear they are half raccoon! These 2 models I'm trying are somewhat challenging to program, but they seem like solid feeders. I guess it depends on how motivated Teronto is for getting at the food.

Good luck!
 
Re: 10/22 Teronto +11 118 Auto Feeders?

Great job Teronto....keep coming down!! Exciting!!!!

Your +11 is actually +35....you count the hours since you last shot. With having +11 in the subject line, people will assume you shot last night but with +35, we all know you aren't shooting :-D :-D

Sorry...no help on the autofeeders. Paws crossed for your boy!

I hope you are feeling well, Pauline, and have recovered from your dental surgery. Have a great day.
 
Re: 10/22 Teronto +35 118; +41 101

Thank you everyone. I will have to look at some of those. Hopefully Teronto won't be able to figure out how to break into an auto feeder.

Marje, I am feeling better. Swelling and soreness are pretty much gone. But I'm still tired. I guess it will take a few days to get my sleep schedule sorted back out.

I can't believe how awesome Teronto is doing. Its amazing. And I'll count my blessings.

Inteeways, I must eat now that the cats are taken care of. Then back to work I go. Yay me. :)
 
Re: 10/22 Teronto +35 118; +41 101

Way to go Teronto. You are doing great!

Can't offer any input on the autofeeders. We have considered them but at this point just haven't done anything beyond that. :smile:

Keep up the good work
Karen
 
Re: 10/22 Teronto +35 118; +41 101

Been using the 2 compartment autofeeder for years when I am out for many hours, and it has been very successful--True it does tick & you do have to take out the battery to make it stop, but it has saved Moonie many times..
I also free feed her, but I like to know she has food available if I am not home..We work on weekends and are sometime out for 10 hours or more..this helps me know she can eat if she needs to.
Teronto is doing very well, pretty kitties!!
 
And we are still Green! Crazy Cat!

So for my little update. Teronto has been naughty...or trying to be naughty. He's been up on the counters looking for food, even though he's just ate. He know's he is not allowed up on the kitchen counters or the table. So we had to have a talk.

Took his BG tonight and he decided to get back at me for all the pokes and dug his claws into my leg, while PURRING! OUCHIE! :sad:

Yesterday Sister Peyote decided to projectile vomit on the brand new suitcase my Hubs just bought, from the cat perch. Not once, but twice. YUCK! I was worried at first but she took it in stride like nothing was wrong. BTW....Google doctor is not a good idea. I found all kinds of things that "Could" be why she projectiled, from tape worm infestation to kidney or liver problems. Make my mind go crazy so I must stop doing this. On a plus, I'm guessing that it's none of them. She's acting normal and has kept food down since it happened. But I'll be watching her closely.

Looks like I'm getting my wish. First snow is suppose to be here two days after we leave for Hawaii. I'm couldn't be happier. It rained all summer this year and I'm so not ready for winter. So if it can be delayed for even a couple weeks I'll be a happy woman.
 
Look at Teronto go!!

I suspect you need to differentiate between projectile vomiting and puking from a height. I suspect that Peyote was letting you know exactly what she thought about seeing a suitcase. Now, I wonder what she has in store for next week?
 
It is so nice to see :mrgreen: on Teronto! He (and you) are doing a marvelous job!

I've used the 4 meal feeder that Tara refers to above. Neko broke into it the first time, then I discovered how to make sure the lids are locked on. I got that model because I wanted one that held an ice pack, as Neko gets raw food. Since the first time, Neko has not been able to break it open and I did see her try. The user manual is hard to understand, but I found better ones on the manufactures web site. I use it for Neko's +1 and +2 meals after each main meal. It's gotten a fair bit of abuse, as Neko likes to get her paw in the compartment as it is rotating, to try to fish her food out faster. She's impatient, can't wait the extra 2 seconds it would take to rotate open enough for her head to get in. :lol:
 
Any update on Teronto? I looked at the SS, but the last entry was 10/23.... Hoping things have continued to go well.

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top