10/22 Spock AMPS 336

Status
Not open for further replies.
last post

Spock went in for his dental on 10/18. We didn't have the echo done, but his EKG and chest X-rays were good - only a very slight heart enlargement that my vet is not worried about. This was done pre-anesthesia because he has a 6 out of 6 heart murmur. I'm so glad my vet is a dental specialist because the poor baby had to have 12 teeth extracted (including all of his canines). He didn't get out of surgery until late afternoon so they wanted to keep him overnight. Since I worked the next day they kept him all day on the 19th too. They didn't have any Lantus so he didn't get a shot for 3 cycles. His numbers are high but I hesitate to increase the dose while the shed is refilling.

He was in a great deal of pain and I'm giving him the Bupe SubQ because he flew into a screaming rage when I squirted it.
He does seem to be slowly feeling better and even played with his crinkly ball a little last night. He's tolerating his tests a little better (because he knows it will hurt him more than me if he bites me). Not sure if he's just feeling nicer or if it just takes too much energy to be mean :roll:

He's still eating good but since I brought him home 3 weeks ago he's only gained an ounce. I guess I should be happy he isn't still losing!

As always, I will try to get more tests in - this weekend especially. Because I really need to go back to work on Monday (when I'm gone no one else does my work for me)
 
Ouchie ouch ouch ouch. Glad he's got the injectible bupe!!!! I bet with his teeth feeling better he will start to gain nicely for you. How many days will he have the bupe. I hope at least a few more.
 
Yes, I think I'll do at least a few more days of Bupe. He still occasionally paws at his mouth like he's trying to rub something off of it - probably the stitches are bugging him. But he's not half as drooly as he was! :-D
 
poor baby! i'm sure that must be uncomfortable. of course, if he has no teeth left then it won't be so bad if he bites you, er, uh, gums you. sounds like that would be an improvement!

i'd wondered if everything was ok with jesse & spock and the rest of your brood since you'd been gone! tomorrow i'll be coming through your way and was going to drop off the leash if it's ok. probably be late afternoon-ish.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top