10/22 Shishi PMPS 126 +1 127 +2 127 +4 171 +6 253

Status
Not open for further replies.

will and shishi

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=27968

Well, it looks like I will be off to costco for new vials of lantus, and I am using BD needles 3/10cc 1/2 unit markings (31 gauge and 8mm)

My old bottle has no floaties in it and its clear inside. But I am still going to change bottles.

My concern is the same as Perry and Sooty's, If my old bottle of lantus is toast what kind of dosing should I give Shishi with the new bottle. She is currently on 3.5 units with the old bottle. I would imagine that it would be strong.
 
Re: 10/22 Shishi AMPS 349

you shoot next at night, right? can you post a +11 BG and edit your subject line to say "??? dose" and there will be some of the experienced folks who pop in with advice. It's a good question, I'll be interested to see what they say.
 
Re: 10/22 Shishi AMPS 349

Welcome Will and Shishi!!! :mrgreen:

I do believe the cartridges are more economical...as per Ronnie's post from yesterday:

Ronnie & Luna said:
Hi again!

alright, so you are in Ontario, my tips are: Costco, 5 pack of 3ml vials is approx $95
about $120 at Shoppers Drug Mart.
And you don't need a prescription, plus at Costco you don't need a membership to purchase.

I would defiantly consider replacing your vial.
I believe the expiry date is meant for a "sealed vial".

The 5 pack cartridges (3ml) has been known to be a better deal economically, rather than the 10ml vial.
What kind of syringes are you using?
If you don't have syringes with 1/2 unit markings, you may need them down the road.
BD is a common brand available at most pharmacies.

Right now it is friday, if you will be around, start a new thread/condo with today's numbers.
Have a good day!

How about getting a +11 and then check back here to discuss the dose once you get the new Lantus...okay?
 
Re: 10/22 Shishi AMPS 349

Will do a +11, it will be around 11pm EST

Just got my new vials of lantus at costcos, 3ml vials for the pens, Exp is in 2013.

There was a employee right at the front door of costcos checking memberships, almost did not let me in. At the pharmacy I was asked the same thing, but I insisted that I didn't need a membership at other costcos, strange.

Looks like I am waking up tonight to spot check on Shishi, feel uneasy with the new Juice.
 
Re: 10/22 Shishi AMPS 349

Shishi's safety is always the wise choice and testing will ease your worries. I'm trying to do a bit more night testing this weekend while I'm off, so I'll be around. have a good evening.
 
Re: 10/22 Shishi AMPS 349

I don't believe I have said hello to you yet, so welcome to LL!

Normally we don't reduce the dose when a new cartridge is started. Yours is fairly old and it could possibly be weaker. I've heard that some folks on the German forum use their Lantus for 6 months, so if it has been treated well it might also be fine. It's up to you, do whatever makes you comfortable. As long as you're testing you're in control.

Do you have high carb wet food on hand?
 
Re: 10/22 Shishi AMPS 349

Just wanted to say howdy Will and Shishi. No advice from me but wanted to welcome the two of you. I finally got rid of my first vial after a little over a month.....it was probably still good, but I felt more comfortable using the pens and then tossing them. You are doing a great job w/absorbing all this information so quickly. There are lots of great folks here who can give very sound advice and guidance. Just ask.
 
Re: 10/22 Shishi AMPS 349 +6 122

Hello to all, its great to be here, and I have learned so much.

And hello Libby and Lucy, and Tena and Curry.

I have fancy feast sliced beef on hand, but Janet and Binky rates it at 18% carbs, dunno if this is high enough incase of Hypo. I have temptations dry treats but don't like to give it unless its a emergency.

I can run out and get some high carb wet food incase 18% is not enough.
 
Re: 10/22 Shishi AMPS 349

hi, guys! just wanted to say welcome!

you're going to like it here...the folks here have a great amount of knowledge and support...and it won't be long before you are as thrilled at having found the FDMB as Binks and I are!

celi & binks
 
Re: 10/22 Shishi AMPS 349 +6 122

18% qualifies as HC. Most of us keep several cans on hand. Also, in a pinch, corn syrup (Karo), honey, or maple syrup can be mixed into LC food.
 
Re: 10/22 Shishi AMPS 349 +6 122

Hello All

Need help with dosing, new bottle of lantus.

I have Shishi's +11 but its very confusing to me. She was shot with old bottle of lantus ( 5 months old bottle of lantus ) at AM, now I am going to shoot with new bottle of lantus for PM. But don;t know the correct dose.

I started to doubt the BG meter that I have but I have matched the codes prior to using it, and the test strips are not expired.

Please refer to my spreadsheet for her PMPS, its usually in the 300's but a +11 says its 129.
 
Re: 10/22 Shishi AMPS 349 +6 122 +9 156 +11 129

no advice, but hang in there...one of the wise ones will be along.

bump
 
Re: 10/22 Shishi AMPS 349 +6 122 +9 156 +11 129

Will - edit the subject of line of your very first post and insert your pmps # and ask for dose help. Libby mentioned keeping on your same dose but I don't believe you have shot a number as low as 129, have you?
 
Re: 10/22 Shishi AMPS 349 +6 122 +9 156 +11 129

I will edit first post, thank for the reminder.

I have never shot a number as low as 129, its strange even by me as I have not see her this low so close to PMPS.

I am thinking about reducing dose to 2 or 3 units, but unsure if this is a good idea or not. Will check +12 and see what happens.
 
Re: 10/22 Shishi AMPS 349 +6 122 +9 156 +11 129 +12 126 ???

Well the deed is done, I decided on 2 units of the new bottle, and will monitor her closely, Karo and high carb food if necessary through the night.

Will post in the morning, thank for all the help again.
 
Re: 10/22 Shishi AMPS 349 +6 122 +9 156 +11 129 +12 126

Not a dosing expert, but I think you made a wise choice. Better safe than sorry.
 
Re: 10/22 Shishi AMPS 349 +6 122 +9 156 +11 129 +12 126 ???

I was just typing a response when I saw that you posted. Start by getting a +1 and +2 tonight. I'm sorry I can't stay up with you.
 
Re: 10/22 Shishi AMPS 349 +6 122 +9 156 +11 129 +12 126

Oh wow, quite a change there!
I hope you were able to get a couple of checks in after PMPS.

I'll be looking at your SS this morning for updates, nice blues thou!
 
Re: 10/22 Shishi PMPS 126 +1 127 +2 127 +4 171

Morning all

I got a few spot checks in and the numbers seem to be ok, Although I would like to stay with the 3.5 unit dose, but better safe than sorry.

I am going to get a +6 in about 20 mins.

I would like to get her on a steady dose, instead of the roller coaster doses that I have been giving her. It seems that she responds to insulin now in a rather unpredictable way. Even after a few days of consistent 3.5 units.

Hopefully we can get a idea of the right dose for her at AMPS.
 
The +6 seems to be going high, I suspect at AMPS it will be in the 300's

Going back to snooze now, knowing she wont be Hypo, see you at AMPS.

Morning to all, and good luck with your AMPS.
 
Morning Will - I guess by now you are snoozing. pretty numbers thru the night, smart of you to keep a close eye on her. Her system won't be used to these nice numbers, she'll respond by bouncing high, that's normal. I believe her next dose is close to noon central time. post your numbers when you get them, there will be lots of folks who will weigh in. you did a good job overnight. Lantus likes a consistent dose, you just want the experts to help you find it and work with you on your next step. good job bud, these are really nice over night numbers for Shishi. It will be interesting to see what she does today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top