10/22 Scully AMPS 458 PMPS 298 Dose Advice Please

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara and Scully

Member Since 2014
Previous condo (10/1/14):
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=126284

Hello, LL! I haven't posted in about 3 weeks (sorry!). I don't know where the time goes or how the days get away from me. Anyway, over the past few weeks I've been increasing Scully's dose according to the TR Protocol. We're only seeing green every 5 - 6 cycles, and then she bounces for a few cycles. I couldn't figure out why what used to be a high dose for her (1.5 U) wasn't lowering her numbers like it used to. Then I weighed her on our home scale on 10/11/14 and found she has gained 2.5 pounds and is up to 12.5 lbs! I thought she was looking "fluffier!" So, she's up to 1.75 U, and I was prepared to increase her dose again this morning up to 2 U, but last night DH checked her at +7.25 and she was at 101, then 127 at +7.75. I think she dipped below 100 last night (6th cycle since her last green number), and bounced this morning. To me, her numbers overall are still too high, and I would like to increase her dose again, but I don't want to overshoot a good dose. Could someone take a look at her ss and give me some advice please? Even if we are seeing a green number once every six cycles, I don't think that's enough, although according to the protocol, it is enough to keep from increasing the dose, right? Thanks in advance for your help!

Tara & Scully
 
Re: 10/22 Scully AMPS 458 Dose Advice Please

Thanks for the bump. Monday - Thursday we are both at work all day and unable to monitor. Occasionally I can run home for lunch around her +6 to +6.5 to check her BG, which usually coincides with her nadir, but I other than checking her numbers, this is not monitoring.
 
Re: 10/22 Scully AMPS 458 Dose Advice Please

You can still increase on green nadirs - you just want to give it long enough in between dose increases to be confident about what nadirs it's causing.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

I think i'd hold off on increasing until you've got 6 consecutive cycles with nadirs that you can identify, at least fairly closely, so you know if they're in the greens or blues, even. Just thinking that he got to 60's 4 nights ago, and with no mid-cycle tests yesterday, i'd just be reluctant to increase without a little more information. If you're gone and not able to get the mid-cycle tests in, that's even more reason to hold off on increasing. What if the increase pushes him into low numbers?

Anyway, I think you probably could, but i think 6 consectutive nadirs in a row would make me feel better about suggesting it.
 
OK, thanks Julie. I shot the same dose for tonight. I'm actually off work for the next 4 days, so I thought if an increase is warranted, now would be a good time to do it because I will be around to monitor. Do you think I should still hold the dose? Tonight is her 11th cycle on this dose and we only have 3 cycles that have gone below 100. I doubt she went below 100 today or yesterday, but you're right, we don't know for sure.
 
I don't know. I think if you're going to be around and monitoring, that would make it safer - you're an experienced person, so if you think this is the direction you want to go, then do it. It does make some sense to increase when you're going to be around. I think it's up to you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top