? 10/22 Pudge AMPS 168 +2 134 +3 124 +4 99 +5 105

kitten68

Member Since 2024
10/21/25 Prev Thread Pudgles

🎃.. because of some issues w food and other things, reduced the cycle last night to 4 U and today to 3.75 U..

ok to just go back up to original 4.25 U tonite?.. unsure. :/

do have our vet appt tmw, in afternoon.. would it be possible for lower numbers to show up so soon after these small reductions?
ok to do 4.25.. or should like maybe go back up slow.. like 3.75 tonite.. then 4 U in morning.. then back to 4.25 U tmw night? (nothing else much for a while after that and the weekend.. can just be home)

advice very much appreciated.. shot time soon. 😅 x

@Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA) 🍂
 
What time is the vet appt tomorrow? That is, how many hours after the shot?

The depot takes 4-6 cycles after a reduction to adjust, so you might not see the effects of the reduction till then. You're probably still seeing the effects of the 4.25U depot. I would stay with 4.25U for now and be guided by his numbers to see if he needs a lower dose.

Good luck with the vet tomorrow!
 
What time is the vet appt tomorrow? That is, how many hours after the shot?

The depot takes 4-6 cycles after a reduction to adjust, so you might not see the effects of the reduction till then. You're probably still seeing the effects of the 4.25U depot. I would stay with 4.25U for now and be guided by his numbers to see if he needs a lower dose.

Good luck with the vet tomorrow!
i did so much today and stayed up a little into the night after testing started this sometimes happens where im soo tired, i dont remember to set alarms.. and i missed his +5 to see where he was.. think its ok to still go back up or what do i do?? im upset rn.. haha. my poor cat.. he usually wakes me up tho if he needs me.. 😫.. his last snack was +4….. he got another now at +7.. 🥺

vet is around +6 🫠..
 
Please take a few minutes to read over the sticky notes at the top of the board. Making back-to-back changes in Lantus dose typically results in wonky numbers. It's helpful to remember that Lantus is a long-acting depot insulin. Changes in dose -- increases or decreases -- often do not result in an immediate effect. The depot needs to catch up to the dose change.

Since Pudge is a year beyond his diagnosis, with TR, you reduce the dose when his numbers drop below 40. If you're not comfortable with the TR guidelines, look over SLGS and see if that's a better fit. Regardless of your decision about dosing method, it may be less anxiety provoking for you if you follow the dosing guidelines.
 
Back
Top