10/22 Pat's shadow AMPS=379

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
10/21
AMPS=357 ~.5u Lev (4th cycle)
+4=426
+8=396
PMPS=400 ~.75u Lev (first cycle of increased dose)
+8=396
AMPS=379 ~.75u Lev (2nd cycle)

Yesterday
Hi guys. A new week is upon us. Shadow has 3 Ps so far today. He started his day with no vomiting...happy about that!
We had a dose of the Carafate this morning again before breffis. Clean bowls showed me that he had eaten any remains from the +8 snack sometime between 4:15 am and 7:58 am. I forgot to take his BG test at midnight last night...can you believe it? sigh. Breffis was tricky. He walked away and sat by the open screen door for awhile. Then he started eating what little bit Raja had left in her bowl. He then moved over to his food and ate that all up. Whew! We had a quiet morning with no regurgitating or vomiting...whew again! I just gae him his first dose of pepcid for the day.
They both seemed to have accepted the Denamarin tablet yesterday evening with no side effects.

I am still sitting here from first things this morning at the computer while DH went golfing. i am reading more and more stuff about pancreatic enzymes and pancreatitis....my vet office will have to wait till tomorrow to order the pancrea powder...powder is better than tablets I guess. Will have to wait to speak with her when she gets around to calling. There certainly IS a lot online about this condition. Seems to me that most kitties who have FD have some sort of problems with their pancreas and they mostly can hide issues unless it's a full blown acute situation with anorexia and vomiting. Other than that, they can have it and we wouldn't really know for sure. Thye use the Pancrea Powder....does anyone know of anything else that is a good pancreatic enzyme?

Shadow seems good today...he is accepting everything I do to him with sweetness...what a good boy he is.
Still hanging out and not hiding and as long as the vomiting stays away, i feel better. Sending hugs to you all!
 
Pat

I'm glad to hear that Shadow is eating!! I hope he continues to improve every day.

I'm just wondering if your vet diagnosed him with Exocrine Pancreatic Insufficiency (EPI)? The pancreatic enzymes treat EPI but are not so effective if he does not have EPI. EPI can result from chronic inflammation of the pancreas or also from IBD. There are very specific symptoms which are different than pancreatitis.

Gus had pancreatitis once and I rushed out to buy Pancreved which is a similar enzymatic powder to Pancrea. It made absolutely no difference in him at all and when I asked my vet why it didn't, she said I was throwing my money down the drain because he didn't have EPI. I'm not trying to dissuade you but I'd just ask the vet about EPI because those powders are ridiculously expensive. If you just need digestive enzymes, there might be something more appropriate and less costly.

Good luck and I wish I was on the golf course, too! Lucky DH of yours!
 
So glad no pukus today! And that Shadow finally decided to eat. Good news they both tolerated the denamarin well. Interesting info from Marje - I wonder how is EPI diagnosed? I don't think you got prednisolone or anything prescribed for Shadow, right? This last flare of Muffin's was the first time I did NOT use pred. I only ask because I wanted to let you know it may take 2-3 weeks for Shadow to feel 100%. When I used pred in the past, she seemed to feel better sooner, but I'm glad we did it this time with just natural treatment, but I did want to mention it took a little longer.
 
Happy to hear Shadow is improving!! Every time I see Moonie not eating, I think she has it(antijinx)!!
Glad he is eating & scarfing down his sister's food :lol: That's our Shadow!!!
Hope he gets better & Better--Thinking of you--Hugs & Love from us!
 
Hi Pat,
A little late this evening, but wanted to drop in to say hi. Sorry, I don't know anything about those meds you mention. Rusty had a light case of pancreatitis, and I only suspected it because his bg numbers were not right and he wasn't eating as much as usual. ECID.

You'll be happy to hear that we cancelled our paddle today. Actually, it was a nice day, but very windy--probably too windy to be out on a large lake at this time of year when the water is much colder. We rescheduled it for Thursday. You'll just have enough time to get here!!

Hugs to you all,

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top