10/22 Nelli +8 136 PMPS 102 +2 80 +3.75 75 +9 120

WOW!!! Lucky you getting to shoot those greens!!! BOS!!! But it's the road to recovery - watch out for her now - she'll be looking for a reducie - and you know how they tell you that???? (yep, just in case newbies are reading this, Krystina knows)...it'll be when she drops below 50...if you're following TR...keeping score Krystina? Congrats on having the courage to shoot low... :)
 
Based upon Nelli‘s +2 last night and AMPS this morning… My not getting any more test after +2 last night I have a dreadful feeling she probably dropped below 50.
I am sick with a flu bug; very lethargic :blackeye:. Stinks not having anyone to help me with Nelli :(, but I don’t so we will make it thru :D.
She was ravenous hungry this morning at 5:30. Wasn’t due for her shots for a couple more hours. Finally at 5:30 I fed her a chicken heart with water and put her outside because she was driving me crazy wanting to eat exclamation? Then I had the most difficult time getting her to cooperate with my poking her ears. Took 20 minutes! What kind of danger am I in right now?
 
From what I've learned, having the same or lower +2 means the cycle will be active so you just have to monitor her. This is very exciting for you guys! I hope she surfs nicely for you today.
Even she did go below 50 last night, she's fine now so try not to stress about it. Focus on guiding her and getting your own rest so you can recover quickly. Get well soon!!

Congrats on the BOS!
 
From what I've learned, having the same or lower +2 means the cycle will be active so you just have to monitor her. This is very exciting for you guys! I hope she surfs nicely for you today.
Even she did go below 50 last night, she's fine now so try not to stress about it. Focus on guiding her and getting your own rest so you can recover quickly. Get well soon!!

Congrats on the BOS!
Thanks Rosie :bighug:
 
From what I've learned, having the same or lower +2 means the cycle will be active so you just have to monitor her. This is very exciting for you guys! I hope she surfs nicely for you today.
Even she did go below 50 last night, she's fine now so try not to stress about it. Focus on guiding her and getting your own rest so you can recover quickly. Get well soon!!

Congrats on the BOS!
Exactly!
 
How's it going Krystina?
Do you have new numbers?
How are you feeling yourself?

How are you feeling yourself?
I am up on a plane right now- wasn’t thinking about how much I feel like crap, Until now writing this :confused: Otherwise I feel in control, have been through this a couple times before with her. I knew this was coming Rosie! Knew it because I wasn’t able to test anymore through the night and again I’m sure she went down Below 50. As you said she is OK now and being cared for… “last night” is water under the bridge
 
Last edited:
Try to keep your SS updated, and you should change your thread title to the ? and put Need Help.
It's best for her to eat little bits at a time so she doesn't get to full too early in the cycle anyway so it's good she didn't eat much.
Done... I truly do go right to the computer and fill in condo and SS… Need to fill in SS first!
 
Last edited:
Just take it nice and slow. It must be challenging not feeling well yourself, but you clearly needed the rest last night.
You're not alone. We've got you.
Keep doing what you are doing. Nelli will be just fine.
Thanks for the Kind words I sincerely appreciate. I know Nelli will be OK… Anxious to test now next! Should have certainly jumped up feeding the 21% this time
 
You're doing beautifully. Nelli has earned her dose reduction. You can be a bit more generous with the carbs especially since you're under the weather. Just remember, even if her numbers come up, you still need to get some tests to make sure they stay up and don't wobble back down.

@Rosie & Bailey :
From what I've learned, having the same or lower +2 means the cycle will be active so you just have to monitor her.
With Lantus, the +2 is often very close to the pre-shot number. There's a schematic of what you can expect in one of the stickies. The +1 is influenced by food and therefore, should be higher. However, you never can tell with shooting lower numbers where the numbers may end up heading. It's always prudent to monitor with lower initial numbers.
 
Wow Nelli! She don't play!

Ok, so no more food for now to see if she can continue to rise or surf on her own. She needs to be monitored closely for at least 2 hours to make sure she doesn't drop again.
Also, since you gave her such a high carb, you'll still need to monitor throughout the day because high carb stays in her system longer so she could stll drop later.

Do you agree with this @Sienne and Gabby (GA) and @Mandy & Rex .
I'm pretty new myself, but I'm trying to share what I've learned.
 
I would test again at +4 to see if you need to feed LC to encourage surfing or pull out something else if she drops again. +5 would be close to nadir so it's often encouraged to give LC at this point instead of higher carbs so you don't halt the insulin action towards the end of the cycle.
 
even if her numbers come up, you still need to get some tests to make sure they stay up and don't wobble back down.
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) thanks for the kind words and shared knowledge.
Nelli‘s ears are not in good shape. With that said, I was going to wait until +5 which is now in one hour and 15 minutes. She is very quiet and has been resting all morning which is not her norm. Is this indicative to/of what she’s gone through this morning and probably through the night?
 
I would test again at +4 to see if you need to feed LC to encourage surfing or pull out something else if she drops again. +5 would be close to nadir so it's often encouraged to give LC at this point instead of higher carbs so you don't halt the insulin action towards the end of the cycle.
@Mandy & Rex i need to take off for an hour/ hour and a half now.
Have important Business meeting with financial partner who has no understanding or compassion over my & Nelli relationship. It’s actually very gross- he has said to me a couple times in past few months “can’t you give her to somebody” why don’t you take her to the Cat Depot. He is an investor in my company therefore he is very important, in big picture of my and Nelli’s life.
Please advise :)!
 
Have important Business meeting with financial partner who has no understanding or compassion over my & Nelli relationship. It’s actually very gross- he has said to me a couple times in past few months “can’t you give her to somebody” why don’t you take her to the Cat Depot. He is an investor in my company therefore he is very important, in big picture of my and Nelli’s life.
I'm sorry you have to deal with that. Keep surfing safely Nelli.
 
@Gill & George- Nelli earned a reduction today. Do I reduce .5 or .25?
Last time you advised me to drop .5 when she was at 5.5. I vaguely think I remember you saying when they are over five units the reduction is a half… Don’t recall whether five and less than only gets a quarter reduction. This is what I (seem to?) understand from the TR Protocal Sticky?
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)?
Thanks!
 
Last edited:
He is an investor in my company
OMG! I'm so sorry you have to deal with an a@@hole like that :mad::mad::mad: I hope you can dump that 'investor' someday - perhaps at the Man Depot?

btw - congratulations on the reducie! You did an excellent job today monitoring and steering her.

I got my back up a bit when I read about your investor - it was hard to see thru the 'red' haze that filled my angry mind...

Now that I've come to my senses - you're a great mama bean! Nice job!!
 
OMG! I'm so sorry you have to deal with an a@@hole like that :mad::mad::mad: I hope you can dump that 'investor' someday - perhaps at the Man Depot?

btw - congratulations on the reducie! You did an excellent job today monitoring and steering her.

I got my back up a bit when I read about your investor - it was hard to see thru the 'red' haze that filled my angry mind...

Now that I've come to my senses - you're a great mama bean! Nice job!!
MUAH!!!
YOU too :bighug:
 
I hold it up to a light and use a magnifying glass to help me see.
I have calipers, but I find the magnifying glass to be easier.

025unit-1.jpg


More info here:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/syringe-insulin-info-handling-drawing-fine-doses.151/
 
OMG!
No excuse...
Was stressed out (seriously) about measuring a .25 without a caliper-
Realized, just NOW when was filling in SS that I shot 5.25 instead of 4.75! I am short very short of beating myself up, looooosser!
NO EXCUSE.
Won’t/can’t go there, need help...
Need advise as to where to go from here.
Thanks
 
Last edited:
Krystina, what %carb did you feed at PMPS? If it was Radcat your usual meal I think, maybe give her a little something around 6-8% carb now, and recheck at +1...I can't tell for sure, she may bounce tonight, from the 44 earlier, but worth checking, since you have a bit of extra insulin in the mix. I'll be here for a while, don't worry, Nelli will be fine :bighug:
 
Krystina, what %carb did you feed at PMPS? If it was Radcat your usual meal I think, maybe give her a little something around 6-8% carb now, and recheck at +1...I can't tell for sure, she may bounce tonight, from the 44 earlier, but worth checking, since you have a bit of extra insulin in the mix. I'll be here for a while, don't worry, Nelli will be fine :bighug:
Thanks, muah-
Yes, she was fed Rad and a fresh chic heart (I know, 0, 0 carbs).
Ok, will dig into carbo food an and let you know how close I can come to 6,7,8%.
Thanks, Christie
 
Back
Top