10/22 Lovey PMPS 250 + 3.25 162 +4 141

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
Does this drop look OK? Sometimes with a high preshot I get a quick, steep drop. With a lower preshot I

usually get higher numbers when I would expect some nice blues or greens. Do you think Lovey could be bouncing with lower preshots early in the cycle? Also, the 2.25 numbers look better than the current 2.5 dose.

Today I had a 90 point drop with a 250 preshot.
 
Re: 10/22 Lovey PMPS 250 + 3.25 162 ?

Thanks Sienne. I will get a +4 and see what is going on. Thanks Lovey is meowing a lot for food. Maybe she is dropping a little more.
 
Re: 10/22 Lovey PMPS 250 + 3.25 162 ?

you're looking at the number of BG "points" dropped per hour - a 90 point drop in 3 hrs is fine. upwards of 50 points per hr can trigger a bounce in some cats, but not all. in some cats you can predict what the nadir might end up being by the speed of the drop.

wow, i was just looking at lovey's ss and saw the 141 pop up. that's always a fun little coincidence! that's about a 20 point drop in 45 minutes, so the rate is about the same.
 
I didn't realize that a steep drop could cause a bounce even if the cat didn't go too low until members explained that too me. I wasn't sure how steep though.
Lovey dropped about 270 points on Oct. 19 in less than 5 hours. That would be more than 50 points per hour. That was the fourth cycle of the new dose of 2.5. It seems like that may have brought a big bounce? could a bounce last more than a day or two? I saw more blues with the 2.25 dose. what do you think?
 
when you're following the protocol and increasing the dose gradually, you don't really have to worry about having missed the right dose. if you're asking if you should reduce the dose now because the numbers were better on 2.25, my thought would be no. as long as you're testing, you're not going to miss the low numbers that will tell you it's time to reduce the dose. that's the whole point of the protocol, it lets you increase the dose safely to get the cat into good numbers.

regarding the bounce, yes, a bounce can last up to 72 hrs. it can occur anytime a cat goes into a range lower than they have become accustomed to. i think it does look like Lovey bounced from that drop on 10/19, or from hitting the 114, which was lower than she'd been in a while. what i look at on 10/19, is that drop from amps 382 to 114 at +4.75, then a steady rise up from that to the next morning amps of 387. then she's wobbled around up there in the yellows and pinks until tonight. to my eyes, it looks like she's just cleared it in this evening cycle.

here's a link that might explain some of this in more detail: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46012 it's at the bottom of the "new to the group" starred sticky.

does any of that help?
 
Yes, it is very helpful Julie. I think I need to keep this dose longer to due to a long period of possible bouncing
to see what is happening then. I can't judge the dose on bounces. thanks for all your help tonight.
 
:-D i think it looks like a pretty good dose for her for the moment. i'll be curious to see if she bounces from tonight. it's not a fast drop, but she hasn't been in the blues for a few days and cats can get very used to the higher numbers very quickly.
 
I agree it looks nice! :smile: I will get another reading before I go to bed to see if Lovey is leveling out yet.
 
You asked how I can test as much as I do. Gabby has a well earned reputation for fast drops early in the cycle. As a result, I get tests early on. I have some flexibility with my work schedule and I get up early so I have time to get those tests before I leave. Evenings are easier .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top