10/22, Kahlua, PMPS=354, +2.5=216

That was quite a drop at +2 last night. Would have been interesting to see how much lower she went.

Btw, have you picked a dosing protocol between SLGS and TR?
 
I was planning on TR....am I not doing it right?
You are doing great. When you get a big drop at +2, like you did last night, you want to get one more test later in the cycle since it would be an active cycle.

Could you please add TR to your Signature and SS please? Thanks! :-)
 
Okay...hopefully I did that right!

I would like to test her more often, but right now it is so hit or miss getting actual blood.... poor girl!

So, we are on day 5. When do I change things? Also, how on earth do you measure 1/2 and 1/4 doses? I can barely see the 1 unit!
 
Hi, Kahlua's Mom. Welcome to the site. You are in good hands with Bhooma (Bandit's Mom). Just keep in mind that she is in India and is not "on line" much after 3:00 pm EST but she is usually online very early in the morning when lots of us folks have needed her. Are you using the U-100 syringes? It can be hard to measure the 1/2 and 1/4 doses. I used calipers to help me out. Hopefully, others will come on site and help you out. Just know that I will be following you and praying that you get your kitty into a good place with the diabetes.
 
Hi, Kahlua's Mom. Welcome to the site. You are in good hands with Bhooma (Bandit's Mom). Just keep in mind that she is in India and is not "on line" much after 3:00 pm EST but she is usually online very early in the morning when lots of us folks have needed her. Are you using the U-100 syringes? It can be hard to measure the 1/2 and 1/4 doses. I used calipers to help me out. Hopefully, others will come on site and help you out. Just know that I will be following you and praying that you get your kitty into a good place with the diabetes.
I have U 100, but there's no 1/2 dose markings. It's someone tiny!
 
I have U 100, but there's no 1/2 dose markings. It's someone tiny!
I know. It is very hard to "eye ball" those doses. I ended up getting calipers and they really helped me but you would need someone to help determine the mm for the dosage. Don't be afraid to try it. I was, but I got help, and it made my measuring of Susie's doses so much easier. This is what I used. https://www.harborfreight.com/6-in-...sae-and-metric-fractional-readings-63731.html They look intimidating but they are easy to use once you learn just a couple of things. I would be more than happy to help you learn to use these.
 
I know. It is very hard to "eye ball" those doses. I ended up getting calipers and they really helped me but you would need someone to help determine the mm for the dosage. Don't be afraid to try it. I was, but I got help, and it made my measuring of Susie's doses so much easier. This is what I used. https://www.harborfreight.com/6-in-...sae-and-metric-fractional-readings-63731.html They look intimidating but they are easy to use once you learn just a couple of things. I would be more than happy to help you learn to use these.
I can't even imagine what you'd do with them.
 
Okay, then just "eye ball" as good as you can with the syringe. I was intimidated with the calipers too at first. But when I got help on how to measure the doses it really helped me to make sure I was measuring to the best of my ability. By the way, math was always my worst subject in school. We can help you. If I could do it then so could you.
 
Okay, then just "eye ball" as good as you can with the syringe. I was intimidated with the calipers too at first. But when I got help on how to measure the doses it really helped me to make sure I was measuring to the best of my ability. By the way, math was always my worst subject in school. We can help you. If I could do it then so could you.
When do I start doing this?
 
When do I start doing this?
Do you have the calipers? We need to know what syringes you use, too. That way someone can advise you on the millimeters you need for each specific dose of insulin. I'm probably not the best person to advise on this but I can certainly get you some help. What are your syringes? By the way, a lot of folks don't use the calipers. You don't have to but it does help to make sure you are more accurate in the dosing.
 
Do you have the calipers? We need to know what syringes you use, too. That way someone can advise you on the millimeters you need for each specific dose of insulin. I'm probably not the best person to advise on this but I can certainly get you some help. What are your syringes? By the way, a lot of folks don't use the calipers. You don't have to but it does help to make sure you are more accurate in the dosing.
I don't have calipers. I could get some!

The syringes are 30 g, 3/10 ml u 100. Does that help?
 
I'm trying to get you some help with the measurements (mm) for your specific syringes. These are the calipers I used: https://www.harborfreight.com/search?q=Pittsburgh 4" digital caliper. If you can find these, and you get the dosages in millimeters, I can help you. I'd rather have someone more knowledgeable guide you but if no one does I'll do my best. Let's see if we get any responses. By the way, I also used a light box and a lighted magnifying glass but my eyes are not that good so I needed the extra help when measuring. If I were you I would get the lighted magnifying glass. That was a big help.
 
I'm trying to get you some help with the measurements (mm) for your specific syringes. These are the calipers I used: https://www.harborfreight.com/search?q=Pittsburgh 4" digital caliper. If you can find these, and you get the dosages in millimeters, I can help you. I'd rather have someone more knowledgeable guide you but if no one does I'll do my best. Let's see if we get any responses. By the way, I also used a light box and a lighted magnifying glass but my eyes are not that good so I needed the extra help when measuring. If I were you I would get the lighted magnifying glass. That was a big help.
Are these a specific type or can I buy them elsewhere? They are out of stock here. But I have Menards or Farm and Fleet.
 
I have never used calipers , do the syringes you have , have the half unit markings


49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg



 
Last edited:
Back
Top