10/22 Ivy Amps 222+2.25 98, +3 75, +4 66, +5 42 L, +7 Lo L, +9 181, Pmps 295, +3 220 Libre

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
10/21/24
AMPS 222 Libre

Gave 1/2 dose Lantus last night with dinner and gave half dose again this morning with no food.
Fasting her for labs at +4, we are testing to see if her T4 level has come down with the adjusted methimazole dose.

Waiting her out to get a urine specimen this morning. (She must be crossing her legs ) ;)Hoping I can get one before we go.

Paws crossed she does well and has a good lab result. Will feed her when we get back home, hopefully around +5.

Have a safe day, everyone:cat:
 
Good morning Staci!
Good luck with the vet visit!
My fingers and Mikan's paws are tightly crossed for the improved T4 number for Ivy :)
Hope the driving and the visit won't be too much of a fuss.
Wishing you as calm and easy a day as it can be :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Kit, many thanks for the good wishes!! We appreciate them and we always need them:)

Most importantly, we need to see a better T4, so keeping everything crossed for that.

Hope you and Mikan have a wonderful day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
And she’s diving at +2.25 down to 98 on Libre. Fed 1/2 tsp 12.5% (really didn’t wanna have to give her carbs cause don’t want to influence her fasting with food but also can’t have her diving so it’s gonna be what it’s gonna be.)

I suppose if I have to keep giving small amounts of food for the next hour and a half I guess I’m gonna have to or I guess I could give Karo, I’m not sure which is better :banghead:
 
Hi Staci,

guess you are on your way back now from the vet or already at home. Hope everything went well. I see Ivy decided to make it complicated today by going down. I think it is o.k. you fed a little. So many people will not even think about fasting before labs. I didn't think about it before I came here either. We can't always do it 100 % because life is happening. Or in other words, 100 % today for Ivy was to break the fast a little to keep her safe. So perfect job! All paws and fingers are crossed for a good result!

I hope Ivy recovers fast from her adventure and you can also relax after this exhausting trip. I send you big, big hugs! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hope all goes well with Ivy's visit and labs today. It's always nerve-wracking to have to wait for results, but as they used to say at the Washington Times: "Knowledge is power." Whatever you learn will help you move forward. Big hugs to both of you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Wow, look at those numbers. Not too low Ivy!!! :stop: Were you able to get a meter reading for that 42? Hope the vet visit went well. :bighug:
I wasn’t able to check at 42 Jo, I think we were on our Way back home. It’s been quite a Day ;)
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
Hi Staci,

guess you are on your way back now from the vet or already at home. Hope everything went well. I see Ivy decided to make it complicated today by going down. I think it is o.k. you fed a little. So many people will not even think about fasting before labs. I didn't think about it before I came here either. We can't always do it 100 % because life is happening. Or in other words, 100 % today for Ivy was to break the fast a little to keep her safe. So perfect job! All paws and fingers are crossed for a good result!

I hope Ivy recovers fast from her adventure and you can also relax after this exhausting trip. I send you big, big hugs! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Heike, thanks so much for your sweet support. As much as we try to do things 100% like you said, sometimes things get in the way. I hoped she wouldn’t take a dive and of course she did. That was my biggest fear. Luckily, she went lower as the later as the morning went on. And she continued to go lower once we got home and I could manage it better there. It was quite a challenge to try to manage it while I was at the vet and they wouldn’t let me go in the back to the lab where they draw the blood. So I had to hand over my baggie of food and tell them what to do. I’m so glad I brought it with me.

I think next time I will trust my experience with her and trust my gut and the morning of a vet appointment I will again, not give insulin.
It was way too stressful this morning with her diving down and not being really able to feed her.
It worked better when I’ve just skipped the insulin the morning of an appointment so she can be fasted and not diving.

It didn’t even look like she was going to dive from her AMPS, that looks like a safe number so I decided to shoot half of a dose. But without the food to counteract the insulin, it was not great.

Well, luckily, we lived to tell the tale and share our experience and learn from it.

And I’m so glad that both of us were able to get a urine sample.

Great job putting the new sensor on. I’m so glad that worked out. And it sounds like you’re getting better and better each time, even though you wasted one.

Believe me, I’ve wasted numerous when they just don’t un-click from the sensor housing the sensor is supposed to release from. I think everyone’s probably had that experience. Not fun is it?

I hope you and Binie are doing well tonight. Il check in with you shortly :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Hope all goes well with Ivy's visit and labs today. It's always nerve-wracking to have to wait for results, but as they used to say at the Washington Times: "Knowledge is power." Whatever you learn will help you move forward. Big hugs to both of you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Karen , thanks so much for your sweet wishes. We really appreciate it. You’re right, it’s stressful to go to the vet and then it’s equally stressful to wait for the results so you know what you’re dealing with.
Hope you and Chispa are doing well today :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike, thanks so much for your sweet support. As much as we try to do things 100% like you said, sometimes things get in the way. I hoped she wouldn’t take a dive and of course she did. That was my biggest fear. Luckily, she went lower as the later as the morning went on. And she continued to go lower once we got home and I could manage it better there. It was quite a challenge to try to manage it while I was at the vet and they wouldn’t let me go in the back to the lab where they draw the blood. So I had to hand over my baggie of food and tell them what to do. I’m so glad I brought it with me.

I think next time I will trust my experience with her and trust my gut and the morning of a vet appointment I will again, not give insulin.
It was way too stressful this morning with her diving down and not being really able to feed her.
It worked better when I’ve just skipped the insulin the morning of an appointment so she can be fasted and not diving.

It didn’t even look like she was going to dive from her AMPS, that looks like a safe number so I decided to shoot half of a dose. But without the food to counteract the insulin, it was not great.

Well, luckily, we lived to tell the tale and share our experience and learn from it.

And I’m so glad that both of us were able to get a urine sample.

Great job putting the new sensor on. I’m so glad that worked out. And it sounds like you’re getting better and better each time, even though you wasted one.

Believe me, I’ve wasted numerous when they just don’t un-click from the sensor housing the sensor is supposed to release from. I think everyone’s probably had that experience. Not fun is it?

I hope you and Binie are doing well tonight. Il check in with you shortly :bighug::kiss::bighug:


Oh Staci, I have a picture in my mind of you sitting in the waiting room, staring at your phone and biting nails. :( I'm so glad they managed to feed her!

I liked the idea of giving a little insulin but it seems not to work well for Ivy. At least today. I understand very well, you don't want to repeat this experiment. I'm glad, Ivy always manages so well with no shot on the day of the appointment.

Happy you got the urine sample! Ivy made it interesting again with not peeing. But now you got a very fresh sample which is an advantage.

How is Ivy now? Still sleepy from the gaba or awake again? Hopefully not stressed? How was she doing at the vet? The techs and the vet all still have two arms and all fingers? :p

Thank you for telling me I am not the only one who wasted sensors. :( I thought I learned from experience but seems I needed this second time too. I really hope I can activate it at +10 and it shows numbers. So far this always worked but I am always nervous. Sometimes I almost want to activate it earlier because the tension is so high but it doesn't really make sense.

I hope Ivy is eating well tonight before your shot and I hope both of you have a calm and relaxed night! Many hugs to both of you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
10/21/24
AMPS 222 Libre

Gave 1/2 dose Lantus last night with dinner and gave half dose again this morning with no food.
Fasting her for labs at +4, we are testing to see if her T4 level has come down with the adjusted methimazole dose.

Waiting her out to get a urine specimen this morning. (She must be crossing her legs ) ;)Hoping I can get one before we go.

Paws crossed she does well and has a good lab result. Will feed her when we get back home, hopefully around +5.

Have a safe day, everyone:cat:
Hi Staci.
What a day! Glad you were able to get the urine specimen for today's vet visit and Ivy numbers came back up :bighug:
Wishing you both a calm and relax night! Safe surfing, Ivy :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Oh Staci, I have a picture in my mind of you sitting in the waiting room, staring at your phone and biting nails. :( I'm so glad they managed to feed her!

I liked the idea of giving a little insulin but it seems not to work well for Ivy. At least today. I understand very well, you don't want to repeat this experiment. I'm glad, Ivy always manages so well with no shot on the day of the appointment.

Happy you got the urine sample! Ivy made it interesting again with not peeing. But now you got a very fresh sample which is an advantage.

How is Ivy now? Still sleepy from the gaba or awake again? Hopefully not stressed? How was she doing at the vet? The techs and the vet all still have two arms and all fingers? :p

Thank you for telling me I am not the only one who wasted sensors. :( I thought I learned from experience but seems I needed this second time too. I really hope I can activate it at +10 and it shows numbers. So far this always worked but I am always nervous. Sometimes I almost want to activate it earlier because the tension is so high but it doesn't really make sense.

I hope Ivy is eating well tonight before your shot and I hope both of you have a calm and relaxed night! Many hugs to both of you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
You’re exactly right. You can read me like a book Heike. I’m sitting there staring at my phone watching what’s going on and the lab tech comes out and says “hey can I have your food” and I handed over the baggie to her and told her what to do, it was sort of funny.:smuggrin:

They said she was swatting at them. I’m sure she wasn’t happy. I don’t think she ate anyone though.

Good luck with the sensor tomorrow. So proud of you doing it yourself ! :bighug:

Her appetite wasn’t great tonight. Maybe she was filed up from me feeding her the breakfast over several hours when we got home. Plus I had to feed some higher carbs since she went lower for several hours. It was a tricky afternoon.

I’m gonna go try to give her a +3 snack now. She just ignored the auto feeder. o_O

Hope we all have a better day tomorrow :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Staci.
What a day! Glad you were able to get the urine specimen for today's vet visit and Ivy numbers came back up :bighug:
Wishing you both a calm and relax night! Safe surfing, Ivy :bighug::cat::bighug:
Thanks, Madeline! I hope you and Butch have a calm night too. Hope we both get some sleep :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Hi Staci, first of all I'm sending positive vibes that her T4 has improved. Sorry you and Ivy had a stressful day. I think as cat mom's we are probably more stressed than they are.
Our feisty little girl swatting at the vet techs :cat:
I hope you both can get some well deserved rest tonight.
Please give her kisses for me and lots of hugs for you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I hope she stays safe tonight
 
Hi Staci, first of all I'm sending positive vibes that her T4 has improved. Sorry you and Ivy had a stressful day. I think as cat mom's we are probably more stressed than they are.
Our feisty little girl swatting at the vet techs :cat:
I hope you both can get some well deserved rest tonight.
Please give her kisses for me and lots of hugs for you :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
I hope she stays safe tonight
Thank you so much, Diane. I really appreciate your support.
I agree with how stressful it can be w as the pet parent, especially if you know how stressed your kitty gets.
My previous cats were very chill about all of the handling, so it never dawned on me what a challenge it can be on a pet parent until I had Ivy. She’s been like this since she was very, very young.
The vet I originally used couldn’t handle her and stopped looking in her mouth because she couldn’t really get a good look. We finally decided if she wasn’t able to manage Ivy, She probably was missing things, which turned out to be true.
So we switched to a different vet in the same practice and that worked out quite well until she left a few years ago. It’s been not so great ever since :(

Praying the T4 is better :bighug::bighug::nailbiting::nailbiting:

Hugs and kisses back from both of us, Diane :bighug::kiss::bighug::kiss:
 
Back
Top