Jodey&Eddie&Blue
Member Since 2021
Good morning, Eddie this morning. Is this nearing a dose reduction? He's doing so well. I did the +4 test and then gave him his lunch (about 4 large tsps of low carb).
With TR, reductions are earned when the BG drops below 50 (on a human meter) and 68 on a pet meter. For long term diabetics it's a drop below 40 on a human meter.
When was Eddie's diabetes diagnosis?
Please get a test at +5.
Does he get food between his shot and +4? Another snack at +2 may help with preventing those steep drops.
I'm going to tag @Wendy&Neko here as she's the acrokitty expert here. Those greens you got today are perfectly safe numbers and it looks like Eddie's coming back up, so I would not do a reduction but we'll see what Wendy has to say. I know Eddie is acro and my Ruby is not, but Ruby is on steroids which makes her BGs a bit unpredictable as well. If you look at her recent numbers on her spreadsheet, you'll see that I can usually avoid her dropping too low by feeding her when it's necessary. It's hard to know when that acro tumor will pulse, so the best thing you can do is test him when you can.
Actually, Eddie is diabetic. There is more than one type of diabetes, acromegaly falls under the "other types of diabetes" category, sometimes called type 3. In case you are interested, more details in this paper:The thing is, Eddie is not officially diabetic. He has acromegaly
She's using an AT, the 70/50 are for human meters. But 72 AT is very close to 68. I would tend to use an abundance of caution at this point. Eddie has had a couple reductions already within the last couple weeks. I suspect the SRT might be impacting him. I think I would reduce down to 12 units and see how he does. If it turns out his numbers don't come down, you can always take him back up. But that's much easier on the caregiver than fighting a larger depot if/when he next earns a reduction.Are you using 70 as a reduction point? Or the standard 50?
I post on both since I started there and they are for the most part consistent. I take my cue here.Jodey I just wanted to mention since I see you also posting on the Facebook acro group as well - not everyone is members of both this forum and that Facebook group (or any other groups you may be in), so we won't see the opinions given on each site. For the most part the advice has seemed to be pretty consistent, but I imagine if he starts to come down in numbers/dose it might start differing a bit.
This is a really good point about premature reduction.I personally would not decrease yet, but see what Wendy says. Numbers are still good, it looks like this dose might be starting to do some work, want him in these numbers as long as possible. A premature reduction could lose these numbers, if the IAA is still around you risk antibodies grabbing hold and running the BGs up as well.
Are you using 70 as a reduction point? Or the standard 50?
Actually, Eddie is diabetic. There is more than one type of diabetes, acromegaly falls under the "other types of diabetes" category, sometimes called type 3. In case you are interested, more details in this paper:
What’s in a Name? Classification of Diabetes Mellitis in Veterinary Medicine and Why it Matters: J Vet Intern Med 2016, Gilor, Niessen, Furrow, DiBartola
She's using an AT, the 70/50 are for human meters. But 72 AT is very close to 68. I would tend to use an abundance of caution at this point. Eddie has had a couple reductions already within the last couple weeks. I suspect the SRT might be impacting him. I think I would reduce down to 12 units and see how he does. If it turns out his numbers don't come down, you can always take him back up. But that's much easier on the caregiver than fighting a larger depot if/when he next earns a reduction.
It may help you to have a hard cutoff, where yes absolutely when he drops below this number reduce. But there's also a bit of "art" with acro cats.coming down, looking at the overall recent trend and saying hey...we didn't exactly go below the cutoff, but something is going on here it may be better to reduce to get ahead of things (like Wendy said). I saw Facebook was also split to hold vs reduce to 12 hahaThis is a really good point about premature reduction.
I don't have a reduction point, actually. I've just been going on advice from this forum, especially with regards acromegaly and diabetes.
Trust your gut.I feel there is something going on with Eddie.