10/22 Crushy +11 423 pmps 386

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele M

Member Since 2013
Previous http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=106718&p=1131519#p1131519

Im not real thrilled with the pace that he's dropping today. nailbite_smile

I had to run some errands between +2 and +3 so I gave him some HC food (about the size of 3 peas) before I left and was above 100 when I got back. Im pretty sure he's going to continue to go down though.

But Ive got the time to test and he's got the appetite to eat HC food so....we should be fine

It was suggested that I keep the 1.25 dose after he went below 50 yesterday because we thought yesterday's drop was from the storage shed still being full from the previous dose decrease the night before. I think if he hits below 50 today though its prudent to reduce the dose to 1 unit, no? (I am NOT trying to get him to drop below 50 three times before I decrease...just for the record)

He seems fine. He's actually been acting like he's feeling better lately which is really nice :-D
 
Re: 10/22 Crushy amps 331 +2 165 +3 64

Good GRIEF!! More drama from Mr. Crushy! He just can't give you a break.
I saw on SS he's dropped even further...your 'knower' knew!
I was about to say Holy Cow on the 260pt dive in 3 hrs..but he apparently wasn't done yet. He's dive bombing. :!:

Well, great catch as always. And looks like you are heading to 1U! Guess he is telling you something and cannot be ignored. :mrgreen:

At least you timed your errands well and he was still at safe numbers.

As long as you can stay up all day and up all night..I am sure he will be fine! ;-) :lol:

Crushy seems to be on a bit of a mission!!
 
Re: 10/22 Crushy amps 331 +2 165 +3 64

PS. You are great at managing lows..but watching for updates if you need anything.

saw you added another number. Not sure how far apart your are timing your tests.
are you giving 2 tsp HC food..or just gravy? You may want to space it just a little to give time for it to work.
he's surfing at the moment.
 
Re: 10/22 Crushy amps 331 +2 165 +3 64

Thanks Betty, He's not coming up as fast this time! its a little nerve wrecking...

Yep Im definitely done with this dose! lol

Im giving about 20 mins between feeding and tests. Ill test again in 10 mins....

Ill just keep testing and feeding....lather rinse repeat
 
Re: 10/22 Crushy amps 331 +2 165 +3 64

how long between those 3 tests? It can take 20-30 minutes for the food to show in his numbers...

Edit: sorry- don't know how to do the line through- you had already answered about the timing.


You know he tends to bounce off the wall. he could stand to come up a little but these are not too scary. See where the next number is and if any lower add a drop of karo to just a small amount of gravy. Be great if you can get him surfing in the 50-60's.

Congrats on the dosecrease!

Go TEAM Crushy!! :RAHCAT
 
Re: 10/22 Crushy amps 331 +2 165 +3 64

Just tested again and got a 34...fed 3 oz HC with karo (probably overkill but I am NOT feeling good about this!)

he is scarfing up the food like a champ

will test again in 20 mins

update** just tested again and got a 78
Karo was obviously an overkill.... :roll:
 
Re: 10/22 Crushy amps 331 +2 165 +3 64

Wow! :shock: :shock: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Good catch on that 34. Crushy is definitely trying to give you a message. Any time you get a number in the 30's, it's best to take the .25U reduction. Unless he skyrockets to the moon by PMPS, in which case you could shoot through the bounce and take the reduction tomorrow morning.

Don't worry about the karo, you don't want him hanging in the 30's. It'll wear off fast enough.
 
Re: 10/22 Crushy amps 331 +2 165 +3 64

Holy C_ap! :o Phone rang and I was on a call for a little while...just catching up. JEEZ!
OK Crushy you have made your point. You had already made your point.
Sorry michele. It was scary for a minute I am sure. I see you not only lathered him up to 78....but either the bounce has already begun or all the HC is finally catching up. Hello 187!

Glad he scarfed as needed. I don't think the karo was overkill. I would have totally grabbed for it too. Maybe 3oz of HC all at once..? in case he was still dropping so as not to overfill. But as you've said it looks like he may have a bottomless pit anyway..so you might not have to worry whether he would have eaten more if needed. I guess cycle is officially aborted. (we are past nadir, yes?)

Anyway, BOING!! confused_cat

Glad he is safe and scary part is over. Maybe you should have some wine now!
 
Re: 10/22 Crushy amps 331 +2 165 +3 64

thanks Wendy and Betty

yea Id say this cycle is officially shot. He just tested at 356 at +7. blech!

I think Ill wait to see if he starts to go down at all before PS. If he's starting to go down Ill probably reduce, if he's still sky high Ill shoot through the bounce.

he looks so happy though...he's laying on his back with his legs splayed out like he doesnt have a care in the world.

wine for me does sound good.....
 
Re: 10/22 Crushy amps 331 +2 165 +3 64

Glad he's splayed out and happy. Whew..what an exhausting ordeal.

I think we all need to splay and have some wine.

PS: add some of your other numbers to your subject line so you can see better what the day was like.
+3- +6 was nailbite_smile



PS: next time maybe 1/2 the can instead. lol
 
Re: 10/22 Crushy amps 331 +2 165 +3 64 +5 34 +7 187

Great catch! And it gave you some experience with knowing what will bring him up and how quickly.

Good luck on the reduction! :-D :-D :-D
 
thanks Marje!
It has definitely been a learning experience kind of day


Since he dropped 38 pts between +11 and pmps I went ahead and lowered the dose to 1 unit tonight. He was already on his way down and I didnt feel comfortable trying to shoot through the bounce.

hope he gets into more normal numbers tonight
 
Wow, Michelle. you had a rough night, but Crushy is clear that he doesn't need that much insulin. In the long run, that is a great. He doesn't need a lot of insulin to bring his numbers down and you don't have to second guess if the dose is working.
Let's see if 1 unit is a good dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top