10/22 Billie PMPS 221 +2 183 +3 140 +4.5 89 +6 68

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello!

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127262

I jumped the gun and gave Billie her shot while she had her head in the food bowl, but shortly after, she stopped eating and went under the bed. She barely ate anything. nailbite_smile I am wondering if the Clavamox is making her feel nauseous/messing with her appetite. She ate decently this morning, although not quite as much as usual. I wasn't home this afternoon, but I don't think she grazed much throughout the day. There was still a good amount of food left when I got back. I'm not sure what this will do to her cycle. I have both maple syrup and karo on hand to use if necessary.

She seems mostly okay otherwise - she did nap a lot today, but I wouldn't call her lethargic. She was up walking around and investigating the bags of groceries that I brought home.

I'll have to call the vet in the morning. I'm not sure if I should give her PM Clavamox dose tonight. This is her 6th day on it and tonight's dose would be her 11th dose. She is supposed to be on it for two weeks.

I'm going to get a +2 in about 15 minutes, and we'll see where this is going.
 
Re: 10/22 Billie PMPS 221 not eating much

sending eating vines to miss billie. sorry she's off today. that's no fun.

perhaps giving her something to address the nausea (cerenia, ondansetron) would allow her to be able to finish the AB course.
 
Re: 10/22 Billie PMPS 221 +2 183 not eating much

Thanks Julie! I will look into some nausea meds tomorrow. She has taken Clavamox in the past and I don't recall her ever having this problem, but I know it is a side effect.

I made her some boiled pork and she picked at it a bit. She didn't want any an hour ago, and she only had a few bites just now, but at least she is showing a little more interest. It is very rare for her to ignore cooked meat! I added some of the pork stock to her dish, and I think she drank at least some of that.

+2 183 is pretty reasonable for her not eating much. No nose dive yet. She is on the reduced dose of 1.5 now, but the 1.75 depot is probably still in the mix, and I will be keeping an eye on her.

I realized that the ER vet who prescribed the Clavamox is open right now, so I just called and asked what to do about tonight's dose. She said to skip tonight and give the AM dose if she is eating again, so that's my plan. I'll see what her regular vet thinks we should do.

Still no coughing, and no more hives! That's the bright side. I am very happy about that, and hope this great trend continues.
 
Re: 10/22 Billie PMPS 221 +2 183 +3 140 not eating much

Sorry for this glitch. Polly's had clavamox, but I fed and shot and then squirted the liquid. Vet didn't tell me to do it with or without food and by the time the cycle was finished, Miss Polly was ready to eat again. I have had cats at work, though, who would go off their food when on clavamox. Good thinking on calling the ER vet.

Am so excited to see the "good news" though about Billie. No coughing. Yea!!! No hives. Yea!!!.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 10/22 Billie PMPS 221 +2 183 +3 140 not eating much

Thank you for the visit, Marilyn!! That's good to know. It's reassuring to hear that it is common. It's weird that she didn't have a problem last time she was on it, but maybe she is more sensitive now for some reason. And yes, the good news is great!! I really hope it lasts.

She just had a couple more bites of pork after her +4.5 test. Not much, but at least it's something and she is showing some interest. I am so very grateful that she didn't dive crazy low (yet...*ANTIJINX*). I do not want to have to harass her with karo when she is already feeling yucky.

It's interesting to me that she can have such a "normal" cycle with basically no food in her, yet sometimes with food, she has ridiculous dives (i.e. going from PMPS 188 to 40 at +2.25). Of course, she was asking for a reducie in that case, but there are other occasions when she will dive pretty far by +2 or +3. It makes me wonder if her pancreas wakes up and throws some insulin into the mix sometimes. Maybe I'm just lucky tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top