10/22 Basic amps 302 pmps 282 +6.75 269

Basic's Mom

Member Since 2023
Hope everyone is well.

I will be doing Basic's curve today. It has been 8 cycles since I skipped a dose due to low BG.

He has tested negative for ketones throughout. He is still getting the ondansetron and mirataz.

Waiting for the psyllium husk fibre in the mail. I also ordered gel caps. He has been taking his medication with churu now, but if he smells the pill, he won't lick it. I dont know how many calories are in them, but they make pilling him so much easier for both of us. Eating all meals great again.

I wanted to give a heads up because the last time I started a curve and was more than half way through when I was told I needed to wait to do one due to skipped dose.

If anyone thinks I should wait, please let me know before 8:30 am today.

Thanks
 
Hope everyone is well.

I will be doing Basic's curve today. It has been 8 cycles since I skipped a dose due to low BG.

He has tested negative for ketones throughout. He is still getting the ondansetron and mirataz.

Waiting for the psyllium husk fibre in the mail. I also ordered gel caps. He has been taking his medication with churu now, but if he smells the pill, he won't lick it. I dont know how many calories are in them, but they make pilling him so much easier for both of us. Eating all meals great again.

I wanted to give a heads up because the last time I started a curve and was more than half way through when I was told I needed to wait to do one due to skipped dose.

If anyone thinks I should wait, please let me know before 8:30 am today.

Thanks
Hi Sybil, so happy Basic is eating well for you.
I also use psyllium husk for Ivy, I just add it to her food and it’s never been a problem. I hope that’s easy for you to add, too.
Great news there are no ketones!

Good luck if you do the curve today!
:bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Sybil, so happy Basic is eating well for you.
I also use psyllium husk for Ivy, I just add it to her food and it’s never been a problem. I hope that’s easy for you to add, too.
Great news there are no ketones!

Good luck if you do the curve today!
:bighug::bighug:
Thank you. The vet told me not to worry about constipation if he isn't showing signs of having it. I told her I'm not interested in waiting for him to become constipated before I address, that I'm trying g to be proactive instead of reactive. I'm hopeful he won't notice the fibre on his food. I'm getting organic pumpkin today too. Fingers crossed that he will consume all of this willingly. He hasn't begged for more food or woke me up earlier than feeding time until yesterday since getting sick. While I don't want him feeling hungry, I welcome any glimpse of his old behaviors. Let's me know he is feeling better.

Curve is going good. He really doesn't mind having his BG checked now that I know what I'm doing. No more bruising his ear and no more trying to milk it because the warm paper towel and the sweet spot make all the difference in the world.

Thanks again for responding and giving us encouragement. We both appreciate it.
 
Thank you. The vet told me not to worry about constipation if he isn't showing signs of having it. I told her I'm not interested in waiting for him to become constipated before I address, that I'm trying g to be proactive instead of reactive. I'm hopeful he won't notice the fibre on his food. I'm getting organic pumpkin today too. Fingers crossed that he will consume all of this willingly. He hasn't begged for more food or woke me up earlier than feeding time until yesterday since getting sick. While I don't want him feeling hungry, I welcome any glimpse of his old behaviors. Let's me know he is feeling better.

Curve is going good. He really doesn't mind having his BG checked now that I know what I'm doing. No more bruising his ear and no more trying to milk it because the warm paper towel and the sweet spot make all the difference in the world.

Thanks again for responding and giving us encouragement. We both appreciate it.
You’re quite welcome. :)
I agree with you about being proactive so you don’t have a bigger problem on your hands. I hope Sybil eats it without even knowing.
We used to also use organic pumpkin, just a tsp 2x a day before we now use the psyllium husk. I think both are good alternatives. Trial and error to see what works for your kitty.
I hope it works and just keeps things moving.

It’s great he doesn’t mind the ear pricks. Makes it all so much easier.
My girl isn’t such a good cooperator with that. It’s why I use a Libre sensor.

You’re doing great. Keep posting and ask questions so you can keep learning.
Have a good night :bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top