? 10/22/21 squints PMPS 77, 87 +30min, 44 +4, 51 +4.5, 46 +5, 74 +6

Test again in 30 minutes......and congratulations! Squints has earned a reduction! Down to 1.25 tomorrow (unless he's sky high in the morning....if over 300, you could give the 1.5 ONE more time to help with the bounce but then you'd go to the 1.25 for the PM shot no matter what)
 
Test again in 30 minutes......and congratulations! Squints has earned a reduction! Down to 1.25 tomorrow (unless he's sky high in the morning....if over 300, you could give the 1.5 ONE more time to help with the bounce but then you'd go to the 1.25 for the PM shot no matter what)
Chris, would you still recommend that given how fast he breaks bounces?
 
Test again in 30 minutes......and congratulations! Squints has earned a reduction! Down to 1.25 tomorrow (unless he's sky high in the morning....if over 300, you could give the 1.5 ONE more time to help with the bounce but then you'd go to the 1.25 for the PM shot no matter what)

Ok. Sounds good. Will test im 30 minutes. Thank you
 
Chris, would you still recommend that given how fast he breaks bounces?

Yes, if he's high enough but she also can just go to 1.25. (there's no firm rule that says you have to) The "shooting through the bounce" just gives a little added support to help bring him down (hopefully) a little sooner. I see cycles where he's broken bounces on the 2nd cycle but I also see cycles where it was 6-8 cycles later. As long as she's home to test, I think it would be fine.
 
Yes, if he's high enough but she also can just go to 1.25. (there's no firm rule that says you have to) The "shooting through the bounce" just gives a little added support to help bring him down (hopefully) a little sooner. I see cycles where he's broken bounces on the 2nd cycle but I also see cycles where it was 6-8 cycles later. As long as she's home to test, I think it would be fine.

51 +4.5
 
What % is your high carb?

If you have higher-carb HC than what you've been giving, give 2 tsp of that. If not, give 2tsp HC mixed with just a drop or two of honey, test in 30. It may be an overcorrection but he's not coming up enough with just the HC.
 
What % is your high carb?

If you have higher-carb HC than what you've been giving, give 2 tsp of that. If not, give 2tsp HC mixed with just a drop or two of honey, test in 30. It may be an overcorrection but he's not coming up enough with just the HC.

Its friskies with gravy.
We also gave him some tiki cat mousse food
 
While you're waiting for next test, can you list out the exact brands and flavors you have on hand?

A lot of the Friskies gravy foods are actually only medium carb.
Friskies pate, turkey & giblets
Tiki cat dark pate venison beef liver
Friskies gravy pate chicken w/savory gravy
Tiki cat velvet mousse with salmon broth
 
Friskies pate, turkey & giblets
Tiki cat dark pate venison beef liver
Friskies gravy pate chicken w/savory gravy
Tiki cat velvet mousse with salmon broth
Hi Stephanie, I am not sure any of these are high carb or even medium carb.

What did you feed Squints when he dropped below 50? Do you have any honey? Can you get another test since it's 30 mins since the last one?
 
Friskies pate, turkey & giblets
Tiki cat dark pate venison beef liver
Friskies gravy pate chicken w/savory gravy
Tiki cat velvet mousse with salmon broth
Hi Stephanie,

I couldn't find 3 out 4 of your foods on my go to food charts, but I wanted to share what I found.

Friskies Classic Pate Turkey & Giblets Dinner:
-Dr. Lisa Pierson's Food Chart has this listed as 5% carbs
-Tanya's CRF Food Chart lists it at 6.9% carbs

Friskies Extra Gravy Pate With Chicken in Savory Gravy
-This is a newer food and carbs not on any food chart I can find yet.

Tiki Cat After Dark Venison & Beef Liver Pate:
-Tanya's CRF Food Chart lists this line but not this specific flavor. All the ones listed show as 0% carbs which makes sense since these are 95% meat.

Tiki Cat Velvet Mousse Salmon in Broth:
-Tanya's CRF Food Chart lists this but shows not available for carb amount.

Dr. Lisa Pierson's Food Chart:
https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf

Tanya's CRF Food Chart:
https://www.felinecrf.org/canned_food_usa.htm

The best food tip I have is for MC and HC foods on hand, write the % of carbs in big marker on the top and bottom of the cans. That way, when you are in an emergency, you don't have to think on it, and if the can is open, you still have the info on the bottom of the can.

Good job with Squints!!!

~Stephanie & Max
 
Hi Stephanie,

I couldn't find 3 out 4 of your foods on my go to food charts, but I wanted to share what I found.

Friskies Classic Pate Turkey & Giblets Dinner:
-Dr. Lisa Pierson's Food Chart has this listed as 5% carbs
-Tanya's CRF Food Chart lists it at 6.9% carbs

Friskies Extra Gravy Pate With Chicken in Savory Gravy
-This is a newer food and carbs not on any food chart I can find yet.

Tiki Cat After Dark Venison & Beef Liver Pate:
-Tanya's CRF Food Chart lists this line but not this specific flavor. All the ones listed show as 0% carbs which makes sense since these are 95% meat.

Tiki Cat Velvet Mousse Salmon in Broth:
-Tanya's CRF Food Chart lists this but shows not available for carb amount.

Dr. Lisa Pierson's Food Chart:
https://catinfo.org/docs/CatFoodProteinFatCarbPhosphorusChart.pdf

Tanya's CRF Food Chart:
https://www.felinecrf.org/canned_food_usa.htm

The best food tip I have is for MC and HC foods on hand, write the % of carbs in big marker on the top and bottom of the cans. That way, when you are in an emergency, you don't have to think on it, and if the can is open, you still have the info on the bottom of the can.

Good job with Squints!!!

~Stephanie & Max

I will look over the food charts. I need to get the best foods in each category... LC, MC, HC.... i want to make sure we have what we need on hand at all times.

Thank you so much for your help!! :) squints says thank you too
 
FF Beef with Gravy is a popular HC choice.

I use Weruva foods for MC and HC because their website is very transparent about carbs as percentages of calories. This way I know exactly what I am giving my Ruby. I use Weruva Tuna & Duck Devour Me 12% for MC and 1 if By Land, 2 if By Sea 16% for HC. Both have lots of yummy gravy she loves to lap up. :p
 
Friskies Extra Gravy Pate With Chicken in Savory Gravy
-This is a newer food and carbs not on any food chart I can find yet.

These "extra gravy" ones are confusing because we're taught that anything with gravy is high carb, but in this case, the "gravy" is really more like meat juice which keeps them in the low carb catagory.

The Fancy Feast "Gravy Lovers" beef is 20% carbs

The FF Grilled beef with gravy is 12%

The Marinated Morsels Beef Feast in Gravy is 12%

The Sliced Beef with gravy is 14%

So it matters which specific beef you've got.

I used the FANCY FEAST Medleys Tuscany for HC...they are all 20-23% carbs
 
Back
Top