10/22/2014 NORMAN DOSE ADVICE AMPS 104 AT LANTUS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindywith4cutecats

Member Since 2014
ALPHATRAK METER Yesterdays number AMPS 128 +3 102 PMPS 180 +4 104 AMPS 104 on LANTUS we have run 3 cycles at 1 unit .I expected the 180 we just got home from being at the vet office with DOGS for over an hour and half. Now this morning on his ALPATACK METER his AMPS is 104. So his NADIR AND PRE SHOT number is the same. Dose advice. I attached his condos from the other day because I had some lows and shot anyhow and took him to low then I decreased his Lantus injection by half a unit and he went high on me....I am confused by the Lantus protocol cause it says to decrease by .25 since he is preshot 80-130


viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127194 10/18/2014
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=127194 10/19/2014
 
Hi Cindy-

I just have a few quick minutes right now....trying to get my own kitties in line for the day.

Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not the preshot. At this point, Norman's nadir of 104 (looking at his PM +4, not his AMPS)is not in "dose reduction range", which for you as an AT user would be below 80. So technically, you should still be shooting the 1.00U.

Also, the nadir can occur at any point in the cycle; some kitties nadir as early as +2 and surf it out, and others nadir late, some nadir at any point and then bounce. To add even more to the confusion, one kitty can change when s/he chooses to nadir! My point is to let you know that things can change around on you, so don't let it surprise you. If you have questions about changes, just let us know!

However, you also have to do what you are comfortable with, and keeping Norman safe is the most important aspect of this dance. In looking at Norman's chart, it looks to me like he has some pretty nice, fairly flat curves, and you have shot fairly close to that 104 (allowing for meter variance) with great results before. But, if you are not comfortable shooting the full dose, or you can't monitor all that much, you can certainly shoot what is called a BCS (big chicken s*** shot) of a reduced dose that would be a one-time deal since Norman hasn't earned that reduction yet.

He looks to be on a very good path...I wouldn't want to rock that boat!
 
Good morning, Cindy!

I agree with Amy. My only questions are whether you're going to be around to monitor long enough to know where Norman is going with his numbers and if you have strips and high carb food on hand?
 
hi cindy!

Norman sure is looking good!

In a kitty with a healing pancreas, sometimes we find that giving 1 teaspoon of regular low carb food at +9 in both the am/pm cycles can stimulate the pancreas to produce a little bit of insulin, thereby bringing down the preshot numbers. I think in your case it would be worth a try. You could try in just the day cycle first to see if the pmps comes down.

I look at the time of your post and for me, it says 2:16am! :shock: i'm glad Amy & Sienne can get on early most mornings for you east coast folks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top