10/22/18 Olive AMPS 268; +2=283; +4=271; +6=222; PMPS 238; +4=306; +6=239 REDUCIE

Olive & Paula

Very Active Member
Yesterday .Cabergoline Day 17

Had a short visit with the sharks last night. If this is the results of the caber, I'm kicking myself for not pushing harder to get it sooner. Next time I go to her previous vet (with civvie), I can't wait to tell him it does help some cats.

@Wendy&Neko the goal is to stall/stop the secretion of the pituitary tumor. It seems to be doing that. I know her insulin dose can become lower and possibly remission as long as she's on caber. My question is and I haven't found an answer in the studies, if insulin dose becomes lower (example 1 unit permanently) can caber go to every other day dosing and keep her in normal ranges? can cabergoline ever be stopped and cat still not require insulin? Maybe studies haven't gone that far yet. Just pondering.
 
Congratulations on the reducie for Olive!
I'm so glad the caber is helping her, and I hope the previous vet listens and recommends it for future sugarcats with similar conditions.
 
Nice to see those reducies keeping on coming. :D Course, day time ones are always preferable. :rolleyes:

There haven't been enough cats on cabergoline long term for any studies to be done. I think Marvin still gets it everyday, maybe every two days. The recommendation I have seen is that it's for life, but no definitive answer on frequency. The South American study did once every two days.
 
Nice to see those reducies keeping on coming. :D Course, day time ones are always preferable. :rolleyes:

There haven't been enough cats on cabergoline long term for any studies to be done. I think Marvin still gets it everyday, maybe every two days. The recommendation I have seen is that it's for life, but no definitive answer on frequency. The South American study did once every two days.

That's all I read on it also. Actually I prefer the reducies at night. I'm always home. This way it allows me to go out if I have to during the day. Kinda got my schedule down now. AM routine. Go back to bed until +2. Nap (If possible) +8-9.5. PM stay up test +5 or 6. Bed (If not dropping) til +8 test, b2b til AM.
 
Saturday I sent email to Olive's Dr just to update her. And ask about the UA protein and MA. I didn't expect a call back but she did. She was very pleased with Olive's progress especially since Olive got another decrease since Saturday. Olive hasn't had UA before so we have no comparison. Is the protein from underlying cause (arco, diabetes as report suggests) or early ckdckd which it also states as possibility. When Olive goes back in 2 weeks SDMA will be done. I think I will ask for full blood work with GI panel since nothing been done since May.
 
Is the protein from underlying cause (arco, diabetes as report suggests) or early ckdckd which it also states as possibility.
It can be from acromegaly or the kidneys. Here is an article on Effect of growth hormone and insulin like growth factor 1 urinary albumin excretion. It's a human study, but still acro and kidneys. And a second one on The kidney in acromegaly. "Acromegaly changes both renal struction and function".
Recently, Baldelli et al. reported a high prevalence of microalbuminuria (mA) in patients with acromegaly, particularly in those with diabetes mellitus or impaired glucose tolerance, and found a significant correlation of urinary albumin excretion with disease duration and insulin sensitivity and of urinary albumin/creatinine ratio with GH levels
Non acros can also get proteinuria, acromegaly increases the odds.
 
Back
Top