10/22/14 amps=426-Petey

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Heidi!

Actually, he looks better! It looks like he might already be clearing the bounce from yesterday's blue numbers. that's fantastic. that says his body is getting re-accustomed to more normal numbers. I think I"d keep hanging on to this dose and see what he does with a couple more shots of it. woot!

what did your daughter say about testing?
 
i will speak with her tomorrow. You think his high #'s this morning were ok ? I feel as though he is so hard to regulate.
 
i don't think they are a problem at all. he's pretty typical of a cat that hasn't gotten regulated quite yet, but there's nothing that looks odd about his ss.

The bouncing is very common, and often they'll have some dramatic WAHOO! test like a red or black number tossed in just before the break clears. It's like the high before the storm clears. That doesn't concern me at all. With Lantus, it's all about the nadirs. It's not that the high numbers don't matter, but if you work to control the low numbers the high numbers will resolve pretty much.
 
Thanks , that makes me feel better....he seems a little more settled today and yesterday. He is usually following me around looking for food! have a good day!
 
we are leaving tomorrow morning and will be back monday. My daughter will be over soon and I am going to ask her to test him
 
we just put our beloved pandymarie to sleep tonight, she had cancer and got very ill all of the sudden. She was 18 years old and what a great girl ! :cry:
 
i'm so sorry about your pandymarie! my grandma's dog was named Pandy. It's a sweet name. 18 is a wonderful life!

i'll make sure and get back to you before tonight is over on some ideas for a vacation dose. Do you have a sample syringe you can leave for her?
 
wonderful! she sounds very helpful!

Sienne used to do a lot of traveling for her job - i'm hoping she'll weigh in on ideas for a vacation dose. Do you think your daughter can handle measuring a .5u dose, or do you think it needs to be on an even unit line? I'm sorta thinking 3.5u but would like some other thoughts on it.
 
i think she can certainly measure a 3.5 units, do you not think the 4.25 is working? I am waiting for her to get here now. so I will see if she is comfortable with testing him.
 
The 4.25U dose may be working, but it's safer to shoot a lower dose if there will be less testing while you are away. It's safer to be a little higher for a while than to be too low at all. You can always resume the old dose when you get back home.
 
what wendy said! i think the 4.25 dose is working, but if he's only being tested at preshot, or not at all, i'd be worried he might get into lower numbers and no one be there to pull him up.

i think if he were mine and he's only going to be tested at preshot, I'd go to 3.5u and let him be a little higher while you're gone.

If your daughter can check him at preshot and again at +4 or so, and then follow up with more testing if it looks like he's headed into normal numbers, then maybe keep the dose the same or just reduce to 4.0u. I'd have her skip if he's below about 150 unless she's going to be able to follow up with more tests. When my son was kitty-sitting punkin for us, I had him text me with every preshot test and would give him directions about what I wanted him to do next.

He'll get back on track from a reduced dose when you return.

In any case, that gives you one option to consider.

Enjoy your weekend!
 
Hi! We made it to Arizona ! Allison tested Petey at 11:00 am & it was 325. She did shoot him at 6 am with 4.25 units
My son , steven will go over @ 6 and hopefully will test him and I am going to tell him to let me know what his numbers are, if still in 300's I will tell him 4.25 otherwise 3.50, does that sound good?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top