10/22/11 Hannah Glory AMPS 156...+7 139

Status
Not open for further replies.

Priscillalea

Member Since 2011
Hello, it has been a couple of days,working alot. Check out those numbers.woo hoo !!!!!........Okay first of all, A Happy 13th Birthday to Hannah Glory and brother Gideon Joshua.........Now I have a question. I know there is no sliding scale for Lantus, however this morning we got up to a 156 AMPS, her regular dose is 2 U, but I now learned the hard way not to give 2 units for a bg this low so I was left to have to guess. I had to get to work, did not think it a good idea not to give any but VERY unsure and scared to decide what to give. When I have to go to work, there is no time to get on here and ask for advice and then wait for an answer. Are there any parameters for when not to give, or what to give for lower numbers? When do you decide to stop altogether? I decided on 0.5 U and it seems to have been an okay choice but I was worried all day at work..........Those of you who stop altogether, how often do you do BGS, how high would it get before you would give a dose if they had been off?.....These numbers are a result of zero dry food even EVO with 7% carbs..............Did I say one question, sorry....I feel like I am getting this, a little more each day and you all have helped me so much....So did I do the right thing this AM ?............I will try to get back on here later...........Just need some guidelines for those early morning decisions when she is lower.................Thx. Priscilla and Hannah Glory
 
Hi Priscillalea,

I can't give any advice, but I think it would be a good idea to change your subject line to something that will draw the attention of the more experienced ones. Something like "advice needed". Good luck!
 
in my experience i think what you did was fine. anyone who's been giving insulin for more than a few weeks has likely faced this situation and could give you advice on the situation. as you gain more experience you can shoot lower numbers. the path to going off of insulin is to shoot lower numbers. BUT, until you know from experience what Hannah Glory will do with a shot at that amps, then shooting a lower dose is an ok choice. if you were going to be home, for example, if it wasn't a workday and you knew you could be around, then i would've gone ahead and shot the 2units. no matter what, tonight you can go back to the 2units that has been her regular dose.

here is the link on what to do if you're faced with a lower than usual number and it's shot time: Shooting & Handling Low Numbers

there are several options in there and you can go with what you feel most comfortable with.

and happy birthday! :-D
 
Hi Priscilla - I am with what Julie wrote. I am no expert either, but you have to feel comfortable with what you are shooting in terms of a dose. when you won't be home to monitor her, then shooting a lower dose is an OK option. The link that Julie provided is a good one.

The numbers today look good! It takes item to get all this under your belt, a little each day, soon you'll be a pro. Data collection is important too, so test when you can, so that eventually you will have a good feeling for what your kitty will do with a certain PS number. Good luck!
 
Happy 13th Birthday Hannah Glory and Gideon Joshua!
ee740cfc994d22cdb53fbbf352223129.jpg
 
HAPPY BIRTHDAY HANNAH GLORY AND GIDEON JOSHUA.

Glad you took the dose down to 2u. With your past experience with seizure and possible DKA better safe than sorry. Do you check for ketones? You can get the strips at the pharmacy to check for ketones. As for the dose, you have to be comfortable shooting her when you will be gone for 11-12 hours. Tonight, try and get a +2 and a +4 or before bed check and see what her numbers are doing. You will get more comfortable shooting lower numbers as you get some spot checks to let you know when her nadir is and how she is reacting to the insulin. Hang in there, ask questions Have a great night. Hope the kitties had a great birthday.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top