10/21 Tigger AMPS 172, +3 77, +4 92, +5 76, +6 80

Moms2Tigger&Blu

Member Since 2018
Rainbow Kitty strikes again! In the last 24 hours Tigger has hit every color of the BG spectrum. Including this prolonged surf in dark green so I guess we'll be decreasing tonight. I can see that it was a bounce starting on Thurs and breaking yesterday, but I am kinda disappointed it went this way. He was so steady on the 1.25. Then bam 500+ and a gradual drop to 76. I fear that constant increasing and decreasing will keep us from ever getting regulated let alone into remission.

I've read on here that we shoot low to stay low and I've really tried to go thru with every shot since then - mostly because I was going to be home thru the cycle when the really low pre shots came up. Now I am wondering if I should still be shooting low (full dose) when I can see a bounce breaking?
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA) - sorry to tag you by name but I have a question specifically about this quote of yours on another's post. (see above)
"With Lantus, it is possible and often desirable to shoot low numbers. I would shoot anything that was over 50, providing it wasn't a dropping number."
Not to be nitpicky but, how low, dropping how fast, etc. I am trying to get as much data for Tig as possible even though we both work and are out
of the house almost 12 hours mon-fri. I want to be aware and prepared for anything. Would you mind taking a look at Tigger's recent spreadsheet
numbers and throwing a comment or some advice our way? It will be MUCH appreciated.

additional question about SLGS - does it not have failed reductions? You can see on 10/12, after 7 cycles on 1.25, I tried to go back to 1.5 units but that night at +12 he hit 86, so I went right back to 1.25. Is this not right for SLGS? (the only reason for the few decreased am doses is no testing available that day and I know "a day too high is better than an hour too low.")
 
Last edited:
The challenge is knowing how your cat responds to insulin and how much you trust that data. For example, I would shoot at 5:00. That gave me time to monitor for a few hours -- I left that house at around 7:30. Gabby had an early nadir and typically, if her numbers were going to drop, it was by +2. This would allow me to provide a lot of carbs before I left the house if I was concerned about her numbers. (I work full time, too.) It's one of the reasons I stuck with Lantus vs ever considering a switch to Lev given how late Levemir has its nadir.

A dropping number happens at preshot. If you have tests from later in the cycle, you will have a better feel if this is happening. Dropping numbers are a particular concern when a bounce is breaking. The concern is if a bounce is breaking and you are considering an dose increase, it can be hard to keep numbers in a safe range due to the momentum behind the dropping numbers and the effect of an increased dose. Of course, there can be times when a cat's nadir decides to be later in the cycle or it gets complicated since some cats have a "double dip". And, your cat could also be having a really good cycle and the preshot number is lower than what you're used to. I would suggest posting if you're concerned so someone with experience can take a look.

You can have a failed reduction on SLGS. However, on 10/12, that wasn't a failed reduction. You raised the dose because your assessment was that 1.25u wasn't enough insulin. By dropping under 90, Tigger told you otherwise and as a result, you lowered the dose back to 1.25u. With a failed reduction, once you reduce, if the numbers don't look so good after you take the reduction, you want to raise the amount of insulin back to the last good dose. In other words, even though numbers dropped into a range that warranted a reduced dose, that reduction didn't seem to hold.
 
So, but, ok, so . . . I still keep the reduced dose though.
And since then he had an entire green day on 1.25 and we've reduced again.
I just want to do right by Tigger and keep him as healthy but SAFE as I can.
I am off all weekend and plan on doing a curve. He's had some good blues on 1 unit but also some huge bounces and long day in the red today. Ugh, so complicated! human diabetes with sliding scale is so much easier I think!
 
Back
Top