10/21 Rosie AMPS 174 +3 66 PMPS 109 +3 95

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol in Chicago

Member Since 2017
Yesterday was crazy with a 42 at +4 and a 56 at PMPS. Thanks to @Wendy&Neko, @Gill & George and @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey for guidance.

What may seem like random dosing is my effort to avoid a NS situation which occurred 2 weeks ago when I was out of town. Something is going on but I don't know what it is. I'm very confused.

Nothing has changed in terms of her routine food, but looking back she started to have earlier nadir during the daytime cycle around mid September. Is this a sign of some type of resistance breaking? In terms of medications, her dose of Cisipride was increased in early October.

Yesterday.
 
What a lovely, lovely numbers on the decreased doses!
looking back she started to have earlier nadir during the daytime cycle around mid September. Is this a sign of some type of resistance breaking?
Ducia has early lows due to prolonged duration - the previous dose of Lantus stays effective for about 15 hours. Then, after the new dose administration, she has an overlap - two doses working together between the +2 and approx. the +3.5. That's when her lowest occur but they are not her nadir. Could Rosie's numbers be explain by the same mechanism? Just my guess...

I know cats switch their nadir times at will. Ducia did - decided to be a late nadir cat not too long ago.

Have a great weekend Carol!
 
Last edited:
Hi Carol,

Been out all day, just logged on before bed.

Nice numbers this morning.
It's likely that the numbers are still being influenced by the depot of the 4.25, then some dose wonkiness with the dosing (though I understand your reasoning)

I would be cautious about taking her down to fast, to avoid undoing all the hardwork. But at the same time you don't want to let the dose get to far ahead of you if there is something like insulin resistance breaking at play.

Was she tested for IAA??
 
Hi Carol,

Been out all day, just logged on before bed.

Nice numbers this morning.
It's likely that the numbers are still being influenced by the depot of the 4.25, then some dose wonkiness with the dosing (though I understand your reasoning)

I would be cautious about taking her down to fast, to avoid undoing all the hardwork. But at the same time you don't want to let the dose get to far ahead of you if there is something like insulin resistance breaking at play.

Was she tested for IAA??

Not yet tested for IAA, but on the list for blood work (this month). PMPS up to 1`09, so I'm thinking of going back up, something like 3.5U ???
 
Hi Carol and Rosie! Rosie's SS is quite impressive. She's doing well. I see you're getting her tested for IAA. Did you test for Acro?
 
Hi @Beenie and @Wendy&Neko. Yes. I will do both Acro and IAA testing with her next blood work which should be next week. I had to shoot before I saw your post Wendy so I went with the 3.5, because I can't monitor all night. I will go back to 4.0 tomorrow if possible. I'm spooked because I'm not understanding what has changed with her.
 
What a lovely, lovely numbers on the decreased doses!

Ducia has early lows due to prolonged duration - the previous dose of Lantus stays effective for about 15 hours. Then, after the new dose administration, she has an overlap - two doses working together between the +2 and approx. the +3.5. That's when her lowest occur but they are not her nadir. Could Rosie's numbers be explain by the same mechanism? Just my guess...

I know cats switch their nadir times at will. Ducia did - decided to be a late nadir cat not too long ago.

Have a great weekend Carol!

Thanks @Tanya and Ducia - this is a really good explanation and might well be what is happening. How can I tell for sure? I have been very confused lately so I appreciate your thoughts on this! Hope you are having a great weekend!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top