10/21 Pumbaa AMPS/295 +5/280 +8.25/240 PM +6/92 Dive!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
I sure wish we would see some blue again!

UPDATE: His PM +3 is 232, and I am very, very, very hopeful that Pumbaa will hit blue for his nadir tonight.
antijinx-emoticon.png
The fact that he went down 32 points from his PMPS of 264 is the first sign. The fact that we still have several hours until he hits his PM nadir is another.

Fingers crossed in a major way! Pumbaa could use this breakthrough, and so could I, since I keep swearing that I'm injecting him with water and not insulin. *LOL*

PM +6 UDPATE: BG = 92. This is the first time Pumbaa has taken a dive on Levemir. F@#$! I thought I no longer had to worry about the dives!

While a part of me loves that the little guy went down into the greens tonight, I really wanted him to drop from yellows to consistent blues, before hitting the greens.

I am very happy that the GT/IR has been broken! Insulin is now working for Pumbaa, big time! I just wasn't expecting green numbers tonight, and having to stay up to make sure that Pumbaa doesn't drop too low!
 
Re: 10/21 Pumbaa AMPS/295 +5/280 +8.25/240 PM +6/92 Dive!

We have a dive at +6 PM! And we now have green, even though blue was skipped!

+ 7 PM is also 92. At least Pumbaa isn't diving to dangerous levels like he used to, on Lantus.

This is interesting. I'd rather be sleeping, but am so very happy that Pumbaa has such excellent numbers tonight, that sleep is worth giving up!

Didn't I just post a few hours ago that I felt like I was injecting water, not insulin? Once again, Pumbaa read my post and had to contradict me. *LOL*

Suze
 
Thank you, Sheri and Laura.

Pumbaa started this morning at 285, so he's not done bouncing yet. But as far as bounces go, 285 ain't too bad!

Suze
 
I really wish Autumn would quit reading your posts over my shoulder...lol She decided to dive on me to 31 yesterday at +6! Oh well sleep is highly over-rated we will get plenty of sleep when we are dead. ohmygod_smile

Between Autumn and now Oynx I figure sleep is one of those things I gave up when I became a pet parent...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
I really wish Autumn would quit reading your posts over my shoulder...lol She decided to dive on me to 31 yesterday at +6!

I really do swear that some of our cats DO communicate with each other somehow! *LOL*

I hope you get some good news on Onyx today, Mel. (((HUGS)))
 
Pumbaa said:
MommaOfMuse said:
I really wish Autumn would quit reading your posts over my shoulder...lol She decided to dive on me to 31 yesterday at +6!

I really do swear that some of our cats DO communicate with each other somehow! *LOL*

I hope you get some good news on Onyx today, Mel. (((HUGS)))

Then I wish Dante would start reading or "talking" to y'all :lol:
 
Sheri: How much longer is Dante on the ear drops?

And how is the "settling in with the other furry creatures" going?

Suze
 
Looks like you are breaking the IR/GT. Paws crossed (antijinx) for better numbers to come - lower over all and evener.

Would not call 285 a bounce really. Nor a +6 of 92 a dive. I think of numbers below 50 coming from a 300+ as a dive and the reverse a bounce..... however a little "push back" from the low is normal when he hasn't seen those lovely greens in a while.

Looks good!
 
Pumbaa said:
Thank you, Sheri and Laura.

Pumbaa started this morning at 285, so he's not done bouncing yet. But as far as bounces go, 285 ain't too bad!

Suze

If only he'd got the memo that we'd like him to go yellow->blue, then blue->green. :roll:

Today's data will be helpful to give an idea of how long it takes him to clear a Levemir bounce. As long as his bounces go green->yellow or green->pink, I'd hold the dose until the bounces clear. But if he goes green->red/black, then I'd suggest reducing back by 0.25u and letting that settle some more. Last night's greens were just perfect, if only we could convince him of that...

My Hadley was a little bit of a bouncer/diver on both Levemir and Lantus until his body finally learned what it was supposed to do. It didn't help that he and his "bro" Harley were experts at picking locks on cupboards, breaking open bags, boxes and Tupperware to get at the yummy dry food I had stashed away. I miss those brotherly antics now... :YMSIGH: Here's his spreadsheet if you're interested.
 
CONGRATULATIONS on the breakthrough!!! flip_cat flip_cat That is awesome! Let's get him to talk to Missy, too, please. ;-)
 
Pumbaa said:
...I am very happy that the GT/IR has been broken! Insulin is now working for Pumbaa, big time! I just wasn't expecting green numbers tonight, and having to stay up to make sure that Pumbaa doesn't drop too low!
Yep congratulations on his first green on Levemir! :cool:

However I doubt GT/IR has been broken at this stage. That likely can only *begin* to happen in a big way once he goes green and stays green/blue, that's what I call the breakthrough. And it's not the final answer either, because there is still the challenge of slowly bringing him down to the maintenance dose/or OTJ trial without starting the bouncing again.

I agree with Sheila about the bouncing and diving, this was just his first "dip" to green. And it was a nice landing. The current pink/yellow may be more of the inevitable wonkiness, just have to see how long it takes to clear. The good news is the dip to green surely means his "breakthrough" dose may be on the horizon now. So I'd go by the book and hold this dose for a total of 5 days, unless of course he stops bouncing (hold the dose) or drops below 40 (reduction).

I have to laugh that anyone wants their cat taking marching orders from Pumbaa, they must not know Pumbaa's history of M&MC (mischief and mindcontrol). I may need to bring out Chip's tin foil beanie, since I'm guessing Pumbaa didn't want Chip getting *too* far ahead. ;-)
 
Great to hear that Pumbaa hit some greens :mrgreen: . Here is hoping he didn't bounce too high and gets more greens... in a safer manner than this one :lol:
 
Sheila & Beau & Jeddie (GA) said:
Looks like you are breaking the IR/GT. Paws crossed (antijinx) for better numbers to come - lower over all and evener.

Would not call 285 a bounce really. Nor a +6 of 92 a dive. I think of numbers below 50 coming from a 300+ as a dive and the reverse a bounce..... however a little "push back" from the low is normal when he hasn't seen those lovely greens in a while.

Looks good!

I don't think I'll every understand a dive and a bounce. *LOL*

To me, Pumbaa is "diving" when he goes much lower than he would normally in that give time frame. Dropping rapidly from a 232 at +3 to a 92 at +6 is a dive to me, because normally, on Levemir, he drops much slower than 50 points per hour.

As for the bounce, since he went from a 92 to a 319, that was a sign that the liver output sugars to his system to fight the low of 92. No?

I just want to understand. *sigh*

Suze
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
I have to laugh that anyone wants their cat taking marching orders from Pumbaa, they must not know Pumbaa's history of M&MC (mischief and mindcontrol). I may need to bring out Chip's tin foil beanie, since I'm guessing Pumbaa didn't want Chip getting *too* far ahead. ;-)
*LMAOPMP* Better get that tin foil beanie 'cause even Mel's Autumn has been exhibiting Pumbaa's behavior lately! And I really, really, truly don't want Chip communicating with Pumbaa right now...not with all the work you have done and the good numbers you have seen during your days of no sleep!

Suze
 
Laura and Harley (GA) said:
If only he'd got the memo that we'd like him to go yellow->blue, then blue->green. :roll:
Pumbaa ignores all memos and instructions and tries to defy me, regularly, by going against anything I post as seeing a trend. *LOL* He's such a juvenile delinquent!

Laura and Harley (GA) said:
My Hadley was a little bit of a bouncer/diver on both Levemir and Lantus until his body finally learned what it was supposed to do. It didn't help that he and his "bro" Harley were experts at picking locks on cupboards, breaking open bags, boxes and Tupperware to get at the yummy dry food I had stashed away.
I did view Hadley's SS. You did a wonderful job with him, even though he was a cat burglar for carbs. *LOL* What a character! I'm so sorry that he's gone from this earth, but you have to admit, he's probably up in heaven wreaking havoc! *LOL*
 
hmjohnston said:
Great to hear that Pumbaa hit some greens :mrgreen: . Here is hoping he didn't bounce too high and gets more greens... in a safer manner than this one :lol:
Heather, from your keyboard to God's ear (thank you!), but that isn't what happened, unfortunately. I'll be updating with a new thread tonight. Was too busy to do a 10/22.

Suze
 
Maresydotes said:
CONGRATULATIONS on the breakthrough!!! flip_cat flip_cat That is awesome! Let's get him to talk to Missy, too, please. ;-)
Mares, ask Dale. You don't want Pumbaa talking to Missy! Pumbaa will only get Missy into trouble. That's how he is. *LOL*

Suze
 
Pumbaa said:
I did view Hadley's SS. You did a wonderful job with him, even though he was a cat burglar for carbs. *LOL* What a character! I'm so sorry that he's gone from this earth, but you have to admit, he's probably up in heaven wreaking havoc! *LOL*

*LOL* Fortunately Hadley is still here with me and wrecking havoc down here! It's confusing with two cats with similar names, but it's Harley, in my avatar photo at left and username who is GA. He's the one what taught Hadley all he knew about breaking and entering!

When I used to post both boys numbers, to help minimize confusion, I posted them in different color fonts and typed HaRley and HaDley to emphasize who was who. :smile: I didn't intentionally adopt 2 cats with similar names, it just happened and since both responded to those names, I kept them. Har was black and Had is grey so it was easy for me to tell them apart because they look different.
 
Laura, you still did a wonderful job with Hadley. And so sorry about Harley...

You could have just called both of them "Hardley" to make life easier. Hahahaha!

Suze
 
I will try to keep Pumbaa and Missy from talking! :lol: But it is hard to think he would lead her astray after his latest numbers, they are awesome. My girl was a little bouncy (surprise.....NOT) today but back down in the blues, so I am happy. Sure wish I could figure her out, she makes my brain hurt. So happy Pumbaa is doing so well!
 
Mares, you're doing great with Missy, especially with her being a high-dose kitty and using the "R" to help her along! She had GREAT numbers for this morning's cycle! I hope that continues!

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top