10/21 KHAN amps 196, +6 369

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/21 KHAN amps 196- shoot or NOT?

sorry...i'm not an advisor...hope one of the wise ones will be with you momentarily...

bump

celi
 
Re: 10/21 KHAN amps 196- shoot or NOT?

How long has it been since you tested, was it within the last half hour? Can you retest now?

I only see your PMPS test from last night, did you get any other tests overnight?
ETA: ohmygod_smile I see the tests on your post...sorry, I tend to go right to the SS. When you have a chance, can you update the SS please?
 
Re: 10/21 KHAN amps 196- shoot or NOT?

There are 3 choices, you can shoot a BCS (reduced dose) if you will not be home
You can shoot the whole dose, but need to be there to monitor
You can skip a dose, & the shed will empty out till tonite
BUT!! If you skip a dose the cat's BG could go very High...
So, I think you should leave out a lot of food & shoot a reduced dose.
PLEASE wait for help from dosing helpers
 
Re: 10/21 KHAN amps 196- shoot or NOT?

unfortunately I have to leave for work I left a can out of food.. and will check the board once at work. I'd rather he go high than go low when I'm not here.
 
Re: 10/21 KHAN amps 196- shoot or NOT?

SS is updated.. sometimes I don't have enough time in the am to update since my computer is very slow when it comes to working with that spreadsheet. Many times I just wait until I'm at work to get it updated.

I more than likely will be home all day tomorrow and thru the weekend so help with dosing/shooting schedule would be GREATLY appreciated. thank you!:)
 
Re: 10/21 KHAN amps 196- shoot or NOT?

In your case, I would do a BCS dose to be safe. He's still getting insulin, but not the full dose. I've done that before when I couldn't be around for monitoring.
 
Re: 10/21 KHAN amps 196- shoot or NOT?

I agree with Angela. Getting something into the shed is often a good way to go vs. skipping the shot altogether. However, you need to be comfortable with whatever strategy you opt for.

You might want to keep Libby's post on low pre-shots handy.
 
Re: 10/21 KHAN amps 196- shoot or NOT?

I will print and keep that handy- thank you.

Now for today I won't be able to get back home until 11am until I can leave work.. so what do I do?
 
Re: 10/21 KHAN amps 196- shoot or NOT?

Well for today, since you already needed to skip a shot- it sounds like you just say it was a 'fur shot' and get back on schedule tonight. I wouldn't shoot anything when you sneak home at 11 because that will seriously mess up your shooting schedule. You would have to shoot every day at 11am/11pm.

The shed will drain but sometimes these things happen. Just start to re-build tonight. Maybe he won't be too high tonight. You and Khan will get back into the swing in no time.

Printing out Libby's info will really help because now you know the options for when the next low pre-shot happens. :-D

Hang in there, you made a safe choice for today. Momentum can be regained soon.
 
Re: 10/21 KHAN amps 196- shoot or NOT?

I'm confused. I thought you skipped the shot.

If you didn't shoot, there's no issue re. what to do unless you are thinking of shooting at 11:00 AM. In which case, that will be your new shot time. I don't see that as being particularly bean friendly in terms of your weekday schedule, though. I would just shoot at your usual time this evening. If you want to shift the PM shot time, you can certainly do that without any worries.

Also, if you didn't shoot, the 196 is your +12. You keep counting the hours from your last shot.
 
Re: 10/21 KHAN amps 196- shoot or NOT?

Just to clarify: I did not shoot this morning at all.

I will shoot tonight at 630pm normal time, I will go home at lunch and check his BG and then post on here.

Since he just started on Lantus on 10/16/10 I am a bit frustrated bcuz if I drain his shed - do I start all over?? poor guy hasn't been at a normal BG for a very long time-- way up and then down..way UP then down.. If I need to take off a day or two on monday or tuesday to ensure he is regulated I will since I will most likely be home tomorrow (friday) thru sunday then have monday so 4 days..will that help? Just let me know what is best for Khan and I will do my best to get it done right. Unfortnately I couldn't call in today..probably would of been best to do that since his shed was probably full and continuing the shots on time would of provided more progress. Bummer.. I feel when the amps are low (well not really low but low for him) like this am and being new to Lantus I'm very afraid to shoot since I won't be there. I would be completely devastated if he siezured due to hypo and I wasn't there to give it my best to help him.

Thoughts? suggestions??
 
Re: 10/21 KHAN amps 196- shoot or NOT?

Remember, Lantus is a 12 hour insulin. Granted there'll be an overlap of about 1 or 2 hours, however, it's always going to be a 12 hour insulin. So, if you shoot at 11 p.m. this evening, your next shot will be 11 a.m. tomorrow morning. As Sienne said, it's not very bean friendly at all.

If you didn't shoot already, then don't, and do so tonight as another poster said. Pretend that this a.m.'s shot was a fur shot (meaning you didn't get it under the skin). Get back on your regular schedule this evening as normal.

Fur shots happen to us all. We deal with it, and get the shot in perfectly the next time.
 
Re: 10/21 KHAN amps 196- shoot or NOT?

Ok next shot will be tonight.. what should I be expecting in the next couple of days? How do I get this regulated if I have to go to work monday or friday (tomorrow?) rt now I'm thinking on staying home tomorrow and monday.. first due to my son's behavior and second to regulate Khan.

My son is out of daycare until he begins to learn biting isn't acceptable.. he is 3 1/2 and knows better but keeps doing it.. very frustrating.
 
Re: 10/21 KHAN amps 196- shoot or NOT?

First, one skipped shot doesn't empty out the shed. It may drain it a bit but it's not bone dry!

Second, when was Khan diagnosed. (It would help if you had a Profile we could refer back to! Could you please complete a Profile and link it to your signature?) From your SS, it looks like you've been shooting Lantus from October 16th. There's no way that Khan could be regulated yet. His shed should just be filling. It can take months for a cat to be regulated. Maybe "regulated" isn't the word you were looking for.

You might want to take another look at the Data Ready sticky. That will also provide some guidance on when it's safe to shoot. I do think it's very difficult to leave for work and know know where your cat's numbers are during the day. I know I certainly struggle with it. Because we work the doses up slowly and because Lantus is a gentle insulin, there is a lower probability of hypoglycemia than with other types of insulin. But, I can appreciate you're not yet knowing how Lantus effects Khan and you're being nervous. Let's hope that you have another blue pre-shot over the next several days and you will be there to test and see first hand what happens. If Khan cooperates with this plan, we'll be good. If not, later in the weekend, post a question in your condo and we can strategize. You may want to do a full or mini-curve a couple of times while you're not at work.

Sounds like BOTH Khan and your son need to be regulated!!
 
Re: 10/21 KHAN amps 196- shoot or NOT?

I work up the profile-hopefully I get to it tonight.

Yes both my son and Khan need to be regulated. Khan is much more cooperative though. ha! Khan is passive and waits for his shot and food. If he isn't feeling well or is feeling really well either way he comes and lays rt on top of me while I'm sleeping so I wake up. I"ve done this now for several nights. Last night at 430am.. crazy cat.. doesn't realize I need to sleep too! ha!

I will reread all the information on this condo tonight so it filters in more thoroughly as well as look up the items recommended. I hate being nervous about possibly not doing something right and the outcome being very bad. Been there with my Tortie -and never want it to happen again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top