10/21 Izzy 36, +14 39, +14.5 45, +15 48, +16 49 + 17 64

Status
Not open for further replies.

Janet and Izzy (GA)

Member Since 2013
Took izzy back since im sure she is constipated still. In the mean time her blood work is back. Will post her numbers on her ss when I get home. She has a uti so we will start zenequin until the culture come back. Her BUN has doubled and her creating too. Her phosphorus was 12 I believe and she is anemic too. So she is going down fast.
 
Re: 10/21 Izzy at the vet for another enema

I'm sending a ship load of healing vines and snowflakes to Izzy, too.
 
Re: 10/21 Izzy at the vet for another enema

(((Janet))) Not the news we wanted to hear. I hope they can relieve her constipation today. Any change in meds as a result of the b/w?

There's a large truck loaded with healing vines for Izzy coming your way. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/21 +11 81 +12 71.

blood work is updated on her SS. She has a fierce UTI it appears.

Here are are some numbers with the full info on the SS:

BUN 144 (14-36)
Creat 4.7 (.6-2.4)
Bun/crea ration 31 (4-33)
Phos 12 (2.4-8.2) 4 is the goal for a renal cat

WBC 11.9 (3.5-16)
RBC 4 (5.92-9.93)
HGB 8 (9.3-15.9)
HCT 25 (29-48)

UA

WBC >50
Bacteria Rods >100

So we await the culture and treat with Zeniquin in the mean time. So I'm guessing some syringe feeding is going to be in my very near future, since she not that interested in food.

She passes some stool..nothing major....so I'm guessing another enema is in her near future too.

I did give her a squirt of mushy food before her shot since I had to cram a Zenequin in her. She is not happy with me.
 
Re: 10/21 +13 52...really Izzy?

I think she wants you to skip this dose :)
How are you doing with getting food into her?
 
Re: 10/21 +13 52...really Izzy?

Just fed her some 'Sheba cuts and gravy. She lapped up a teaspoon. She is surprising me with a +13 of 45
 
Re: 10/21 +12.5 52, +13 45. I can't count she has me jumpin

Many many healing and appy vines to Izzy and strength vines to you :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36

ok...I"m starting to freak out. 36 OMG. Now she looks fine, she is alert, purring, sitting on her heater.

I just gave her a drop of karo...is that enough?

Guess I better get dressed in case I'm headed for the er soon. No rest for the weary tonight!

+12.5 52
+13 45
+13.5 36
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36

you can go ahead and give her a couple more drops of karo. mix it in the hc gravy if she'll eat it.
retest in 30 minutes, please.
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36

you can always rub some karo on her gums if her numbers haven't come up...

do her numbers usually drop after receiving fluids?
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36

she was getting sub q every 2-3 days and I don't see, according to her spreadsheet, any drops post fluids.

That being said...she 100ml on friday at the vet. I gave her 100 Sunday, and they gave her 100ml today. So...possibly?
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36

hmmm, fluids could be dropping her.
next test should be coming up soon. if she hasn't come up, i'd rub some more karo on her gums before posting.
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36, +14 39

headed in the right direction, but let's get her bumped up higher with karo on the gums followed by hc gravy or hc food... if she'll eat it.

retest in 20 - 30 minutes, please.
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36, +14 39

Dr. P's chart says that Friskees mixed grill is 11%
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36, +14 39

checking the list now...

i don't use it. anyone reading know?


thanks, carl!


it'll do if that's what you have. you can always mix karo in with it.
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36, +14 39

I can try, but honestly...she isn't much interested in food. She has been little off food for the last few days. Vet said, probably a combo of the raging UTI and high renal numbers making her not feel well and thus not wanti to eat. and of course now she is on antibiotics..which makes her even less interested in food. :shock:
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36, +14 39

ok, you can only try. let's see where she is at the next test.

if we don't see a substantial rise you might want to seriously consider taking her to an ER. they can put her on a glucose drip to keep her safe. i'm only suggesting this because she's not interested in eating. we could continue to give her karo, but my concern is it could upset her tummy. if she starts vomiting because of all the karo... we'll have one heck of a time keeping her numbers up.
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36, +14 39, +14.5 45

better! :-D

lather, rinse, and repeat.
we need to bump her up more. the karo wears off faster than food does.

what do you think about going to an ER?
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36, +14 39, +14.5 45

I will do it if I have to. But at the moment she doesn't act hypo. She acts annoyed that I keep poking her. She is alert, purring and snuggled on her heater.

How fast the karo wear off? I will keep testing to make sure we get past that and that her numbers don't start dropping again.
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36, +14 39, +14.5 45

it's hard to tell how long the karo will last. ECID. i would have expected to see a substantial rise by now given all the karo and the fact that it's well past the end of the cycle. i don't know if fluids have influenced this drop and if so... nor do i know how long the effect will last. there's no telling how long it will take to pull her up and keep her up. her next test may show a rise to numbers in the 100s or it could show a drop back into the 30s. all we can do is go test to test and react appropriately.

my biggest concern: we don't have the use of the most effective tool for bringing numbers up... food.

my personal opinion...
if this were alex: at this point, i would only attempt to carry on at home if i could syringe feed.

but, it's your decision. you know izzy better than any of us.
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36, +14 39, +14.5 45

I can syringe feed her if necessary. Looks like I will be up for a while. it's only 9:35 here my time, so I have a few hours to play with to see how she goes before deciding on the ER Vet. I try to avoid them as much as possible since they charge about 4x what the regular vet charges.
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36, +14 39, +14.5 45

ok. if i were in your shoes i would get started on syringe feeding now... she needs to eat anyway.
how far away from the next test are we?
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36, +14 39, +14.5 45, +15 48

sorry did her +15 and she was at 48. Got it on the SS but forgot to post here because she peed (or I think she peed..could be a wet spot from her back side which was wet from the bath the vet office gave her post enema) so I moved her and swapped her bedding and toss her favorite bed in the washer.

She is up and even came off the bed to sit out by the bathroom door. She is hanging out as if she has no care in the world and wonders what all my fussing is about! :smile:

And she lapped up a few more sips of the gravy with karo in it
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36, +14 39, +14.5 45, +15 48, +16 49

that's ok. i waited for about a half hour, but had to test alex. she was too low too early in her lev cycle so decided to feed my whole crew. that always takes awhile. :roll:

happy to hear she took some of the gravy and karo!
you'll want to get some food in her... by syringe if necessary. she's had a lot of karo. you don't want her to end up vomiting or getting diarrhea from all that karo.

she's maintaining, but i'm very surprised we haven't seen a substantial rise in BG numbers by now.
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36, +14 39, +14.5 45, +15 48, +16 49

I just got done syringe feeding her some natural balance duck and pea. between what she willingly ate out of the dish after I shoved the syringe at her and that which I got into via syringe, it was a good 2 teaspons. That pretty good for her. She is more of a snacker. probably eats less that a teaspoon at a time..just does it all day long...normally.
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36, +14 39, +14.5 45, +15 48, +16 49

yaaay! :mrgreen:

i have to sign off for the night. please continue with feeding and testing. if i were in your shoes, i don't think i would feel comfortable until she was over 100 before turning in for the night. when you do go to bed, please leave out her favorite food for her to nibble on. sure hope her numbers rise and you can get to bed at a decent hour. what we don't do for our kitties! :-D

if her numbers drop again... i wouldn't hesitate to take her to an ER. i know they're expensive, but they're equipped to keep her safe.

good-night!
 
Re: 10/21 +13.5 36, +14 39, +14.5 45, +15 48, +16 49

Thanks Jill.

I'm pretty sure she will be fine tonight. I will test her again here shortly. I left the Natural Balance out for her as well as 2 other kinds of cat food. :)
 
good morning, janet! nice work last night. good to see you were able to bring izzy's numbers up over 100. that was tough.
hope you're able to catch a nap today!

by any chance... did they have to put her under anesthesia for the enema yesterday? just asking because receiving sub-q fluids and going under anesthesia are both procedures that are known to affect *some* kitty's numbers even hours later. ECID. combine either or both of those with not eating... one *could* have a real problem getting kitty's numbers up and keeping them up.

anesthesia will pull alex's numbers down. so much so that i'll usually skip a shot or give a reduced dose if i know the vet will have to put her under. i've also noticed sub-q fluids will pull her numbers down somewhat... just enough to make me careful about timing of them within the cycle when she has to have them.

just something worth mentioning. worth being aware of the same possibility with izzy...
 
No rest for the weary Jill :) It's 6:36 and I am just now sitting down. No naps allowed :)

No they did not give her any anesthesia. They gave her the enema while I was there in the waiting room.

I don't ususally give SubQs right before a preshot. I normally to them a few hours into a cycle. They gave her some while she was there so that would be between 1-2 hours preshot.

apparently I need a little more stress in my life...so she thinks.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top