10/21-Giles- New Member- Questions...

Giles'Mom

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/145-amp-give-shot.220553/#post-2461665

I'm coming over from the Main forum at the recommendation of Sue and Luci. The first reading this morning was 145, so I held off on giving the 3u dose, I took another reading 2 hours later and the reading jumped to 325. I am holding off on dosing at Sue and Luci's advice. I am trying to get a curve today in order to take to the vet on Monday. (Vet will not continue to prescribe insulin unless I either bring cat in for a curve or do one and bring it in with the cat for her to check over. The previous thread explains a little of the back story.)

So far I'm having a rough time home testing although my most recent attempt went so smoothly it feels like a fluke. Or maybe it was just the awesome advice from the people here ... the rice baby sock, and salmon treat helped.

I've read through the various links sent to me. And I want to thank everyone who has been helping me.

One last note, yes the cat has a boy's name but is a girl. She is a tuxedo cat, so my husband gave her a butler's name, but didn't know at the time it was a girl :)
 
Hey Girl, Hey!

Welcome to the Lantus, Basaglar and Levemir Group! I know you're a bit overwhelmed right now but trust me, it will all come along with time... usually more quickly than you would expect. You're doing awesome already feeding wet food, home testing, and have the spreadsheet set up!

On the testing, really don't sweat it... it is hard at first because a) Your cat is like... what is going on here? b) you're new to poking and c) Giles needs to grow capillaries. On point C. Along the edge of the ear is a great spot to test because it doesn't have many pain receptors but it also doesn't have many capillaries at first, as you poke more Giles will grow more capillaries which will make it easier for her to bleed. This combined with your growing confidence will make it easier to get tests. Please be patient with yourself, it takes a little time... we have all been in your shoes! the first time I tested Mowgli I hit his vein!! blood EVERYWHERE!!! One other tip I have is to try and remain calm, our kitties can really sense our stress and it can make them skittish, if youre calm it should help a little. Oh and one more thing! check the gauge of your lancet! we suggest larger lancet sizes for beginners, the smaller the lancet the larger the gauge number.... I personally use 28 gauge. My personal preference is not using the actual lancet device for poking the ears, i just take the little cap off and poke Mowgli's ear freehand. Below is a pic I have found helpful.... does anyone have the photo of 'Danny's Ear'?

4395c545-36bf-4aba-bec7-4392fcdb191c-jpeg.48119


About insulin... do you have a copy of Giles old prescription? Many members from the US actually order their insulin from Marks Marine Pharmacy in Canada because Insulin is much cheaper here. I thought I remembered @Chris & China (GA) mentioning she only had to send a prescription once and they would continue refilling her script. Otherwise... I might consider a different vet if you don't feel too attached to this one. There is no need for your vet to be charging so much for a curve when you can do it yourself... if you can take securing insulin into your own hands I would do that :) Same thing for fructosamine tests, if you're testing, you have more data than that test will give you.

Once you get settled in with everything let us know, then we can start talking about what kind of dosing method you would like to use moving forward, we have two on the site here that you can read about HERE, or you can use your vets advice, as long as you keep your spreadsheet up to date we have enough members with experience that we should have someone here who can help you along the way :)

I recommend reading all of the articles titled 'Sticky' at the top of the Lantus Basaglar Levemir Subforum (Especially the one on hypos) so you can start getting some of the background theory in your mind so it might click a little more when members start throwing more information your way!

Dont stress! youre doing the best thing for sweet Giles! it will take time to get it all down pat (I'm still learning boat loads after 8 months!) but you will grow more and more confident as time goes on and you begin to notice positive changes in Giles.

It would be great if you could post daily so that we can get to know you and Giles even more! No worries if you can't though!

Good luck!! :joyful:
 
Hey Girl, Hey!

Welcome to the Lantus, Basaglar and Levemir Group! I know you're a bit overwhelmed right now but trust me, it will all come along with time... usually more quickly than you would expect. You're doing awesome already feeding wet food, home testing, and have the spreadsheet set up!

On the testing, really don't sweat it... it is hard at first because a) Your cat is like... what is going on here? b) you're new to poking and c) Giles needs to grow capillaries. On point C. Along the edge of the ear is a great spot to test because it doesn't have many pain receptors but it also doesn't have many capillaries at first, as you poke more Giles will grow more capillaries which will make it easier for her to bleed. This combined with your growing confidence will make it easier to get tests. Please be patient with yourself, it takes a little time... we have all been in your shoes! the first time I tested Mowgli I hit his vein!! blood EVERYWHERE!!! One other tip I have is to try and remain calm, our kitties can really sense our stress and it can make them skittish, if youre calm it should help a little. Oh and one more thing! check the gauge of your lancet! we suggest larger lancet sizes for beginners, the smaller the lancet the larger the gauge number.... I personally use 28 gauge. My personal preference is not using the actual lancet device for poking the ears, i just take the little cap off and poke Mowgli's ear freehand. Below is a pic I have found helpful.... does anyone have the photo of 'Danny's Ear'?

4395c545-36bf-4aba-bec7-4392fcdb191c-jpeg.48119


About insulin... do you have a copy of Giles old prescription? Many members from the US actually order their insulin from Marks Marine Pharmacy in Canada because Insulin is much cheaper here. I thought I remembered @Chris & China (GA) mentioning she only had to send a prescription once and they would continue refilling her script. Otherwise... I might consider a different vet if you don't feel too attached to this one. There is no need for your vet to be charging so much for a curve when you can do it yourself... if you can take securing insulin into your own hands I would do that :) Same thing for fructosamine tests, if you're testing, you have more data than that test will give you.

Once you get settled in with everything let us know, then we can start talking about what kind of dosing method you would like to use moving forward, we have two on the site here that you can read about HERE, or you can use your vets advice, as long as you keep your spreadsheet up to date we have enough members with experience that we should have someone here who can help you along the way :)

I recommend reading all of the articles titled 'Sticky' at the top of the Lantus Basaglar Levemir Subforum (Especially the one on hypos) so you can start getting some of the background theory in your mind so it might click a little more when members start throwing more information your way!

Dont stress! youre doing the best thing for sweet Giles! it will take time to get it all down pat (I'm still learning boat loads after 8 months!) but you will grow more and more confident as time goes on and you begin to notice positive changes in Giles.

It would be great if you could post daily so that we can get to know you and Giles even more! No worries if you can't though!

Good luck!! :joyful:
Thank you, I managed to get my hands on a paper prescription and plan to send to Marks Marine. Only problem she made a real nice big x on the no refills line... so not sure how that will go for me. I've also reached out to someone in the supply closet about some that they have available.
 
Next time you go to vet, see if you can get a script for insulin and say you can get it cheaper at store or pharmacy. Then send it to Marks in Canada and you won't need a script after that. Don't tell vet about Canada or he/she might not give it to you.
done!
 
Thank you, I managed to get my hands on a paper prescription and plan to send to Marks Marine. Only problem she made a real nice big x on the no refills line... so not sure how that will go for me. I've also reached out to someone in the supply closet about some that they have available.
Oh my!! She’s real serious about no refills eh!? Is there any chance you live close to the Border? In Canada you can get Lantus over the counter without a script, a lot of people come to Canada to get their insulin because of that... plus it’s cheaper here
 
Oh my!! She’s real serious about no refills eh!? Is there any chance you live close to the Border? In Canada you can get Lantus over the counter without a script, a lot of people come to Canada to get their insulin because of that... plus it’s cheaper here
No where near the border. I'm currently trying to see if I can get any from the supply closet. But also, if I do the curve's at home and bring her the results and consult with her, she indicated she'd continue prescribing... so I'll take the curve I'm doing now in to her on Monday.
 
No where near the border. I'm currently trying to see if I can get any from the supply closet. But also, if I do the curve's at home and bring her the results and consult with her, she indicated she'd continue prescribing... so I'll take the curve I'm doing now in to her on Monday.
Awesome! You know, you could also just share the spreadsheet link with your vet instead of going in, I have gotten doctors notes saying that Mowgli is diabetic that way :) the tests don’t lie!!
 
Only problem she made a real nice big x on the no refills line...

Your vet sounds like a real 'pill'....

She really WANTS you to keep coming in for those prescriptions doesn't she?

I'm not much of a fan for a vet that wants so much control. I don't see my vet(s)...yes, I have multiples because we're snowbirds and live in two states...for Luci's diabetes. Other stuff...but not for that. I tell them she's a diabetic...and they want to see her SS...I show them...then they want to have me call or come back for tests, etc. I say, 'Uh huh...ok.. thank you'...and that's the last they hear from me until next time - for other health related things.

You did a great job on the curve today. And I see you reduced the dose tonight. Please get a test tonight at 2+ just to see if that dose has 'kicked' in.

Another thing to keep in mind - when you're preparing to give insulin and you've gotten a test that might seem higher than normal - look on the SS at the lowest number Giles has had...that's the number you're shooting...the AM and PM preshot numbers are typically the highest of the day...so the other numbers will likely be lower - most times...but of course not always - as our kitties are not robots no one can predict what they're going to do 100% of the time...it's just a trend that kitties tend to do...drop down for several hours after the shot..and then start to rise again...it's listed out hour by hour on the "Basics, New to the Group" Stickie at the top of this forum.

I'm so glad you're here on the LB&L forum! I can't wait to see Giles' avatar! Luci is a tuxedo too! Looking forward to seeing your post tomorrow :)
 
Hi Sara and Giles and welcome other forum!:)
I'm so glad you found us. Giles is a lucky boy to have you.

I've read through your other thread on the main forum......you poor thing, what a time you have had.
But it will get a lot better I promise!
We all started off stressed, confused, overloaded with info and looking for help.
You are doing the very best thing by learning to test the blood sugars.

I just want to mention that if you did not give any insulin today, there is no point in doing a curve for the vet.
And because you skippped this morning (which was the correct thing to do with a lower than normal BG
level) there won't be any point in doing a curve for a few days until the depot fills again. Lantus is a depot insulin which means it takes about 6 doses (3days) for the depot to fill and for you to get a true reading again of how the insulin dose is working.
So keep doing lots of tests as they are all good data.

Here we go up and down in dose in 0.25 (1/4) unit increments as it is safer for the cat and we won't go past the best dose.
Just looked at your SS (great you have it up and running and lovely to see all those tests in there!! Well done!
I would stay with the 2 units now for at least 3 days unless Giles drops under 50.
If you get a preshot of under 150, stall, don't feed and post and ask for help. Test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is going up.

Do you work during the day? Will he be on his own during the day? Ifso you may be better not giving the insulin under 200 until we get more data..do the same....stall, don't feed and ask for help.

Do you have some honey or Karo and some higher carb food at home in case of low numbers.?
Here is a thread for new members you may find useful.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216680/

Has Giles ever had ketones in the urine or had ketoacidosis(DKA)?
When you are next at the shops, I think it would be a good idea if you could pick up a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy ....only around $10. Collect a urine from Giless and dip a test strip in it. Read exactly 15 seconds later against the colours on the bottle. Anything above a trace needs vet attention.
Bron
 
I thought I remembered @Chris & China (GA) mentioning she only had to send a prescription once and they would continue refilling her script.

You're absolutely correct....Once they have a script, they'll refill it as long as you need it without a new script.

You can also take a picture of the script and send it to them if you don't have a fax machine or scanner handy.

Marks is fantastic to work with. They will do everything they can to help you get the insulin you need!

And yes, if you can swing it, you'll want to get the 5 pack of pens....that's enough insulin to last most cats at least 1 year....and some cats up to 2 years!
 
Hi Sara and Giles and welcome other forum!:)
I'm so glad you found us. Giles is a lucky boy to have you.

I've read through your other thread on the main forum......you poor thing, what a time you have had.
But it will get a lot better I promise!
We all started off stressed, confused, overloaded with info and looking for help.
You are doing the very best thing by learning to test the blood sugars.

I just want to mention that if you did not give any insulin today, there is no point in doing a curve for the vet.
And because you skippped this morning (which was the correct thing to do with a lower than normal BG
level) there won't be any point in doing a curve for a few days until the depot fills again. Lantus is a depot insulin which means it takes about 6 doses (3days) for the depot to fill and for you to get a true reading again of how the insulin dose is working.
So keep doing lots of tests as they are all good data.

Here we go up and down in dose in 0.25 (1/4) unit increments as it is safer for the cat and we won't go past the best dose.
Just looked at your SS (great you have it up and running and lovely to see all those tests in there!! Well done!
I would stay with the 2 units now for at least 3 days unless Giles drops under 50.
If you get a preshot of under 150, stall, don't feed and post and ask for help. Test again in 20 minutes to see if the BG is going up.

Do you work during the day? Will he be on his own during the day? Ifso you may be better not giving the insulin under 200 until we get more data..do the same....stall, don't feed and ask for help.

Do you have some honey or Karo and some higher carb food at home in case of low numbers.?
Here is a thread for new members you may find useful.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216680/

Has Giles ever had ketones in the urine or had ketoacidosis(DKA)?
When you are next at the shops, I think it would be a good idea if you could pick up a bottle of Ketostix from Walmart or a pharmacy ....only around $10. Collect a urine from Giless and dip a test strip in it. Read exactly 15 seconds later against the colours on the bottle. Anything above a trace needs vet attention.
Bron

Yes, I work a full time job, I have karo and dry food that she loves but I’ve stopped letting her have it. I’ll check the thread. I have no idea if she has ketones but I’ll look into all that. I’m just a little overwhelmed at the moment. :) thank you for all the insight.
 
Last edited:
Yes, I work a full time job, I have karo and dry food that she loves but I’ve stopped letting her have it. I’ll check the thread. I have no idea if she has ketones but I’ll look into all that. I’m just a little overwhelmed at the moment. :) thank you for all the insight.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi again,
A few questions....
1. Should I just continue posting in this one thread if it all has to do with Giles? Or make different threads based on different questions?- I caught on to the renaming convention for updates on levels...

2. My new questions are based on an experience I just had. As mentioned in earlier posts, our vet refuses to give refills unless I brought in a curve and worked with her. So (while I reached out to someone on the site to find out if I can get my own Lantus without her help), I agreed to go in and see her. I took her my curve and numbers. She was not happy I backed Giles down to 2 units, but on the upside she was happy to see Giles put on weight... she weighs just over 11 pounds now. :) She had me bring my meter and she ran a test on her alphatrak while i ran a test on my ReliOn. The readings were over 100 pts apart.... with hers showing near 450 and mine under 340... So she told me I needed to get an Alphatrak because she doesn't know how to interpret my numbers with that big a difference. My question is- the spreadsheets don't show that different (between the one formulated for pet readers vs human readers, i compared...)... how are they different? With a human reader, what numbers am i aiming for? How do I interpret the ReliOn if there's that big a difference?

3. Should I stay at 2 units? or up it to 3? If her pet meter is showing Giles is really in the 450 range right now... should I really be giving her 3 units? (Vet also wasn't a fan of going up in small increments because she said it just took longer to get to the right increment.)

She gave me a speech at the end of the appointment telling me that diabetes is her least favorite thing to treat, is always terminal, and very few cats get regulated. She said I shouldn't feel bad if I want to throw in the towel... This pretty much sold me on finding a new vet... So I'm calling around to see if any vets near me have a different opinion.
If not, I'm just going to rely 100% on you guys... so far you've been far more responsive and caring... thank you all. :)
For now I'll continue doing 2 units and taking readings when I'm able. I'd appreciate insight on when to change that dose!
 
1. Should I just continue posting in this one thread if it all has to do with Giles? Or make different threads based on different questions?- I caught on to the renaming convention for updates on levels...

First - you'll want to start a new condo each day - we're allowed to put up one per day.

Use this naming convention:

10/21 Giles AMPS ###

IF you wish to add updates to the title, you may do so.

IF you have a question you'll want to select the '?' from the drop down menu and post the same info: ? 10/21 Giles AMPS ###, I have a question today...

There are also drop downs for emergencies - that's the 911 and one for 'GA' for those who's cats have passed.
 
She gave me a speech at the end of the appointment telling me that diabetes is her least favorite thing to treat, is always terminal, and very few cats get regulated. She said I shouldn't feel bad if I want to throw in the towel... This pretty much sold me on finding a new vet... So I'm calling around to see if any vets near me have a different opinion.
If not, I'm just going to rely 100% on you guys... so far you've been far more responsive and caring... thank you all. :)
For now I'll continue doing 2 units and taking readings when I'm able. I'd appreciate insight on when to change that dose!

I don't know if I told you when we first met on the Main Forum but the vet who diagnosed Luci said similar things. He said that if it were his cat he'd put her down...then went on to tell us that it was very difficult to get diabetic cats regulated, she would pee all over the house and most likely would not cooperate with me trying to give her injections - I was so upset by this time, I don't remember if he even said anything about me testing her BG's at home myself. :arghh::arghh:

I started searching the internet for diabetic cats and luckily found this group. There was HOPE! I could save Luci's life!!!:joyful: Do I need to say that we never went back to that vet again? I saw another vet soon after who was a bit more sympathetic and gave me a prescription for Lantus. I did not take her back to that vet for further evaluation of her diabetes - and since that time I have not consulted with any vet for her diabetes. Yes, for other things - routine stuff, dentals, etc. but NOT to discuss her diabetes. Yes, I tell them she's diabetic then I show them the spreadsheet - typically they're in awe...and then want to start telling me to bring her back for tests or to call them for advice on dose changes - I just say thank you and pay my bill and leave.

I've gotten all the support and help from this group that I've needed to take care of Luci. She's still with us, alive and healthy - yes, she's still a diabetic and may always be - but she's happy and lovable and basically owns her two beans here...but I wouldn't have it any other way....

Most vets - not all - but most, know very little about feline diabetes - they simply have not had the training, nor have they been able to keep up with the many studies and new information on treating feline diabetes...they just don't have time...so I don't hold it against them that they don't know...but I do choose life for my kitty and I've found the best way to do that is with the help and support of the wealth of information on this group, the people and their generosity - no one gets paid for sharing their experiences or giving advice here. If you wish you can donate via the info at the top - I did. That's all they ever ask of you. Then someday when you're experience and can help others, you can pay it forward.

I do hope you'll weigh all this information - and choose life for your precious girl. Sending you big hugs! You've had quite the day! :bighug::bighug:
 
3. Should I stay at 2 units? or up it to 3? If her pet meter is showing Giles is really in the 450 range right now... should I really be giving her 3 units? (Vet also wasn't a fan of going up in small increments because she said it just took longer to get to the right increment.)

Oh lord...

Which is why - and I know this may make some people angry - vets are the cause of most hypo situations in cats. The collective experience and wisdom of this group has come to find that going up and down in tiny .25 increments is the best way to reach the right dose...reducing the risk of hypo and helping your kitty find the right dose without passing it right by - if you go up and down in full dose increments you may hit those lower numbers when in fact, a smaller dose would have done the trick...

I think you need to continue to gather data on Giles with this dose...if you're going to do the TR (Tight Regulation) protocol you can increase after 6 cycles by .25. Unless you get into high dose conditions and then it's a different increment. Why not take it slow and let's see what Giles will do with this dose. Make a note on your SS as to which day she'll hit that 6th cycle - review the past 6 cycles and if she hasn't hit a good number - a green number - then increase. It's the best and safest way to get to know your cat and how she responds to the insulin and to the food she's eating.

Glad to hear she's gained some weight and is looking good! At least there's that huh? :rolleyes:

BTW - Giles is beautiful! Love the tux's...but then of course, I'm kinda biased :joyful:
 
Last edited:
She gave me a speech at the end of the appointment telling me that diabetes is her least favorite thing to treat, is always terminal, and very few cats get regulated. She said I shouldn't feel bad if I want to throw in the towel... This pretty much sold me on finding a new vet... So I'm calling around to see if any vets near me have a different opinion.
If not, I'm just going to rely 100% on you guys... so far you've been far more responsive and caring... thank you all. :)
Welcome with us, it's a pleasure to meet you and your Giles! Can't wait to see what she looks like! I love tux, I have one.... :) It happened to us also, giving a boy's name to a little girl... she didn't mind!:p

My vet did exactly the same as yours, so I never went back! Since a year pretty soon I'm treating my Ti-Mousse with this Forum only and he's doing great! Everybody is sharing their experience, their knowledge and are always ready to help! I wish you can find a vet that you like!

Nice to see that you're already starting doing good with your testing, that's the worst part! Hope you find all your stuff in the supply closet or at Marks!
Keep posting and ask as many questions as you need ! :)
 
Welcome to this fantastic community. I agree wholeheartedly with Sue I will discuss Jerry's diabetes with the vet but I follow the protocols and dosing advice I get here.

If the vet makes any suggestions etc. I too just go um hm and go on my merry way.

Best of luck, I feel for you as you start this journey, but before you know it you'll feel in more control. See you around the board.:bighug:
 
I had a professor in college (when I was studying in London) named Giles :joyful: Gosh, I love cat names, they are the best and Giles has a great one.

Welcome and I'll just ditto what everyone has said above! I'm so sorry your vet said those things to you. You have done so well to get started testing and to join the forum here :)
 
Hi again,
A few questions....
1. Should I just continue posting in this one thread if it all has to do with Giles? Or make different threads based on different questions?- I caught on to the renaming convention for updates on levels...

I agree with Sue, One post per day with the title format she suggested (your post is also known as a 'condo') Additional testing values are good to add to the title if you have them because experienced members may be able to notice if Giles has entered a dangerous situation that needs action, or may be able to provide feedback on dosage amounts. You can edit the title with updates on your latest tests as the day goes by or add a question to the title if you end up with a question by the end of the day.

For example you could start with this: 10/21 Giles AMPS 300

And end up by the end of the day having a title like this: ? 10/21 Giles AMPS 300 +1 301 +2 270 Vet advice needed

You can edit the title by choosing, thread tools at the top right of your post, then "edit title"
upload_2019-9-19_11-4-47-png.47906

If you have a question, you can choose a prefix based on your situation, if you have a question choose the ? prefix for your title, if your cat is in danger, choose 911 for support, GA is for Gone ahead / Guardian Angel, this is meant to use as a notification that your cat has passed... please don't choose this by mistake ;)

upload_2019-9-19_11-5-35-png.47907


2. My new questions are based on an experience I just had. As mentioned in earlier posts, our vet refuses to give refills unless I brought in a curve and worked with her. So (while I reached out to someone on the site to find out if I can get my own Lantus without her help), I agreed to go in and see her. I took her my curve and numbers. She was not happy I backed Giles down to 2 units, but on the upside she was happy to see Giles put on weight... she weighs just over 11 pounds now. :) She had me bring my meter and she ran a test on her alphatrak while i ran a test on my ReliOn. The readings were over 100 pts apart.... with hers showing near 450 and mine under 340... So she told me I needed to get an Alphatrak because she doesn't know how to interpret my numbers with that big a difference. My question is- the spreadsheets don't show that different (between the one formulated for pet readers vs human readers, i compared...)... how are they different? With a human reader, what numbers am i aiming for? How do I interpret the ReliOn if there's that big a difference?

Awesome news about the weight gain! congrats!! Boo about the refills!!

It is known that the Alpha Track monitor (pet meters in general in fact) and human meters have a wide variance, especially at higher numbers. As numbers get lower the variance gets less. There is no direct conversion between a pet reader and a human meter, the results cannot be compared (read: dont compare them unless you want to go crazy). If you plan to follow feedback from the site, I recommend choosing a human meter (a) because methods here are based on a human meter, and (b) because its so much more affordable! That being said: If you prefer to use a pet meter there is a spreadsheet that has color coding based on using a pet meter. The main difference between pet and human meter that im aware of is that the danger number on the animal meter is below 68, and on a human meter is below 50

3. Should I stay at 2 units? or up it to 3? If her pet meter is showing Giles is really in the 450 range right now... should I really be giving her 3 units? (Vet also wasn't a fan of going up in small increments because she said it just took longer to get to the right increment.)
Personally I think you were right to come in at 2u, 3u is really a high beginning dose for a kitty, it is better to start low and work your way up than to start high and risk a dangerous hypo event. If you look at Mowgli's spreadsheet you can see what a difference a small amount makes on August 27-August 30, at that time I was adjusting dosage by 0.125u!! I went from blues and yellows at 0.5u to greens at 0.62u! cats are small and often vets think that they react the same to insulin as dogs which isn't true.

This may be information overload, but I think if you're considering following one of our methods here, and you're looking for potential dose change advice, you may want to review our dosage methods and possibly choose one. When it comes to dosing with Lantus we follow two methods here: Start Low Go Slow (SLGS), and Tight Regulation(TR). Have a look at the description of these methods Here and decide which one may be best for you. If you decide to follow a method here, add it to your signature so that members here can provide feedback for dosing as you move ahead.

In both TR and SLGS. We only increase or decrease by 0.25u at a time. How long you hold a dose depends also on whether you follow TR or SLGS.

She gave me a speech at the end of the appointment telling me that diabetes is her least favorite thing to treat, is always terminal, and very few cats get regulated. She said I shouldn't feel bad if I want to throw in the towel... This pretty much sold me on finding a new vet... So I'm calling around to see if any vets near me have a different opinion.
If not, I'm just going to rely 100% on you guys... so far you've been far more responsive and caring... thank you all. :)
For now I'll continue doing 2 units and taking readings when I'm able. I'd appreciate insight on when to change that dose!

Ok, well... your vet sounds brutal quite honestly. Talk about 0 bedside manner. I believe that 100% you can find a more cooperative vet who actually believes in the success of Giles treatment, I would NEVER want a vet treating Mowgli if I knew she thought Mowgli was just going to die... I just cant believe that experience you've had, how upsetting that must have been for you.

It's smart of you to look for a more supportive vet, I would agree with your idea to hold the 2u now until you decide what dosage method you would like to follow. If you have questions on the different methods please dont be shy and ask away, you wouldn't be the first member here to treat their diabetic kitty using the support of the forum, and unfortunately probably wont be the last.

I feel so gross thinking of the advice your vet gave about treating Giles, I am glad you are open to other options :)
 
I’m glad you are finding another vet. What a pessimist she is!
I’m not surprised it’s her least favourite thing to treat..... she knows nothing about it!
There is a difference in the numbers of the human and the alphatrak Meters. It doesn’t mean that either of the numbers is wrong. One just reads higher than the other. That is normal.

I would encourage you to stay with the human meter because both our dosing methods are based on the human meter numbers not the pet meter numbers
 
Back
Top