10/21 Crushy amps 342 +2 236 +4 59 +5 45 Dose question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele M

Member Since 2013
previous: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=106655&p=1130858#p1130858

It looks like he *might* go below 50 today since he's only at +4 so far and just tested at 59

my question is, since he just had a dose decrease last night (from 1.5 units to 1.25 units,) If he gets below 50 today that is from the storage shed not completely adjusting to the new dose yet right??

I believe the protocol says I should shave the dose. If I do that do I Un-shave it in a cycle or two or keep the shaved dose?

and if he bounces after this (like he usually does) should I keep the dose tonight or still shave it?

This has happened before on 10/8 and 10/10 and it looks like I should have shaved or kept the dose on 10/10 instead of decreasing it (I ended up having to go back up to the 10/10 dose later)

Thanks!!

(thrilled to death he's not doing this in the middle of the night btw!)
 
Re: 10/21 Crushy amps 342 +2 236 +4 59 Dose question

If he goes below 50, it is probably from his depot since you just decreased the dose last night.

Im hoping that bumping up your post will get you some more opinions.... as I am not sure if you should shave the dose quite yet. Sorry I cant be more helpful!


Hope you have a good day Michele.
 
Go TEAM!! :RAHCAT

SO happy it's during the day TOO...for ONCE!

He's liking this dose or whatever is leftover from last one. So glad the juice is doing it's thing.

Green :mrgreen: = good mood for you :-D
..and so far not TOO low..so keep it that way Crushy!... cruising no diving!!

You are handling like a pro. I'll get out of the way so you can get your dosing questions answered.
may have some more thoughts later but let's see what the wise ones have to say.
 
Michele M said:
...my question is, since he just had a dose decrease last night (from 1.5 units to 1.25 units,) If he gets below 50 today that is from the storage shed not completely adjusting to the new dose yet right??...(thrilled to death he's not doing this in the middle of the night btw!)
Hi Michele--I don't think that we've "met". I'm Kat and Gobbles is my sugar boy in remission (though still sweet!); he's an 11 year old neutered gray bratty tabby; was diagnosed in November 2012 and went OTJ this past May. I'm sorry I don't feel qualified to answer your question, but my comments will bump you up (it may help if you put a "?" in your subject line). Take it from me--while it is great to not have a low-BG "pajama party"--cats are cats and sometimes you may be surprised; I see you monitor at night, which should keep Crushy safe, however, there were a few times when Gobbles didn't nadir till about PM+10 and I would have never known it, if it wasn't for him waking me up, wanting fed. Hang in there--you are doing SUPERBLY! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
When the reductions are that close together, it's almost impossible to say what's best to do. My personal opinion is that today's 45 was probably due to some leftover shed action, but it's possible that Crushy is coming down the dose ladder fast.

If it were me, I'd probably try giving 1.25 tonight minus a drop or 2 unless you have a hard time keeping him up after the high carb. A "skinny" 1.25..and if he drops below 50 again, take the full reduction back to 1 unit (IF you're prepared for a PJ party if it's necessary)

This is only my opinion...Crushy is still a really new diabetic and the protocol does say to reduce the full .25 (I know this isn't real helpful, but as I said, sometimes there just aren't any clear, easy answers when they go below 50 so close together.)

Good luck with whatever you do decide, and hopefully some more experienced eyes will chime in before your PMPS time!
 
woot! thanks Betty! yes good moods all around :mrgreen:
Id still likes to see better pre shot #s but Ill take what I can get

thanks Kat! Nice to meet you! Ill keep in mind the possible late nadirs...so far he hasnt had one of those but never say never...

Chris, my gut is telling me to shave the dose or make it skinny. I can monitor tonight and he came up really easily today. I probably should have given him MC instead of HC...but I always chicken out and go straight for HC. lol

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.

the part in bold doesnt only apply to long term diabetics does it?
 
No, it doesn't only pertain to long term diabetics, but Crushy has only been doing this dance about 10 weeks and only "failed" one reduction so far...the one from 1.75 down to 1.5 from 10/10 to 10/13...and was only given the 1.5 for 6 doses...the minimum time frame for seeing if a new dose is going to work or not (so I wouldn't be sure he "failed" that one or it just wasn't given enough time)

China had failed multiple reductions before I went to the more aggressive approach of waiting for her to drop below 50 on 3 separate cycles or shaving doses

In the end, you hold the syringe, so it's your decision....if it were China, I'd try the
if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
but I have a lot of experience with her failing reductions too
 
IMHO, I would not reduce the dose tonight and I would not start shaving doses. And I also wouldn't start letting him go between 40-50 three times before reducing. That's just my opinion because not only is he newly dx but he really hasn't been on insulin very long.

I think Jamie is right that this is likely depot AND he's clearing the bounce which often results in a little bit more activity and lower numbers for some cats.

Good catch on the number!
 
It's up to you. I think the numbers you got today were partly from the depot of the 1.50 dose.
You are really good at testing. If it were me and I was able to test like you do, I would stick with the 1.25 dose for a bit and see how Crushy does with it.
It is your decision. You're doing a great job with Crushy.
 
Chris & China said:
No, it doesn't only pertain to long term diabetics, but Crushy has only been doing this dance about 10 weeks and only "failed" one reduction so far...the one from 1.75 down to 1.5 from 10/10 to 10/13...and was only given the 1.5 for 6 doses...the minimum time frame for seeing if a new dose is going to work or not (so I wouldn't be sure he "failed" that one or it just wasn't given enough time)

yea I got impatient there. I thought for sure that dose had failed. but maybe not.....
 
thanks Dyana and Marje!

for the record Im not planning on letting him go between 40 and 50 on three occasions before reducing. He's been going down the ladder pretty good lately so no point in that really (besides your right I dont think Im experienced enough)
 
yea I got impatient there. I thought for sure that dose had failed. but maybe not.....

Yeah, it's hard on us beans who want them to be healed yesterday...but that's why we have a good supply of patience pants. Hike them up a little higher Michelle....LOL

Pick a color you like :-D

images
 
oh I need to hike them up and plaster them on permanently!
Ill take the blue ones...no no Green!! ;-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top