? 10/21 - Bub PMPS 406, +2 444, +4 404, AMPS 333 Should I change dose?4

Alli and Bub

Member Since 2022
Yesterday

Tested at 333 this morning and I'm nervous that giving a full 3u will have his nadir be at less than 150 when its time for his next shot since that has happened twice previously. Should I reduce to 2.75 this morning? Or just do 3u and figure out what to do later if he does go low?

So stressed...
 
A nadir at 150 or thereabouts is still higher than the normal range of blood sugar which is 50-100 mg/dl on a human meter.

He has not earned a reduction, so I would stay with 3U.

Does he get food during the day/ night or only with the shot?
 
He only eats at about 7am and 7pm. I'm gone for work between those times so I just feed him when I get home.

He's new to lower numbers which is why I'm nervous. His nadir happens at his PM shot time and I afraid that giving his 3u PM injection will make him go too low... Vet said to give 3u anyways but my anxiety is through the roof
 
His numbers will drop without food. Lantus is a long acting insulin which starts lowering the BG (onset) around 2 hours after giving the shot and continues for anywhere from 4 hours after the shot to the end of the cycle .

Is there anyone at home who can feed him when you are at work? Most of us feed many small meals through the day and night. It keeps the cat happy, is easy on the pancreas and also helps prevent their blood sugar from diving.
 
Yes, but bc of his IBD hes on z/d at the moment which is high in carbs. Still looking into possible novel protein alternatives. I do have z/d dry i can possibly give him during the day but I know dry food is frowned upon.
 
Do ppl usually feed like 4 small meals or 2 big meals with snacks? Before he was diagnosed I had the dry feeder to do 2 of the 4 small meals and would feed wet when I was home. I should look into new feeders haha feels like I need to buy them new everything lately!
 
Back
Top