? 10/21 Booger PMPS 111, +2 60

Booger's Mom

Member Since 2018
I have not posted in a few days. Booger didn't finish his food at meal time as usual bc he was more concerned with my other cats in the kitchen eating dry food. I feed him in the bathroom so he can't get to the dry food when its down and my other cats can't take over and eat his food. He dropped to 60 at +2 so does this warrant a reduction? He is currently getting 1.75 units. I'm not sure if it does or not as he seems to bounce high after a reduction and them drop down. Please help @Gill & George if you are available or anyone else that is online. Thanks!
 
does this warrant a reduction?

Since you're using the AlphaTrak, yes it does!!...Anytime a new diabetic (under a year) drops below 68 on the AT, they earn a reduction

I'm not sure if it does or not as he seems to bounce high after a reduction and them drop down.

He's probably not bouncing high due to the reduced dose, but because he dropped low enough to earn a reduction

Cats bounce from 1. dropping too low, 2. dropping too quickly, 3. dropping into numbers their body just isn't used to anymore (or any combination of all 3)

The liver releases stored sugars and hormones to bring them up quickly....and it can take up to 3 days for those hormones and sugars to clear the body.

So on his next cycle, he drops down to 1.5 unit....Congrats on the reduction!!

Now there is one other option...IF he bounces super high by the next shot time, you can do what we call "shoot through the bounce".....that means giving the 1.75U dose ONE more time to help get the blood glucose heading in the right direction.
 
Since you're using the AlphaTrak, yes it does!!...Anytime a new diabetic (under a year) drops below 68 on the AT, they earn a reduction



He's probably not bouncing high due to the reduced dose, but because he dropped low enough to earn a reduction

Cats bounce from 1. dropping too low, 2. dropping too quickly, 3. dropping into numbers their body just isn't used to anymore (or any combination of all 3)

The liver releases stored sugars and hormones to bring them up quickly....and it can take up to 3 days for those hormones and sugars to clear the body.

So on his next cycle, he drops down to 1.5 unit....Congrats on the reduction!!

Now there is one other option...IF he bounces super high by the next shot time, you can do what we call "shoot through the bounce".....that means giving the 1.75U dose ONE more time to help get the blood glucose heading in the right direction.
Thank you!
 
Hope he stayed up, I see he came up to 70 .

When you give them HC they can come up initially but then drop back down when it wears off. We like to be sure that they are still rising or safe two hours after the last HC, that's how long it can take for the carbs to wear off.
 
Back
Top