10/21 Bea BG 300s - weird curve

Kirsten ACG

Member Since 2021
After her last vet visit 10/7, the vet told me Bea’s frustosamine indicated that that she is having prolonged hypoglycemia and to drop her from 3 units am and pm to 3 units am and 2.5 units pm (because she takes a lower dose of her steroid in the pm) and to leave food out for her overnight. I went with 2.75 units twice per day and just today was able to do a curve. The numbers surprised me given her recent amps and PMPS and the numbers I’ve gotten here and there the last few days. Could she be bouncing from a drop overnight? What should I do? I was going to keep the dose and maybe do another curve in a few days in case something weird caused today’s numbers. Thoughts?
 
Probably bouncing from however low she went last night. Many cats go lower at night, so we strongly recommend getting a test before bed too.

Today was just high and flat, looks like a bounce.
 
Probably bouncing from however low she went last night. Many cats go lower at night, so we strongly recommend getting a test before bed too.

Today was just high and flat, looks like a bounce.
Thanks. I can get before bed tests but that’s a +3. When I do get those, they aren’t alarming and don’t seem to indicate she’s dropping too much or going to drop a lot. So, I don’t know
 
Thanks. I can get before bed tests but that’s a +3. When I do get those, they aren’t alarming and don’t seem to indicate she’s dropping too much or going to drop a lot. So, I don’t know
You should take a look at my spreadsheet and some of the others here. Every test, every number you give us tells us a lot. It’s about looking at trends rather than static numbers. You haven’t tested enough at night to know that they don’t tell you anything. We want to know how low a dose is taking your cat. The fructosamine test is telling you loads about the numbers you’re not catching. Tests at +2 and +4 at night would be most helpful.
 
You should take a look at my spreadsheet and some of the others here. Every test, every number you give us tells us a lot. It’s about looking at trends rather than static numbers. You haven’t tested enough at night to know that they don’t tell you anything. We want to know how low a dose is taking your cat. The fructosamine test is telling you loads about the numbers you’re not catching. Tests at +2 and +4 at night would be most helpful.
Okay, thank you!
 
For your reference, 285 is in the normal range for a cat not on insulin: Reference Ranges for Fructosamine Test

A +3 is an excellent test to get at night. That'll give us lots of info as to what is happening at night. And if you see a big drop from PMPS to +3, that'll be an active cycle, so I'd leave extra food out so she can keep herself safe.
 
Back
Top