10/21/14 Peteys' amps-378

Status
Not open for further replies.

heidilynn823

Member Since 2014
Thanks for everyones' support! See, his #'s are back up. Not sure yesterdays numbers in the green were too accurate. I will test again before I leave for work.
 
Hi Heidi!

Great job - you got a new thread going! Here's your last post.

I think the green was definitely accurate. In fact, if you look the night before, on 10/19, Petey had a blue 136 at pm+3. He was likely going down from there, resulting in that green 95 at amps. That cycle is what has caused him to jump up and be in the high numbers since then. He probably spent the 9 hours in between those two tests in that range. His body reacted to it by letting loose a flood of counter-regulatory hormones and stored sugars, sending him back into the 300's. It may last as long as Wednesday evening. But sometime between now and Wednesday evening, that bounce is going to clear, and he's going to get back into green or blue numbers again. It would be great if you can make sure and get some mid-cycle tests in today, tonight, and tomorrow, so you can catch when that happens.

One reason that is important is that he may head below 50 and you may need to give him carbs to pull him back up over 50.

The second reason that is important is that he may need to have his dose reduced, depending on how low he goes when the bounce clears.

Don't increase his dose at this point. Even if he goes higher than the 300's, he doesn't need more insulin. We now know that the 4.25u can get him under 100 - and that's very important to know. Just stick with the 4.25u per shot and let's see what happens when the bounce clears. You don't increase the dose based upon high preshots, or high numbers in the cycle. You look for how low a dose takes him and decide based upon that if he needs more or less insulin. Right now, the most important bit of data we could see is how low he gets when this bounce clears.

The more time he spends in that normal range the more his body will accept it as normal. As that happens, the bouncing will lessen and in many cats, will stop.

Have a great day! See you later, julie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top