Re: 10/20 Toby's AMS=391+6=312 PMS=423
Hi there
It's good to hear you are observing improvements - Toby gaining back lost weight, his fur becoming soft and shiny once again. . .
And fabulous to hear you are checking for ketones daily. All kitties whose BG is not yet regulated should be checked for ketones daily.
My $0.02-
Regarding using R, BK would not be alive today had I not used it - no doubt about it.
Although you wouldn't know it by looking at the first 9 months or so of BKs ss, I'm quite conservative in my opinion that it be used only for specific conditions.
It is a great tool however it is also a double edged sword.
It's an absolute must to have on hand for a ketone prone kitty. Based on Toby having a recent history of ketones I'm glad to know you have it in the fridge.
A furshot could tip things in the wrong direction for a ketone prone kitty. Giving R under those circumstances can keep him safe.
It also is a useful tool for keeping kitties diagnosed with a high dose condition in safe numbers.
Now Toby is definitely in high dose territory, however we don't' know why. Each high dose condition treatment strategy differs, and even with a firm diagnosis strategy can differ based on test result - R dosing for a kitty with an an IAA result of 84% will not be the same as one with a result of 35%.
Having a proper diagnosis based on testing specifically for known high dose conditions allows you to employ the best dosing strategy.
Some folks have used R to keep a ceiling on bounces. For the very experienced (long term) CGs who have learned and know their kittys patterns this can be useful.
For a new CG trying to find the right L dose (the first phase of treatment) unless there is a ketone crisis I'm not a fan of using R for bounces. It adds an extra layer of complexity to the daily routine. One that requires vigilance in the form of more frequent testing.
Over the years I've seen CGs seduced by it's ability to quickly shoot down a high number, end up caught in an endless loop of ups and downs.
It goes like this - See a high number, grab some R - then kitty goes too low, an ugly bounce results - shoot it down with some R and the whole cycle repeats.
Getting off of this self made 'R roller coaster' can be emotionally rough.
I recommend getting Toby tested for IAA and Acro. While you wait for the results, keep going up the dosing ladder with the L according to protocol and keep on the lookout for ketones.
Again - this is my $0.02 only, based on my experiences.