10/20 Teronto PMPS 423

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teronto and Pauline

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's

Morning Everyone.

I've been up for a little while now reflecting on the last few days trying to take some positive out of all of it.

So What Have I Learned?

1. My Mr. Teronto LOVES me and I LOVE him. cat_pet_icon It takes a SPECIAL kinda of person to do what we do on a day in, day out basis. My hat is off to all of you who have been dealing with FD for years, months, weeks, or days. YOU ARE SPECIAL!! SO PAT YOURSELF ON THE BACK!!

2. Teronto is not a normal FD Sandbox Player. He marches to the beat of his own drum and I follow. dancing_cat

3. HYPO KITS ARE A MUST!!!! And For any Newbie reading this buy everything on the that list. Even if you think "My cat won't need this." buy it any how. **NOTE TO SELF** Go to store today and stock up on FF Gravy Lovers canned wet food.

4. Try to Remain calm and for god's sake BREATH.


So anyways, Mr. T and Son are in cahoots today, I think. Son left the lid off of the dry dog food and I'm pretty sure he got into it this morning. I guess we will know for sure when his numbers come in later. SO NOT IMPRESSED! And Son and I had another talk about being more careful. I also suspect that the Friskies might not be out of his system yet. Which by the way when I gave him the friskies last night he sniffed, looked up at me with pure adoration and a look of "Really, for ME!" and proceeded to gobble every kibble down.I think my cat is a Kibble Addict and we might need a 12 step program!

I managed a to get some sleep. Not the drool on my pillow sleep, but sleep none the less. I'll probably be taking a nap here soon. After which I'll try to get some studing done since we are in a safe zone at the moment. Perfect time. I'll update the SS as we go.

Thank you EVERYONE who has been here for me and Teronto, especially the last few days. This place is amazing!
 
Re: 10/20 Teronto AMBG 310 +4 285

ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile My fault entirely. I thought the dry food was banned and you were giving him Friskies HC canned. I should have asked.

When you said all you had was Friskies, I thought perhaps he didn't like it so I suggested the FF gravy lovers. So I will take full responsibility for him getting dry food. I read back through your condo last night but didn't catch that you had Friskies dry so I'm sorry. Shame on me!

I think you should throw the dry food out ;-) ;-) :-D :-D :-D It has no place in Teronto's future :-D

I think your observations in your first post were very astute and I know you love your boy oodles and oodles.
 
Re: 10/20 Teronto AMBG 310 +4 285

There are several reason we are so anti-dry. The first and foremost is that it takes a while to have an effect. When you have low numbers like you did the other day, you want something that will act quickly to get numbers up. Dry food does not fit the need. Dry also hangs around in your cat's system for longer than you'd like. While contraband may be contributing to Teronto's numbers today, so is the dry food from last night. Add all of that to the ingredients and it's a less than desirable addition to any cat's diet. I'm not sure that any of us ever mentioned that your supplies should include canned, HC food!

I'm glad you stocked up on a HC canned food.
 
Re: 10/20 Teronto AMBG 310 +4 285

No worries Marje. You're probably Teronto's Favorite FDMD Auntie right now. He got a taste of Kittie Crack and you know he loves Friskies. And I think we were pretty tired last night. :YMHUG:

Just for clarification DRY FOOD IS BANNED. It's out in the garage but we haven't thrown it away yet. But now that I have the RIGHT food for emergencies, out the door it goes.

Overall his numbers might look bad but he's not climbing the ladder as fast as I thought he would. I'm kinda tempted to not give him a shot tonight and see if he can come down on his own after all the crap gets outta his system. But then my question would be just how long will that stuff hang around?

We've just been hanging out on the couch cuddling today being potato's and cat napping off and on. Today I'm just taking everything in stride and soaking up all the information, mishaps and learning lessons. If I stumble along the way it's okay as long as I learn from my mistakes and not do it again.

I feel better today about all of this then I have since it all started. Amazing what some sleep will do for ya. :-D
 
Re: 10/20 Teronto AMBG 310 +4 285

well, add me to the list of those who didn't catch friskies being a dry food. i had no idea friskies came in kibble form! i'm glad you're getting rid of it.

happy to hear you're feeling rested. the last few days have been intense! it's important to recharge your batteries.

i have mixed emotions about skipping the shot tonight. teronto has shown he has the ability to drop from high numbers, but this time it's a little different. we're dealing with a carb induced high on top of a skipped (and reduced) dose. my gut tells me he'll need some help to counteract the carbs he's eaten so shooting makes sense. even a low dose like 0.1u would help.

on the other hand, i can't guarantee a stress free night if the effects of the carbs wears off tonight. see the thing is, we have no way of knowing when the effects from the carbs will clear his body. generally speaking, we figure it takes about 3 days for the effects of dry to clear when we're talking about kibble fed kitties.

ultimately, the decision is yours to make. if i were in your shoes i would shoot 0.1u and monitor for the first few hours in case the carbs clear his body tonight... unless he were to drop by at least 50% between now and shot time.

just my thoughts...
 
Re: 10/20 Teronto AMBG 310 +4 285

JILL! A piece of the puzzle, if what you're saying is true about 3 days!! ohmygod_smile

If you look at his SS I started him on a STRICT Wellness canned wet food diet on the evening of the 7th (I highlighted it in purple). Before that he was on a free feed Friskis Seafood Sensation (Dry Kibble) diet. And you know that means I have no clue how much he was really eating. But it took about 3 1/2 days after the diet change for him to get his first recorded BLUE and the next morning his first GREEN! 7 days after diet change for him to dip down to 40. Wow! I feel like I just found a million BUCKS!
 
Re: 10/20 Teronto AMBG 310 +4 285

Well, Teronto is a kibble addict, huh? Poor baby. Going through withdrawals. :smile:

Pauline. I totally get the whole being prepared thing. Yep, I had my hypo-kit list made and planned to go shopping over the weekend. Well....Fur Ball decided to take a dive on a Thur so we had to punt. YeeeGads. That was an experience.

Have a great night.
Karen
 
Re: 10/20 Teronto AMBG 310 +4 285

It's the first time I've felt any kind of excitment over this whole thing. :-D

How's Shadow doing on her trial? I'm really happy for both of you. Teronto and I are rooting for her.
 
Re: 10/20 Teronto AMBG 310 +4 285

Jill & Alex said:
i have mixed emotions about skipping the shot tonight. teronto has shown he has the ability to drop from high numbers, but this time it's a little different. we're dealing with a carb induced high on top of a skipped (and reduced) dose. my gut tells me he'll need some help to counteract the carbs he's eaten so shooting makes sense. even a low dose like 0.1u would help.
I agree with Jill that I think he will probably need some help to combat the carbs and the effect from the skipped shot. 0.1u would be my choice, if you're able to monitor tonight. Your call, though. You have had quite a week and I'm sure you're exhausted.

I am actually very impressed that you are still trying to learn, even though Teronto is moving so fast. When I was just a few weeks into Lucy's journey, I was still too overwhelmed to try to really understand what was happening. That came a lot later, for me.
 
Re: 10/20 Teronto AMBG 310 +4 285

That's just me. I LOVE puzzles and trying to fit things together. The accountant in me likes black and white puzzles and Teronto is clearly not black and white even if he does have tiny patches of white fur he hides from the world. :lol: Plus I promised Teronto I'd become an expert on FD. If nothing else and expert on Teronto.

You're probably right. .10 unit tonight should help him clear the crap out. I'm just afraid he'll dive on me again. Like he always seems to do and that I will have to fill him with more crap just to keep him safe. It's a tight rope I feel like I'm always walking with him whenever it's shot time.
 
I'm totally ruining my rep this week. First I had to tell Lisa to give Leo KARO just after I told her the night before NO KARO. And then I tell you to give Teronto Friskies....liberally. Sheesh!!! Just make up your mind, Marje :oops: :oops: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I also was not aware Friskies was dry. I don't even know where to buy it! I'm glad it has moved to the garage but one more step into the garage trash would make me feel so much better ;-) ;-) :razz: :razz: :razz:

Hope the .1u will help with those carbs.

Nighty night....looks like a good night for you to sleep.
 
Maybe...Maybe not. +3 is 128....Might be another long night of me being a worry wart. Looks like he's deciding .10 u is not for him...shesh this cat! He sure likes to chew through the insulin.

At least if he goes low I'm better able to deal. :-D
 
I see a beautiful blue surf last night. :smile:

Can you do us a favor and post your number at AMPS before you shoot anything? And I've lost track of what time you're shooting now, but a +11 would help if that time hasn't already passed (I think it probably has, and if so that's ok).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top