10/20 punkin pmps 195 +3/103 +4/78 +4.75/63 5.5/66 +6/64

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Member Since 2011
yesterday

we're waiting for one of these dose increases to bring his BG down a tad! good grief - gone up 1.5 units in 8 days and he's still in the same range of BG numbers. i guess i should be happy he's not higher.

punkin did the 'purr while you eat' thing this morning. purr purr nom nom nom purrr purrrrrrr . . . too funny. we're off to meet the new vet at 1 today. i'm going to work on his coat a bit more this morning - he hasn't been cooperating and i confess i haven't sat on him and just done it. his hair is just so icky, despite me giving him a bath a couple of weeks ago and using those pet wipes on him.

he's done with breakfast and has just parked and started grooming anya. now why won't he wash himself!?! silly kitter.
 
Re: 10/20 punkin amps 235

Punkin, you are so cute, running your motor while you eat and grooming Anya. If those BG numbers could come down, that would be great. I can understand why it's hard to groom him - he's a big cat with a lot of hair! Not a trivial task. Good luck at the vet. We want to hear the report.
Liz
 
Re: 10/20 punkin amps 235

Hi guys .. Punkin, did you hear? You better start groooomin yerself or yer beanz is gonna sit on you :shock: Good luck with the new vet today!
 
Re: 10/20 punkin amps 235

Checkin in on you and your boy. I'm afraid I'm behind - you are going to a new vet??? I hope all is going ok? Any changes noted since going for SRT? Still sounds tho like he is a most handsome boy and doing great overall!

xxx
patti
 
Re: 10/20 punkin amps 235

I'm catching up too, come on down Punkin. Do you want more juice again?!!! good luck w/ the new vet.
 
Re: 10/20 punkin amps 235

Hope your visit with the new vet went well!
You mentioned in one post to us, about lethargy and numbers.....Missy is feeling better...actually played a bit this morning...and her numbers are better today. I think she is reponding to the dose increase. Yay! So nice when they are feeling good....
 
Re: 10/20 punkin amps 235

julie & punkin said:
he's done with breakfast and has just parked and started grooming anya. now why won't he wash himself!?! silly kitter.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

good luck at the vet, Punkster!
 
Re: 10/20 punkin amps 235

It sounds to me like Anya needs to do some reciprocating here...I lick your back if you lick mine kinda thing!!!

Hope you've been well, Julie. It's been far too long since I've visited Punkin's condo!!!
 
Re: 10/20 punkin amps 235 +6/132 pmps 195 new vet visit

good news on the new vet - hehe she did a one month study at CSU's vet school. i like her and think we'll stay there and see how it goes. she's probably 30's, she didn't know anything about acromegaly but said she'd be reading up on it. never had an acro cat before, but she does own 2 diabetic cats. she doesn't follow the Rand protocol, but knew of it, and perhaps i'll be able to win her over to the dark side. :-D i'm surely a fan of it.

we had a good conversation about pain - she thought it very possible that punkin's not wanting to be held and not grooming could be pain related. we ended up with a 10 day run of oral bupe that you let absorb through their gums that we'll start using tonight. she thought the cosequin was a good idea - i had decided to wait on that since we were starting new with her and i didn't want to start something just before going to see her. she said gabapentin is best for nerve-related pain and if the bupe didn't work we could talk about it. i also asked about tramadol & she told me a bit about it. so i felt like she knew all the right stuff that i would want a vet to know about - i know the acro is going to be unknown to most vets, and that's ok.

she also did a nice thorough exam of him, including checking his blood pressure and his vision. his vision may be a little compromised because his pupils still remain dilated - so they've basically been that way with the exception of a few hours here and there for more than a month. other than that, everything was good.

when she volunteered that she'd be reading up on acromegaly over the weekend i asked her if she'd like me to email her some veterinary research articles and she was very enthusiastic about that.

so . . . we've started the cosequin and the bupe and will see how it goes.

and punkin was one cool cat at the office. i had him on the leash and harness and he explored the place and didn't seem nervous at all. it was actually much calmer than our previous vet's office where there were always dogs there. i think it helped that this waiting room was larger and more spread out.

his numbers have been pretty great today - i'm happy about that.
 
Re: 10/20 punkin amps 235 +6/132 pmps 195 new vet visit

Sounds like you may have found a keeper in your new vet!! Punkin is looking really nice with his numbers today!!
 
Re: 10/20 punkin amps 235 +6/132 pmps 195 new vet visit

This sounds like a good vet - someone who's interested and didn't get all bent out of shape when you offered to send along articles!
 
Re: 10/20 punkin amps 235 +6/132 pmps 195 new vet visit

oh yeah, and i also asked her about whether or not i should let him gain some weight. he's just under 14 lbs - and has been stable there for a while. she said he's just about right, perhaps on the low-medium side of a normal healthy range. she said with the fact that he's older and possibly having some joint pain that more weight is that much harder on his joints. she felt like he was at a good weight and i should keep him there.

i was also glad to hear that, because i wasn't certain if he was a little skinny.
 
Re: 10/20 punkin amps 235 +6/132 pmps 195 new vet visit

Wonderful report for Punkin! The vet does indeed sound like a keeper! Glad to hear she is so open minded and willing to learn. Hope you guys have a great night... and that Anya gets Punkin all sparklin clean! :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 10/20 punkin amps 235 +6/132 pmps 195 new vet visit

Thanks for the vet report. Sounds like someone you can work with. Cool that she's going to read up on acro. Did you send her the CSU presentation?

Great numbers for Mr. Punkin today. Keep it up, big guy!

Zener LOVES the pill pockets! I gave him a "blank" after his poke this afternoon to see if he liked it and he gobbled it down. Not quite a fast as Punkin but pretty darn close. :lol: So then we gave him 2 more in the evening with his zobaline and Pepcid. Worked like a charm. So much more pleasant than that nasty piller. Thank you for posting the video, that really helped to get us motivated to try them.
Liz
 
Re: 10/20 punkin amps 235 +6/132 pmps 195 new vet visit

The new vet sounds just fine. I like that she took so much time with Punkin and that she put you and him at ease. Good report, Julie. Now, Punkin, feel better. No more pain! We want you to groom more!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/20 punkin amps 235 +6/132 pmps 195 +3/103 new vet vis

now the question is - did his BG drop because of the bupe's action, because he's been in pain and it relieved it, or because of the increase in insulin?
 
Re: 10/20 punkin pmps 195 +3/103 question on bupe?

good question... and i wish i had the answer.
this is the 4th cycle @ 14u so it could be the insulin. otoh, if punkin was in pain... pain causes stress and stress is known to increase BGs.
could be a combination of both insulin and bupe.

in any case, you'll want to keep an eye on numbers. if bupe is relieving pain you may be looking at a reduction very, very soon.
 
Re: 10/20 punkin pmps 195 +3/103 question on bupe?

thanks for the quick answer - i'm thinking it looks like i'll be staying up tonight to check on him.
 
Re: 10/20 punkin pmps 195 +3/103 +4/78

hmmm - i'm not sure what to do about morning. reduce the dose of bupe (.2ml, i think. .2 something) or tinker with the lantus dose. guess i'll see how tonight goes.
 
Re: 10/20 punkin pmps 195 +3/103 +4/78

you know punkin better than i ever could so take what i have to say with a grain of salt...
i think what i would probably do is reduce the lantus dose first... in case he is in pain and needs the bupe to relieve any discomfort he may be feeling.
 
Re: 10/20 punkin pmps 195 +3/103 +4/78

Hey Julie... and Punkin!! :) The new vet sounds good. Definitely sounds like someone who will be good to work with. Nice numbers Punkin!!
 
Re: 10/20 punkin pmps 195 +3/103 +4/78

the DH is agreeing with you - the only thing i'm thinking is that punkin's seemed slightly over-dosed tonight. not too out of it, just not his usual self. the main thing is that he ALWAYS is clamoring for the next meal and he didn't even move out from under the coffee table at +3 when he gets his second dinner. he just looked at me, but no howling or begging, which is his usual plan for how to get dinner early.

when i called him he did come to get tested.

i'm thinking reduce the bupe by 25%, down to .15 and reduce the lantus .5 or so.
 
Re: 10/20 punkin pmps 195 +3/103 +4/78

it's not unusual to have to tinker with the bupe dose. 0.15ml of bupe knocks alex out... all she does is sleep.
bupe is kind of like insulin in that it's an ECID type thing.
see how the rest of the cycle goes. your plan sounds good.
 
Re: 10/20 punkin pmps 195 +3/103 +4/78 +4.5 63

down to 63; broke out the gravy food and gave him a half can of that. good thing he's a hoover - unless he's vomiting he never turns down food. so he's in punkin heaven - first an extra half can of the turkey and now a half can of the gravy food.

i think i'll drop him more like 1 unit on the lantus - let that shed drain a little bit.

i caught a video of him just now melted into the DH's hand and lap. he's purring up a storm and looks so happy. it made me think he may have been in pain. i'll post it to youtube (which will probably take an hour) and then share it here.

thanks for staying up late to give me advice, jill! i hope you don't have to get up early tomorrow! perhaps punkin is sensitive to the bupe like alex. i know everything that makes anyone else even slightly sleepy completely knocks me out.
 
Re: 10/20 punkin pmps 195 +3/103 +4/78 +4.5 63

What a cycle for Punkin! What is the cause of the pain, arthritis? The new vet sounds like a keeper. Great day all around!
 
Re: 10/20 punkin pmps 195 +3/103 +4/78 +4.75/63 5.5/66

who knows - the acro itself can be a cause of pain. nothing like trying to grow when you are done growing! could be arthritis, although he doesn't have obvious signs of it. i've been suspicious because he stopped wanting to be held - he used to live on my lap. if i sat down, he was on me. now he doesn't want to be held hardly at all.

in any case, he's cruising at 66 now - gave him more gravy. back to set another cell phone alarm. he's at +5.5. this bean's tired.

and ya know, i'm just not enchanted with jimmy fallon. :lol:
 
sorry, i crashed. i hope punkin came up easily from there.
i agree with you about taking the lantus dose down while you sort out his response to bupe. he very well could have been experiencing some pain/discomfort which would cause his numbers to run higher. i'm glad you were able to get it for him.
 
Sorry I haven't been posting lately. I love reading about Punkin. So glad you had such a great dialogue with the new vet. It sounds like she isn't an its my way or the highway bully. Great job on the bupe. If it is pain you'll see a big improvement. Don't forget the other things I mentioned about changing up the house to make it friendlier for him to avoid impacts from jumping and stuff. I can't remember if you replied about them or not. Give Punkin a belly rub from me.

Do you have a scale at home that you weigh him on? Since he is at ideal weight you might want to order a cheep shipping scale from ebay and weigh him every few weeks just to make sure he maintains his weight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top