10/20 Milo PMPS/385 Low this am then spiked

Status
Not open for further replies.

milo

Member Since 2011
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=54611
Everything went well with Milo's numbers last night and this morning his reading was 109 so I felt I didnt have enough data to shoot a full 1.25 but since my daughter would be home to test him today I was comfortable with the 1.00 unit. And of course he climbed like crazy! I for the life of me do not get why these numbers do what they do. I shot the 1.25 tonight and will hold this dose for at least 6 cycles and see what happens.
 
A bounce is what you referred to as a "spike." When a cat either drops into low numbers or there is a sizable and quick drop, the liver releases a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones as a way of protecting the body from low BG levels. In other words, the liver panics. As a result, numbers jump up. It can take up to 72 hours for the bounce to clear. The more time a cat spends in normal BG numbers, the less bounces will occur and the more quickly they will clear.

I suspect this happened because Milo's numbers went lower than the 134 last night. If I had to guess, I think the 109 at AMPS was a number on the rise.
 
Have you seen on the news when people go for Polar Bear Swims on New Year's Day in colder climates?
For some strange reason, lots of nutty people think it would be fun to dress up in weird outfits or just their swimsuits and they all run into the freezing water and then come running out, screaming about the cold?
That cold water is pretty shocking!

Now if you think of Milo, his numbers have been high for a long time and he has likely felt that those high numbers were normal. You come along and give him insulin to bring his numbers down to the real good numbers, but his body is saying yikes! wrong! and he bounces or goes back up to those 'normal' numbers that he is used to feeling.

If you put your shoes on the wrong feet, you'd notice right away and need to change back, right? Now what if you had worn them on the wrong feet for a long time and they had begun to feel that they were on the right feet. Someone comes along and tells you to switch them, but how would they feel?
Even though you have the shoes on the proper feet, they would feel 'wrong'.

Milo needs to stick his paw into those 'good' numbers and each time he gets to the good numbers, he will stay there a little bit longer. Give him time to adjust to those good numbers, and eventually the day will come when he stays in the good numbers.

Look for improvement in Milo, and in time, the numbers will follow.
 
Glad you didn't skip this AM. Bounces are part or the dance. You'll get a feel for them in time.
One important thing to remember about a bounce is that you want to avoid any dose increase until it has cleared.
If you don't the extra juice combined with the bounce clearing could sneak up on you and it will be PJ party time. ;-)

I'm feeling like Sienne, Milo probably saw some green last night and was on the rise. If you could manage to grab a +11 on a PM cycle or 2 it will fill in the picture even more.

Milo is looking good.
 
You will definitely get it! The more you test, the more comfortable you'll get with these normal numbers that are new to Milo. Milo is doing really well. You too! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top