10/20 Chigga PMPS~84, +5~105, PMPS 204

Status
Not open for further replies.
Based on the Tilly protocol Somogyi Rebound:

Be aware that experimental studies in human diabetics over the last 15-20 have rejected the existence of the Somogyi effect (sometimes also called rebound). In cats, no studies have ever been done which properly demonstrate that such a phenomenon exists. http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm

What they do recognize is a bit of 'panicky liver' and what many on the Lantus FDMB refer to as a bounce. They can last up to 72 hours from very low numbers. Many cats will clear them in less than 24 hours. Every cat is different.

I take the first 72 hours as simply monitoring the situation for any ongoing secondary "low drops."

Hold the dose for another few days. If Chigga can't hold the lower dose after that...based on the protocol return to the last good dose.

Phase 4: Reducing the dose

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.

If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose. Sometimes, a cat can even manage to keep its BGs low for a day or two, but then the BGs begin to rise again because the beta-cells haven't recovered enough yet. Try to go from 0.25 IU to a drop before stopping the insulin completely. Reducing the dose too quickly generally does not work: most cats do not go into remission with fast reductions.
 
Hi Erica....I think you mean AMPS=204 in your header, right?
Wondering whether she will be clear of the bounce by PMPS ....she is looking so good! :thumbup
 
Oh! You're right! I did mean AMPS~204. Thanks for pointing that out. And I hope she will be clear of the bounce... it was such a low drop on Monday night that I guess it really took off the next morning. I have a feeling she earned a dose reduction a day or so earlier but because I'm not home during the day and was missing some spot checks at night that I may have missed it. She did get a 49 a few days before the super low 36 but I guess I thought that was too close to 50 to truly earn the decrease since it hadn't been 7 days straight. Now I know better!
 
Ok....good that you know now then....give credit where credit is due... :razz:
and DOSECREASES to kitties who deserve them too! Yay Chigga! :RAHCAT
Hope she holds on to the new dose for you!
 
I know! Me too. She really is doing so much better and our ear pricking and shooting routine is as smooth as butter. I think she notices the connection with her feeling better and whatever the heck it is I'm doing to her so she allows things to be easy now. ;-)

If it wasn't for everyone on here I would be lost and my little Chiggabutt wouldn't be the happy little lady she is today.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top