10/20 Buddy AMPS 435 PMPS 341

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mad Scientist and Buddy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Morn!

In retrospect, I wish I had shot 0.75 last night to get high blues this morning after skipping yesterday morning. I probably would have still shot 0.5u this morning (and hold that dose) as there is no one home during the day in case he goes low. We'll see how he does on 0.5 again. Will shoot if he's in the blues, I believe that I have enough data here to safely shoot a high blue with 0.5.
4P's.

Tony
 
Re: 10/20 Buddy AMPS 425

PS. Buddy did me a favor by "roasting" himself on the radiator like he likes to before getting me up for food and AMPS. His ear was warm to the touch and bled with one poke. . .
 
Re: 10/20 Buddy AMPS 425

Morning Tony. Have you read anything about the insulin shed? The larger the dose, the larger the shed. The longer acting insulins stay in the system longer than the 12 hours...so there is an overlap also.
The shed is depleted when we do not give insulin for one cycle. The lack of insulin adds to the bounces as well as the liver's reaction to a new lower number.
Shooting the .5u last night and this morning was a good thing. Let's see how he dose on this dose. You can post if yo have a lower than usual AMPS and someone will be able to walk you through it. You have to feel comfortable and do whatever you feel is best for Buddy when you get a lower number. You can leave food out after shooting and maybe even give him a little higher carbs than usual if you are going to leave.
Select some MC foods (10%-17% carbs) on the Janet & Binky food chart and have them on hand as well as the HC gravy foods. Do you have karo syrup on hand too?

Any news on the timed feeder? Any time now, right?

Starred sticky at the top of the page: STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - INSULIN DEPOT -AKA- STORAGE SHED
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=150
 
Re: 10/20 Buddy AMPS 425

Thanks Angela!

Pat,

We'll see how he is on 0.5, last time at this dose he just crept up and up in numbers till I brought it down too quickly with 1 unit. We'll go with this for a while. My heart and head tell me that eventually, I may need to skip an AM dose, give the 0.75 PM (possibly enough to fill the shed and work on some glucose) and hold him at 0.5 for a week. Not ready to try this yet, but if after 4 -6 days at 0.5 and no improvement I may. At leas we'll be seeing a lot more data now that he is easier to get blood from. Still can't believe how much easier it is with the house warmer - least I learned that from Sunday.

Happy Blue and Green Surfing everyone!
Tony, Buddy, and Jadey-poo

Edit: The feeder has not yet been shipped - damn Amazon. They used to be soo good about things.
 
Re: 10/20 Buddy AMPS 425

There is a lot written on insulin absorption with warmth and exercise....but the ears do bleed so much better when they are warm. You are doing a great job tony...just keep on getting that data at night and on Sundays. It's good to alternate testing hours too ...so you can see what effect the food has on the BGs as well as what is happening 3-6 hours later.
How is it going with the dry food? hasn't gotten into any anymore, right?
 
Re: 10/20 Buddy AMPS 425

Tony & Buddy said:
My heart and head tell me that eventually, I may need to skip an AM dose, give the 0.75 PM (possibly enough to fill the shed and work on some glucose) and hold him at 0.5 for a week. Not ready to try this yet, but if after 4 -6 days at 0.5 and no improvement I may.

For the vast majority of cats, a once per day (SID) dose will not keep BG numbers where you want them. If you look at Buddy's numbers on 10/17, his levels are rising later in the cycle even with BID dosing. With shooting SID, you are constantly depleting the shed and encouraging bounces from lower numbers when you shoot and spikes to high numbers when you don't. One dose does not fill the shed. It can take several cycles. If you see high numbers on a dose, after 3 days the protocol suggests increasing - I wouldn't go to SID dosing. However, I'd encourage you to get more test data. Get spot checks during the days over the weekends and get as many tests in during the PM cycle as you can. The lowered dose will, hopefully, bring the overall level down and flatten out the curve so you won't need to skip shots.

Someone posted about a cat bed that is heated. Unless Buddy is a definite radiator cat, a heated bed might satisfy him and you're poking and you can keep your heating bills lower.
 
Re: 10/20 Buddy AMPS 425

Sienne,

As far as the heating bills, he likes the radiator and this time of year is when I usually start turning on the heat anyway. We keep it set at 68F so right now it doesn't run often, but keeps the house at a more constant temp - good for the Beans too. Buddy and Jade LOVE the radiator, they all have covers so don't worry about them getting too hot for the skin, keep the aquastat at 140 anyway so the water flowing through even in the dead of winter never goes above 150-160 (rarely goes this high)and usually not over the 140 - that coupled with the covers (air gap) protect the cats.
I was not suggesting a SID dosing schedule. Just possibly trying to repeat the data we saw PM of 10/18 to AM 10/19 but feel comfortable shooting in the morning with 0.5 and see where that takes us. Get him down a bit with 0.75 and hold him down with 0.5. Problem is, I am not comfortable shooting a 98 with 0.75 when I'm not going to be around to monitor him. The curve on Sunday didn't give us much info about how insulin is working in him except that he's a "bouncer" (when health he really is quite a strong cat). Just trying to get him into the low yellow's high blues and stop bouncing for now - again small wins.
As for PM dosing, my goal is 1-2 additional checks a night at varying times. I've gotten late cycle now, probably going to go for a +6 again tonight, hope the alarm wakes me up this time.

Tony

Edit: I have a full Hypo kit with gravy wet, karo, needle-less 1ml syringes (not leur lock) and 3 page instructions with local and emergency vet numbers and addy's on the top of the front page - hope I never have to use these, but I suppose it's not an if, but when situation.
Edit2: No chance of him getting any dry food. We keep the door closed even when she is not in there, pick up bowl when Jade is done and make sure she didn't leave any nuggets on the floor.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top