10/20 Boris just had a seizure

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patti and Merlin

Member Since 2009
OMG i am just shaking here! His number this am was 190. He's been doing good on 0.5 u lantus. I was sitting here catching up on posts and I heard a thud. He fell off counter in his bed and had a tonic/clonic seizure. I raced to get karo syrup on his gums. I got bit pretry bad but i don;t care. I couldn't test him tho as I was bleeding all over the place and I have to admit it hurt like hell. I held onto him for dear life and hopped in the car and raced to vet at end of the block. they checked his BG for me - it was 114. He was still dazed but already coming around. I was sooo scared. I never thought it could scare me so bad. I thought I was going to lose him - it reminded me of losing Merlin not that he had a seizure but just that limpness and I just couldn't lose Boris already. I'm still so scared. I just love this guy so much!

I'll keep testing him but don't know what to do later on this evening with a dose. I never had this happen before. I fed him some food now. and will keep checking. He's cleaning himself and I've cleaned up the mess I made. Have a call in to Dr for abx for me. I just want Boris to be alright!
 
I would have been scared to death as well great you live so close to your vet and were able to get in so soon mine is almost a hour away. no advice on dosing but just want to offer support and send healing vines his way so he gets better soon
 
man...how frightening! no advice here...just sending prayers and healing thoughts to boris with all our might.

celi & binks
 
OH Patti. My heart just stopped. Thank goodness you were so quick and you were together at home. OMG.
Boris. Is the vet sure it was due to low BG? I guess since the Karo made him recover, it must have been. Wow.

I'm so sorry. And so sorry you were hurt. Oh, gosh, I wish I didn't live so far away, I'd be over at your house right now.
 
(((((patti)))))
yes, continue testing him. continue with little bits of food in case his numbers drop again. use hc and/or karo as needed. he made need monitoring for several hours yet if the seizure was from low blood glucose.

abort the cycle. boris has nothing to prove. he'll definitely need a dose reduction if he was that low.
forget about a shot tonight. take care of him... and yourself, too.

i won't be online for the next few hours, but i'll be back for support asap.
 
What did the vet say about it all? You think the insulin caused him to go low?
If so, you could hold the insulin because I think kitties are more sensitive after going low, so if Boris is getting only .5u, I might hesitate in giving him any for awhile.

I hope others will be along with some good advice.

I am very glad he's back home, safe and sound, and cleaning himself up.
 
I'm very glad you were there.

Patti - If he was tested at 114 within a very short time of the seizure and with only a small amount of Karo, it's possible that it's not hypoglycemia. When my civvie, George, had a seizure my vet pointed out that there can be a great number of reasons for a seizure to occur. You probably should get Boris in to see your regular vet and get labs run and get him thoroughly checked out.

It is very scary to see a seizure - initially I thought George was dreaming but realized what was happening when he didn't rouse. You did great!
 
thanks everyone! I just so needed to talk to someone. all my friends are at work as well at Joe and no one is nearby who could help me. I'm still shaking.

I just love Boris and I'm so glad I was home. Ill keep testing him and keep everyone updated. thank you for being here for me. I'm so grateful for all of you!!!!

I'm not sure it was his sugar either. It seems like he's never gone THAT low. He's been in the 40's when we worked him down to 0.5u and he's done fine. But it was definitely a seizure. He was glassy eye - tonic/clonic and the teeth clenching. You could see him change at the vet. But yes - I think he needs another workup.

I'm still trying to get calmed down here,
 
((((((((((Patti)))))))))) you scared me. I can't imagine how you must have felt. I'm so thankful that you didn't lose Boris today. Wow.

Try to breathe. He is ok now and you will get to the bottom of what happened. For now, just try to concentrate on the fact that he is home.
 
(((Patti))) What a scare....but you did SO great! Now breathe and try to get yourself calm again with deep breaths. So glad you were home and acted quickly! Take care of that bite and please keep us updated on Boris' condition....Fast thinking...good job!! Healing vines being sent for dear (((Boris...)))
 
wow .. how scary! You did a great job taking care of your boy ... Make sure you take care of your hand so it doesn't get infected, and I'm sure this goes without saying ... but extra hugs and lovins for boris tonight!
 
Did his legs seem stiff when he was seizing? I know things were happening fast and crazy, but I wondered if you thought his legs seemed to act or look odd.
 
(((PATTI)))) Had a dog who had seizures and it is very upsetting & scary! Glad you were home & got him to the vet--Hope the vet can find out the reason & he can be well again!! Snowflake Blizzard to dear Boris!
 
Oh wow Patti! How terrifying! You acted so right, and so quickly - GOOD for YOU! I'm not sure I'd be thinking straight enough to do the right thing so fast. So glad he seems better now and that he's home with you. Hugs to you both.
 
Patti, you did a great job today. You kept your head even in that terrifying situation and Boris is ok because of you. Do get him checked out, and in the meantime, watch over him tonight.
Many hugs to you both,
Ella
 
Yes Carolyn - his legs were stretched stiffly out and he was kind arching back/forth n making little noises. His eyes were glazed over and he was gnashing his teeth. He seems ok now. ate dinner and is walking around. BG = 133. Ill hold his dose tonite. Maybe he needs to go to 0.25units now.

just picked up my abx (augmentin) and some acidophilus as the augmentin is so crummy for yeast too - yuck! And I think I'm gonna have a glass of wine too! and just sit and hug that boy of mine. Maybe he wanted to still be camping!

Again - I can't thank all of you enough for all your kind thoughts and words of encouragement, I don't know what I would do without all of you!
 
ohhh you are a true hero! and inspiration. Thank the heavens you were there and did everything right.

Purrs, thoughts and prayers coming your way tonight.
 
Hmmm....I put a post on here earlier but it's not here. Anyway, Patti, I know how terrifying that must have been and you'll probably be up late
watching him!! Pls be sure to watch your arm....you know all the bacteria in a cat's mouth and it can get bad quickly. Maybe take some of that AB :lol:
We hope you both have a peaceful, restful night. Healing vines to Boris.
 
(((((Patti))))) OMG this must have been so scary… on 0.5U wow..

Hope you and Boris are doing fine tonight… and you can get some rest...

Give him lots of hugs… cat_pet_icon
 
Wow this is a frightening experience to have to go through. I'm glad Boris recovered well after. I agree with Sienne. In the mean time besides your antibiiotics please try to put some ice packs for 15 mins aach hour when your awake and elevate your hand above your heart to help reduce swelling..

I hope you feel better bites in the hand can be bad. Healing vines to both of you.
 
Patti,

That must have been so frightening. I too was questioning if the seizure was from low bg or something else. I would have a blood panel done to check him out. It could be from another cause. Make sure you tend to that hand. Cat bites can be very bad. I had to go to the er once. It swelled up like a baloon.

Sending healing vines to you and Boris.

[[[Patti and Boris]]]
 
Oh I know just how scary it is My civvie buster started having seizures several years ago. She still gets them on ocassion. You did an excellent job tsaking care of boris. One thing I learned is when buster comes out of it she is starving. same may be true for boris.

I do hope you get answers soon as to what may have caused this.
 
OMG, patti, i just saw this! how scary! i'm so glad he recovered and is all right. sorry about the bite but i wouldn't regret it either. he's your little guy!
hoping the vet figures out what is wrong and fixes him up for you.
don't think it was a hypo based on the numbers but glad he's okay now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top