10/20 Blaze amps 391 +8 273 +11 232 PMPS 217 +1 177 +2 80 +2.5 62 +3.25 64 +3.45 55 +4 77 +5 89

Ok good to know that he is still going down with LC. I would try some MC about 1tsp. And same thing, test in 20 mins or so

ETA: 30 mins as per Marje sounds good :)
 
Thank you.

Unless you have numbers in the 30s or below that you have to get up immediately with karo or other syrup or honey, you only want to test every 30 minutes. It takes food at least 30 minutes to affect the BG whereas it takes honey/karo only 15. If you have to give honey or karo for really low numbers, test every 15-20 minutes. For numbers like these where he’s basically flat now, feed and then wait 30 minutes to test.

I’d try a couple really good tsp of higher LC food if you have it and test in 30. If you need to get to bed soon, then give him a couple of good tsp of MC food and test in 30.
Okay sounds good. I’m sorry, today is day 1 on TR so it’s a whole new learning curve for me, and of course he goes low on his first day of us following TR. Thank you for letting me know! I can stay up for probably another hour so I will try some MC and test in 30.
 
Okay sounds good. I’m sorry, today is day 1 on TR so it’s a whole new learning curve for me, and of course he goes low on his first day of us following TR. Thank you for letting me know! I can stay up for probably another hour so I will try some MC and test in 30.
No apologies needed at all. It’s a learning experience so no criticism intended,

Whenever you see numbers coming down through the earlier cycle so the lowest number is at PS, it “can” be a precursor of an active subsequent cycle. Especially, if the +1 does not have a food spike, it’s really likely to be a busy cycle.

I’ll check back in in about 25 mins and wait for you.
 
Also, I don’t have anything 10-11% so I definitely need to get that. I haven’t had any luck finding 10-11% at Target or Walmart. I have LC food between 3-6%, and then I have (I guess it’s HC?) 14-16% and the highest carb I have is 20%. When I need MC, I mix a LC and HC. But I need to try petsmart or petco for some 10-11%.
 
No apologies needed at all. It’s a learning experience so no criticism intended,

Whenever you see numbers coming down through the earlier cycle so the lowest number is at PS, it “can” be a precursor of an active subsequent cycle. Especially, if the +1 does not have a food spike, it’s really likely to be a busy cycle.

I’ll check back in in about 25 mins and wait for you.
Thank you Marje, I appreciate the help. And @AmandaE too, for helping me tonight! I knew it was going to be active when the +1 was lower than the PS but I didn’t expect him to get this low tonight! I’m not surprised though, Blaze “plans” his low nights on work nights :rolleyes:

Sounds good, see you in 25!
 
Just a questions about food?

LC is up to 6%
A higher LC would be 8-11%
MC is 12-14%
HC is 15% and up?

I’m just guessing here, so please correct me where I’m wrong. I just want to make sure I get the correct higher LC and MC.
 
LC is below 10% carb
MC is 11 - 15%
HC is over 15%

For higher low carb I use 7-10%. But I also find that Friskies does a great job when Mowg is lower. FF Doesn’t do well for him since it’s mostly so low carb in the pates
 
LC is below 10% carb
MC is 11 - 15%
HC is over 15%

For higher low carb I use 7-10%. But I also find that Friskies does a great job when Mowg is lower. FF Doesn’t do well for him since it’s mostly so low carb in the pates
Thank you SO MUCH Amanda. I need to get some higher LC and some actual MC so I’m not mixing LC and HC. I have FF and Friskies pates but need to get more variety of carb %.
 
I guess my 14% and 15% FF that I have is MC. I’ve been thinking it was lower HC!
Someone literally sent me that to my inbox to straighten me out hahaha!

I’m sure you have but just in case: have you looked at Dr Lisa’s food list with the carb break down? It might help you with your shopping :)
 
Someone literally sent me that to my inbox to straighten me out hahaha!

I’m sure you have but just in case: have you looked at Dr Lisa’s food list with the carb break down? It might help you with your shopping :)
Yes! I look at it constantly but I’ve only been to target and Walmart and they haven’t had the carb % I thought I was looking for. I’m going to write some down so I know exactly what to get.
 
1.5 hours in midnight for me, I will be getting less than 5 hours of sleep on a work night, I don’t fall asleep fast and if I get up, I will have a hard time falling back asleep but I will try my best to wake up in 1.5 hours. I’ll set an alarm, hopefully I wake up :confused:

Going to give him some MC now. Should I put anything in the auto feeder? Or have him go the 1.5 hours without food to see if he comes back up?
 
1.5 hours in midnight for me, I will be getting less than 5 hours of sleep on a work night, I don’t fall asleep fast and if I get up, I will have a hard time falling back asleep but I will try my best to wake up in 1.5 hours. I’ll set an alarm, hopefully I wake up :confused:

Going to give him some MC now. Should I put anything in the auto feeder? Or have him go the 1.5 hours without food to see if he comes back up?
If you won’t be able to get up, or DH can’t, I’d leave food in the auto feeder. You will probably carb him up but that’s ok for safety. He’s not at nadir yet and so he could come back down; that’s why I suggested testing again.

It’s up to you. I was never able to go to sleep and stay that way unless Gracie was up a lot more but then I also learned to sleep/test as many of us learn to do.
 
If you won’t be able to get up, or DH can’t, I’d leave food in the auto feeder. You will probably carb him up but that’s ok for safety. He’s not at nadir yet and so he could come back down; that’s why I suggested testing again.

It’s up to you. I was never able to go to sleep and stay that way unless Gracie was up a lot more but then I also learned to sleep/test as many of us learn to do.
I will set an alarm for +5. I probably won’t be able to fall asleep anyways because I will be worried about Blaze. Should I not put anything in the auto feeder then?
 
I will set an alarm for +5. I probably won’t be able to fall asleep anyways because I will be worried about Blaze. Should I not put anything in the auto feeder then?
If you are going to get up, don’t set up the feeder and then you can feed as you need to.

if you decide you can’t get up, I’d put food in the feeder.
 
If you are going to get up, don’t set up the feeder and then you can feed as you need to.

if you decide you can’t get up, I’d put food in the feeder.
Im going to test at +5 and go from there. I put MC food in the feeder for +5.25, in case the alarm doesn’t wake me up, to be safe.

I’m trying my best to do what I can to help Blaze, but I have to think about myself too and I know that I don’t function well on little sleep. I have to get up early and go to work Monday through Thursday and work with patients and I know that when I don’t get enough sleep, I mentally and physically suffer. I sometimes feel a little shamed here when I say I have to go to bed due to an early morning of work. I’m trying to do my best for Blaze but I’m no good to anyone if I’m not mentally and physically all there. I just am really trying my best to do all of this.
 
Im going to test at +5 and go from there. I put MC food in the feeder for +5.25, in case the alarm doesn’t wake me up, to be safe.

I’m trying my best to do what I can to help Blaze, but I have to think about myself too and I know that I don’t function well on little sleep. I have to get up early and go to work Monday through Thursday and work with patients and I know that when I don’t get enough sleep, I mentally and physically suffer. I sometimes feel a little shamed here when I say I have to go to bed due to an early morning of work. I’m trying to do my best for Blaze but I’m no good to anyone if I’m not mentally and physically all there. I just am really trying my best to do all of this.
(((Sarah))). I understand and I know you are. I also worked full-time the first year and I was always exhausted and that was with DH helping 50/50. I can’t imagine how hard it would be to function with patients. Plus, you have to take care of yourself or you aren’t doing him or anyone any good.

I hope you get some rest.
 
(((Sarah))). I understand and I know you are. I also worked full-time the first year and I was always exhausted and that was with DH helping 50/50. I can’t imagine how hard it would be to function with patients. Plus, you have to take care of yourself or you aren’t doing him or anyone any good.

I hope you get some rest.
I’m 29 years old (my 30th birthday is Thursday) so I have many many years of working full time as a dental hygienist, I’m no where near a time where I will be home more during the week/not having to wake up early for work unfortunately. I wish I were the kind of person who could function on little sleep, but I’m not, so I’m just doing the best I can to keep Blaze safe. I also don’t have 50/50 help from DH unfortunately, he does PMPS routine pretty frequently but that’s about it. It’s pretty much all on me so there are times when I have to load the auto feeder and go to bed.
I know everyone here wants Blaze to be safe, I want nothing more than that too. I love him so much. But I’m not the same as this person or that person and I have to do things that work for me. I hope that people want to continue to help me and give me advice, even if I have to draw the line and go to bed on work nights :(
 
I’m 29 years old (my 30th birthday is Thursday) so I have many many years of working full time as a dental hygienist, I’m no where near a time where I will be home more during the week/not having to wake up early for work unfortunately. I wish I were the kind of person who could function on little sleep, but I’m not, so I’m just doing the best I can to keep Blaze safe. I also don’t have 50/50 help from DH unfortunately, he does PMPS routine pretty frequently but that’s about it. It’s pretty much all on me so there are times when I have to load the auto feeder and go to bed.
I know everyone here wants Blaze to be safe, I want nothing more than that too. I love him so much. But I’m not the same as this person or that person and I have to do things that work for me. I hope that people want to continue to help me and give me advice, even if I have to draw the line and go to bed on work nights :(
No judgement here! No one here is trying to shame you that’s for sure, they’re just giving you the best advice that they have based on their experience. Try not to take it as as judgement or shame if at all possible, (easier said than done I know) it really is just members using their own personal experience and advice to try and help you out:bighug:

It’s tough but of course you have to do what is best for you. And soon, you will be a member who will be able to provide guidance to another member who can’t afford to lose sleep. You have a safety sensitive position that requires precision. Sleep is essential. It will be nice to figure out just what works for Blaze to get his numbers up so you don’t have to worry as much at night
 
No judgement here! No one here is trying to shame you that’s for sure, they’re just giving you the best advice that they have based on their experience. Try not to take it as as judgement or shame if at all possible, (easier said than done I know) it really is just members using their own personal experience and advice to try and help you out:bighug:

It’s tough but of course you have to do what is best for you. And soon, you will be a member who will be able to provide guidance to another member who can’t afford to lose sleep. You have a safety sensitive position that requires precision. Sleep is essential. It will be nice to figure out just what works for Blaze to get his numbers up so you don’t have to worry as much at night
I just hate to say, I can’t stay up any longer because I need to get to bed. It feels selfish. I wish Blaze would do these dives on the weekends when I’m willing to stay up much later than work days, but he always does this on work nights so I have to draw the line at some point when I need to go to bed. I appreciate you and Marje, and everyone here who has helped me and read my venting posts, like tonight:bighug:

Blaze seems to respond well to Mc and obviously Hc, so I usually feel comfortable leaving MC or HC in the auto feeder when I go to bed, which I will do tonight to be safe. I hate to carb him up but it seems like the only thing I can do on work nights when I can’t stay up any longer. If I wake up to use the bathroom, I will grab a test.

Thank you, again, Amanda and Marje. I could not get through this without you guys, and everyone else here who shares advice and information
and motivation or kind words. I’m truly lucky to have the help here.
 
You know Blaze best! Don’t punish yourself for doing what is best for you and Blaze, you have to take care of yourself as well :)

aborting the insulin cycle is always an option when you have to get to bed... it’s a good strategy. If you haven’t read the ‘is TR possible with a full time job.... yes!’ Article I recommend it. There are quite a few posts in there I found helpful.

Blaze! Listen up and surf safely tonight.

have a great sleep Sarah :)


ETA: no one here thinks your selfish for needing sleep! And Don’t you let yourself think that way about yourself. You’re doing so much more for Blaze than many other owners would do for their pet :)
 
I’m 29 years old (my 30th birthday is Thursday) so I have many many years of working full time as a dental hygienist, I’m no where near a time where I will be home more during the week/not having to wake up early for work unfortunately. I wish I were the kind of person who could function on little sleep, but I’m not, so I’m just doing the best I can to keep Blaze safe. I also don’t have 50/50 help from DH unfortunately, he does PMPS routine pretty frequently but that’s about it. It’s pretty much all on me so there are times when I have to load the auto feeder and go to bed.
I know everyone here wants Blaze to be safe, I want nothing more than that too. I love him so much. But I’m not the same as this person or that person and I have to do things that work for me. I hope that people want to continue to help me and give me advice, even if I have to draw the line and go to bed on work nights :(
Of course we will. We’ve had members over the years who couldn’t test at night at all due to their or a loved one’s health problems. It is what it is. Just like ECID, every person is different. And hey....I wouldn’t want an exhausted hygienist near my mouth with sharp objects:p

You know Blaze best. If he will happily eat from a feeder and MC works...go for it and grab sleep.

Never worry about people judging you here. I ask when I don’t know or remember....not to lay guilt but because I never asked or I forgot who works and who doesn’t.

It’s all good! Wow....30! A milestone birthday. Congrats!
 
You know Blaze best! Don’t punish yourself for doing what is best for you and Blaze, you have to take care of yourself as well :)

aborting the insulin cycle is always an option when you have to get to bed... it’s a good strategy. If you haven’t read the ‘is TR possible with a full time job.... yes!’ Article I recommend it. There are quite a few posts in there I found helpful.

Blaze! Listen up and surf safely tonight.

have a great sleep Sarah :)


ETA: no one here thinks your selfish for needing sleep! And Don’t you let yourself think that way about yourself. You’re doing so much more for Blaze than many other owners would do for their pet :)
I have read that post so many times! That is why I decided to give TR a try, because the post creator said she did TR on a minimum of four tests a day, and testing more when needed. She was at work all day, until almost PMPS like me, so it really made me feel like I could do this. And there was someone else who posted there that said sometimes she would have to abort the cycle to get to bed too, so that thread has been very helpful for me and gave me the confidence to give TR a try.

Just like Marje said, every cat is different and every person is different and I have to do what’s best for me sometimes too. I know there are going to be late nights (hopefully Blaze learns to do this on the weekends) and I’m just going to have to take this day by day. I’m still figuring it all out. I appreciate you’re help tonight Amanda! I’ve looked at Mowglis SS tonight, seems like he’s on a mission too. I hope he stays safe tonight and you get some rest too:bighug::)
 
Of course we will. We’ve had members over the years who couldn’t test at night at all due to their or a loved one’s health problems. It is what it is. Just like ECID, every person is different. And hey....I wouldn’t want an exhausted hygienist near my mouth with sharp objects:p

You know Blaze best. If he will happily eat from a feeder and MC works...go for it and grab sleep.

Never worry about people judging you here. I ask when I don’t know or remember....not to lay guilt but because I never asked or I forgot who works and who doesn’t.

It’s all good! Wow....30! A milestone birthday. Congrats!
I’m glad to know others who could not test late made this work. I’m willing to stay up late until I can’t, then I have to call it a night. Like I said to Amanda, Blaze needs to learn to go low on the weekends when I can stay up late! And I’m with you, I wouldn’t want some sleepy hygienist cleaning my teeth with sharp instruments either! I feel like a zombie after a late night with Blaze:confused:

Luckily, Blaze loves to eat and will eat any time food is offered or he hears the auto feeder. And he’s a good bully so he will push his way in front of his siblings if he wants that food, so I feel comfortable leaving food in the auto feeder for him. I’ve watched him a lot to see how he acts when the auto feeder turns for him and if one of his siblings tries to eat it.

and yes, 30th birthday this week! Thank you! I got married 4 weeks ago, we are working on adding to our house/renovating by next June hopefully, and then possibly trying to get pregnant next year. Lots of things to come m!
 
You did great last night!!

I'm one of those people who would stay up half the night to manage Gabby's numbers. Graduate school broke me of the need for sleep along with carrying a pager on off hours (which hasn't changed in decades). Like you, I have patients and by about 3:00 in the afternoon, I wasn't at my most alert!! We all do what we can because our kitties are the priority but we need to balance that priority with our own health.
 
OMG! Sarah! You and Blaze had quite a night! And yes, I swear these cats 'KNOW' exactly when the worst time to do all these shenanigans is..they plot and plan for the absolutely worst timing...

You did spectacular though! Let's hope he will not do this again on a 'work' night...

Sending lots of 'wakefulness' your way! :coffee::coffee::coffee::coffee::coffee:

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
You did great last night!!

I'm one of those people who would stay up half the night to manage Gabby's numbers. Graduate school broke me of the need for sleep along with carrying a pager on off hours (which hasn't changed in decades). Like you, I have patients and by about 3:00 in the afternoon, I wasn't at my most alert!! We all do what we can because our kitties are the priority but we need to balance that priority with our own health.
Thanks Sienne! I couldn’t done it without @Marje and Gracie and @AmandaE helping me and encouraging me.

I look at so many SS’s and see the people who can test all day and all night and have these great numbers, but I know that’s not possible for me and my work schedule and need for a decent amount of sleep. I hope I’m able to get Blaze into some better numbers with TR and with what I can do with my schedule. I’m going to give it my best effort but I have to know when it’s time for me to load the auto feeder and go to bed. After long nights, I am unalert and groggy for a few days, makes it hard to get through work. Thankfully there are so many helpful and encouraging people here to help me!:)
 
OMG! Sarah! You and Blaze had quite a night! And yes, I swear these cats 'KNOW' exactly when the worst time to do all these shenanigans is..they plot and plan for the absolutely worst timing...

You did spectacular though! Let's hope he will not do this again on a 'work' night...

Sending lots of 'wakefulness' your way! :coffee::coffee::coffee::coffee::coffee:

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
We had a busy night! Blaze lovesssss to keep me up on work night! He has yet to get into lower numbers on a night that I can stay up to monitor and test of course :eek:

I know we will have plenty more late nights, that’s the name of the game with FD! I just have to know my limits and know when it’s time to put food in the auto feeder and head to bed.

Thank you Sue, lots of coffee for me today!:coffee::bighug:
 
I’m glad to know others who could not test late made this work. I’m willing to stay up late until I can’t, then I have to call it a night. Like I said to Amanda, Blaze needs to learn to go low on the weekends when I can stay up late! And I’m with you, I wouldn’t want some sleepy hygienist cleaning my teeth with sharp instruments either! I feel like a zombie after a late night with Blaze:confused:

Luckily, Blaze loves to eat and will eat any time food is offered or he hears the auto feeder. And he’s a good bully so he will push his way in front of his siblings if he wants that food, so I feel comfortable leaving food in the auto feeder for him. I’ve watched him a lot to see how he acts when the auto feeder turns for him and if one of his siblings tries to eat it.

and yes, 30th birthday this week! Thank you! I got married 4 weeks ago, we are working on adding to our house/renovating by next June hopefully, and then possibly trying to get pregnant next year. Lots of things to come m!
Wow....two big events! Congrats on your marriage....how exciting. I wish you both a long, happy, joyous, loving marriage. Since I know you are tired, here is what the minister told Mike at our wedding, 35 years ago:

“It only takes these five, 3-word sentences to keep your wife happy for life”
1. it’s my fault
2. let’s eat out
3. You look beautiful
4. I’ll fix it
5. I love you

Sage advice :)
You did great last night and Blaze had a nice +5. Hope he gives you a break tonight.
 
Im going to test at +5 and go from there. I put MC food in the feeder for +5.25, in case the alarm doesn’t wake me up, to be safe.

I’m trying my best to do what I can to help Blaze, but I have to think about myself too and I know that I don’t function well on little sleep. I have to get up early and go to work Monday through Thursday and work with patients and I know that when I don’t get enough sleep, I mentally and physically suffer. I sometimes feel a little shamed here when I say I have to go to bed due to an early morning of work. I’m trying to do my best for Blaze but I’m no good to anyone if I’m not mentally and physically all there. I just am really trying my best to do all of this.
I am in the same boat. Thank you for saying this. I don’t gave patients, but I have students and faculty underneath me. I’m learning self care has to fit in here somewhere
 
Sarah...you are doing an amazing job with Blaze ! NEVER feel pressure or shamed because you take care of yourself , ever. I am at home all the time and don't have to go to a job , much less one as you have where you are responsible for patients. That said, I do my best for Elmo but not at the cost to my health and rest . You are no good to Blaze or anyone else if you are not first good to yourself . ❤️ You are truly amazing at all you do ❤️ Sending you prayers that your sleep is deep and extra restful tonight :bighug:
 
I am in the same boat. Thank you for saying this. I don’t gave patients, but I have students and faculty underneath me. I’m learning self care has to fit in here somewhere
Self care definitely has to fit in here. If we don’t take time for ourselves and to get much needed rest, we will be no good for helping our sugar cats or at work. It’s a real balancing act but I know I have to get sleep on work nights so I’m just doing the best I can for myself and for Blaze. And you’re doing the same for you and Yoshi! :bighug:
 
Sarah...you are doing an amazing job with Blaze ! NEVER feel pressure or shamed because you take care of yourself , ever. I am at home all the time and don't have to go to a job , much less one as you have where you are responsible for patients. That said, I do my best for Elmo but not at the cost to my health and rest . You are no good to Blaze or anyone else if you are not first good to yourself . ❤️ You are truly amazing at all you do ❤️ Sending you prayers that your sleep is deep and extra restful tonight :bighug:
Thank you Beth, your kind words always put a smile on my face:bighug:
 
Back
Top