10/20 Blaze amps 391 +8 273 +11 232 PMPS 217 +1 177 +2 80 +2.5 62 +3.25 64 +3.45 55 +4 77 +5 89

Sarah and Blaze

Member Since 2019
Good morning everyone!

Blaze’s amps is 391. He has been in the pinks and reds a lot lately so I’ve decided to give TR a try, so I can increase sooner than 7 days. Blaze was due for an increase on Tuesday but since I’m starting a TR trial as of today, I increased to 1.25U.

I hope I can do this TR thing! Probably going to need help from you guys!

Hope everyone has a great Sunday!:)
 
With TR, you evaluate the effectiveness of your dose every 3 - 5 days. From the dosing methods sticky:

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
Since you've just increased to 1.25u, I would think about evaluating the dose in 3 days. Blaze is not new to Lantus and you've seen some blue and green numbers.
 
With TR, you evaluate the effectiveness of your dose every 3 - 5 days. From the dosing methods sticky:

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • Increase by 0.25 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300.
  • Increase by 0.5 unit after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are greater than 300.
Since you've just increased to 1.25u, I would think about evaluating the dose in 3 days. Blaze is not new to Lantus and you've seen some blue and green numbers.

Okay sounds good, we will see where this dose takes him and evaluate in three days. Thank you Sienne!
 
You will be just fine. Don't think of it as a trial. It's just a different way of dosing Blaze. You will just see results a bit faster is all.
Thank you Paula! I’m ready to see some better numbers for Blaze. He’s so happy and playful and seems healthy, I want his blood sugar numbers to be good too!:)
 
What we typically suggest for someone who is new is to post and ask for help if you get a pre-shot that's 150 or lower. The goal you're aiming at is being comfortable shooting anything that is above 50. No one expects you to do that immediately, though. You want to work your way down to shooting low numbers. With Lantus, the mantra is, "Shoot low to stay low."
 
What we typically suggest for someone who is new is to post and ask for help if you get a pre-shot that's 150 or lower. The goal you're aiming at is being comfortable shooting anything that is above 50. No one expects you to do that immediately, though. You want to work your way down to shooting low numbers. With Lantus, the mantra is, "Shoot low to stay low."
I would be comfortable shooting under 150 if it were when I’m home and can monitor him, but I work Monday through Thursday and am gone all day, I leave around +1 in the morning and don’t get home until just before PMPS, sometimes I’m not home at 6:30pm and DH has to test/feed/shoot. On occasion I’m able to come home on my lunch, but not every day. I just want to be prepared in case I get a 150 or lower pre-shot on a work day. I’m not going to be able to stall too much on work days because I have to stay on schedule for work, especially on Thursdays because I start work at 7am on Thursdays so it will be impossible to stall on Thursday mornings.

If I encounter a pre shot of 150 or lower on a morning I work, I will post here for advice. I may have to give a reduced dose or skip to keep him safe, since I can’t monitor on work days.

Just trying to get prepared for TR on work days! Thank you Sienne!
 
E50466A4-7D66-47EE-9CB7-F3439127ECCD.jpeg

lazy day for Blaze!
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)

+11 is 232

Does this mean he will possibly continue to drop tonight, he went down today, went up and now coming back down an hour before PMPS.

could this be a bounce clearing? And is it safe to shoot 1.25U tonight if so? I work tomorrow morning so I’m worried about being up too late.
 
Last edited:
Your PMPS will give you more information (i.e., are numbers still dropping). It very well could be a bounce breaking.. Although, it's likely that the bounce broke yesterday (and your PM +3 cell from last night should be pink, not yellow)..
 
Your PMPS will give you more information (i.e., are numbers still dropping). It very well could be a bounce breaking.. Although, it's likely that the bounce broke yesterday (and your PM +3 cell from last night should be pink, not yellow)..
Just fixed last nights +3 to pink!

And PMPS was lower than the +11. I’m going to get a +1 tonight, even though it’s usually a food spike, I want to catch a big drop early if possible. I have to work in the morning so can’t be up much later than +5.
 
The PMPS was within the 20% variance range from your +11 so there's really not a big difference in the numbers. Just keep an eye on the numbers. (By any chance, does your DH have to be up early too? Just in case....)
 
The PMPS was within the 20% variance range from your +11 so there's really not a big difference in the numbers. Just keep an eye on the numbers. (By any chance, does your DH have to be up early too? Just in case....)
Okay will do! I will grab a +1 tonight and I always get a +2 and 3 before I head to bed.

DH has to be up early also, he’s going on working 7 days straight with no days off and will be working another 7 days in a row with no days off :(
He’s helpful with PMPS test/feed/shoot if I’m not home in time but he won’t stay up late to test. He pretty much agreed to taking over when I’m not home but won’t do any extra testing:confused:

ETA: He will do AMPS and PMPS and some tests here and there when asked but won’t stay up late to test. It’s a miracle that I even got him testing and giving insulin so I will take what I can get :rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
+1 is 177, I checked a second strip and it was 178. Gave him a MC to slow him down, is that good? Should I test in 30 minutes?
 
Yeah! Blaze is going for it! Grab a test in 30 mins and see if he’s coming up. You’ll want to keep testing now until
You have 2 hours straight where you have increasing BG levels that haven’t been created with HC/mc food intervention. Read: 2 hours increasing BG without food intervention
 
Yeah! Blaze is going for it! Grab a test in 30 mins and see if he’s coming up. You’ll want to keep testing now until
You have 2 hours straight where you have increasing BG levels that haven’t been created with HC/mc food intervention. Read: 2 hours increasing BG without food intervention
Alright I will test at +2.5, tonight is a work night for me though, I have to be up at 5:45 am so I really can’t stay up late to test:(
 
I will keep testing for a couple hours but might have to utilize the auto feeder. He always does this on work nights and does nothing on the weekends! Dang cat!
 
I know you have to work tomorrow but I would definitely recommend continuing testing tonight to make sure Blaze is safe, he’s having a lot of action really early on so it could be an active cycle. Sometimes what I will do is set alarms so that I can sleep in between

anyway I seem to remember Blaze has a +4-5nadir so that’s a positive thing.

I hope he will come up and stay up for you :)
 
As far as TR goes the real take action number is 50. But it is definitely concerning that you fed HC and Blaze is still going downward. I think feeding more HC was the right thing to do and take another test in 20 mins. If Blaze is still going down you might need to resort to some honey or Karo to try and get Blaze to start coming up.

Honey/karo works fast and leaves the system quickly so you’ll have to continue monitoring
 
I know you have to work tomorrow but I would definitely recommend continuing testing tonight to make sure Blaze is safe, he’s having a lot of action really early on so it could be an active cycle. Sometimes what I will do is set alarms so that I can sleep in between

anyway I seem to remember Blaze has a +4-5nadir so that’s a positive thing.

I hope he will come up and stay up for you :)
I will definitely stay up to test but I’m hoping he starts coming up soon, the last time I stayed up until +6.5, I was dragging all week at work. I can’t function on little sleep. Hoping he starts coming up after his typical nadir.
 
As far as TR goes the real take action number is 50. But it is definitely concerning that you fed HC and Blaze is still going downward. I think feeding more HC was the right thing to do and take another test in 20 mins. If Blaze is still going down you might need to resort to some honey or Karo to try and get Blaze to start coming up.

Honey/karo works fast and leaves the system quickly so you’ll have to continue monitoring
These are the lowest numbers I’ve seen yet so it’s a little scary for me. I will grab another test at 20 minutes after HC was given at +2.5. If he’s lower than the 62, do I give him karo syrup by itself or mix it into food? If I mix it into food, do I mix it into LC, MC, HC?
 
I will definitely stay up to test but I’m hoping he starts coming up soon, the last time I stayed up until +6.5, I was dragging all week at work. I can’t function on little sleep. Hoping he starts coming up after his typical nadir.
I totally get it, I’m in the exact same boat as you for sure. You have a high precision job though so I can see how it would be worse for you. Do you think you could manipulate your DH to do some of the testing to relieve some of the responsibility fro Your shoulders?
 
I totally get it, I’m in the exact same boat as you for sure. You have a high precision job though so I can see how it would be worse for you. Do you think you could manipulate your DH to do some of the testing to relieve some of the responsibility fro Your shoulders?
No he’s already asleep, he has a much more physically demanding job than me too. It’s not something he will do, the late night tests are all on me. He also gets up earlier than me this week.
 
These are the lowest numbers I’ve seen yet so it’s a little scary for me. I will grab another test at 20 minutes after HC was given at +2.5. If he’s lower than the 62, do I give him karo syrup by itself or mix it into food? If I mix it into food, do I mix it into LC, MC, HC?
If it’s lower than 62 but higher than 50 maybe mix a drop or two into a tsp of HC, and if below 50 apply straight to gums
 
No he’s already asleep, he has a much more physically demanding job than me too. It’s not something he will do, the last night tests are all on me.
for sure not tonight but maybe in the future :) if it’s a hard line for him I understand, but it’s tough for you too. You’re doing great though!
 
for sure not tonight but maybe in the future :) if it’s a hard line for him I understand, but it’s tough for you too. You’re doing great though!
It’s definitely a hard line for him. It’s very hard on me but Blaze is my cat and I took on this responsibility to take care of his diabetic needs. It sucks that I have to do the late night testing but it’s just one thing we don’t see eye to eye on and I’m not going to push it.
 
Nice, he’s holding. Maybe feed some LC and see if he will continue coming up or at least surfing
 
It’s definitely a hard line for him. It’s very hard on me but Blaze is my cat and I took on this responsibility to take care of his diabetic needs. It sucks that I have to do the late night testing but it’s just one thing we don’t see eye to eye on and I’m not going to push it.
I definitely understand. Late night testing is the worst and I can see why you wouldnt push someone to take on the responsibility when it’s your cat. In fact I’m the same way :)

I would grab 20 mins and see is he holding.
 
I definitely understand. Late night testing is the worst and I can see why you wouldnt push someone to take on the responsibility when it’s your cat. In fact I’m the same way :)

I would grab 20 mins and see is he holding.
It’s definitely hard on me, the late night testing, but it’s what I signed up for when Blaze was diagnosed. Me and DH are married, but Blaze was a cat I adopted 7 and a half years ago when me and DH were broken up (before getting back together, engagement and now marriage, it’s a long story :joyful:) It was a huge step for him to learn to test and give insulin, but he draws the line when it comes to staying up late/getting up in the middle of the night. If he did test late, he would end up waking me up to ask me what to do because he would freak out in this situation, so it’s better I handle the late nights anyways :rolleyes:
 
It’s definitely hard on me, the late night testing, but it’s what I signed up for when Blaze was diagnosed. Me and DH are married, but Blaze was a cat I adopted 7 and a half years ago when me and DH were broken up (before getting back together, engagement and now marriage, it’s a long story :joyful:) It was a huge step for him to learn to test and give insulin, but he draws the line when it comes to staying up late/getting up in the middle of the night. If he did test late, he would end up waking me up to ask me what to do because he would freak out in this situation, so it’s better I handle the late nights anyways :rolleyes:
Lol. Men. :smuggrin:
 
Sarah...can you please take down the 911? Those numbers really aren’t “emergency” numbers and you’ve gotten some help. We usually ask if you have to use a 911, as soon as someone responds that can help you, please take it down.

I know this is the first time you’ve dealt with these numbers but once you’ve gotten some data, your goal is to use the lowest carb between LC, MC, HC that gets the job done. That might mean a high LC food like 10-11%. You did great tonight but what can happen sometimes is too much HC too soon can really shorten the duration of the insulin.
 
Sarah...can you please take down the 911? Those numbers really aren’t “emergency” numbers and you’ve gotten some help. We usually ask if you have to use a 911, as soon as someone responds that can help you, please take it down.

I know this is the first time you’ve dealt with these numbers but once you’ve gotten some data, your goal is to use the lowest carb between LC, MC, HC that gets the job done. That might mean a high LC food like 10-11%. You did great tonight but what can happen sometimes is too much HC too soon can really shorten the duration of the insulin.
Okay, I took down the 911. Sorry, just haven’t dealt with numbers this low. Blaze doesn’t respond to LC when dropping or in low numbers so it seems like MC and HC are the only things to get him back up.

I fed LC 20 minutes ago, just tested again and he’s at 55. What should I do??
 
I’m not sure what to do at this point. The LC didn’t bring him up, I don’t know what to feed him or do I not feed him at all?
 
Okay, I took down the 911. Sorry, just haven’t dealt with numbers this low. Blaze doesn’t respond to LC when dropping or in low numbers so it seems like MC and HC are the only things to get him back up.

I fed LC 20 minutes ago, just tested again and he’s at 55. What should I do??
Thank you.

Unless you have numbers in the 30s or below that you have to get up immediately with karo or other syrup or honey, you only want to test every 30 minutes. It takes food at least 30 minutes to affect the BG whereas it takes honey/karo only 15. If you have to give honey or karo for really low numbers, test every 15-20 minutes. For numbers like these where he’s basically flat now, feed and then wait 30 minutes to test.

I’d try a couple really good tsp of higher LC food if you have it and test in 30. If you need to get to bed soon, then give him a couple of good tsp of MC food and test in 30.

EDITED TO ADD: You might not be seeing any big change in numbers from the last test because you tested too soon. It can gang up on him so try feeding and testing 30 mins after he eats, ok?
 
Back
Top