10/20 Biscuit 150 AMPS +3 51 +5 47 +6.5 146 PMPS 315 +2 313 +6 229

ShannonandBiscuit

Member Since 2019
Yesterday

Hope everyone is having a good weekend. Biscuit is doing great. I am happy to see him moving between good numbers.

Here’s wishing the same for everyone else’s kitties.
 
Biscuit went below 50 again today. I had to go out in between his 51 and 47 but left some low carb food at +3 when he normally eats. Does the 47 earn him another reduction tonight??

Thanks...
 
You can do 3 times under 50 or once under 40 before you reduce. Are you able to test regularly?
During the week yes. I work from home. Weekends are more difficult with kids activities and errands. Does that also mean I shouldn’t bump up the 40’s with food and just see what he does? And do you mean 3 times as in 3 cycles or 3 +1.s?
 
During the week yes. I work from home. Weekends are more difficult with kids activities and errands. Does that also mean I shouldn’t bump up the 40’s with food and just see what he does? And do you mean 3 times as in 3 cycles or 3 +1.s?

Three times below 50 on three different days...

I hear what you mean about weekends! I work from home too..and between working and Luci I rarely get to go anywhere unless it's a doctor/dentist or work meeting! However, on the weekends I'd like to get out of the house for a bit - and have to do my shopping, etc. So today for example Luci had other ideas. Out comes the trusty auto-feeder and she was fed with MC. So, the answer is YES, boost him up when you're going to be out...don't let him fall any lower than he has already.

Personally I try to hold a dose for as long as possible - in order to do that anytime she gets close to 50 I bring out the MC - whether I'm home or not...she responds pretty well to medium carb foods and I try to keep her away from 50 or lower for as many cycles as possible. It doesn't do any good for her to drop below 50 x 3 or below 40 and then lose the dose that was working for her...because then she'll just get lazy and those numbers just climb back up...and the I have to increase again...up/down, up/down. Try to hold the dose for as long as possible when it's working! Makes them feel better and you're not constantly changing the dose...
 
I just want to clarify one thing; it’s three times between 40 and 50 on separate days or one drop below 40 for a long-term diabetic.

The reason it’s not just “three times under 50” is because that implies the kitty could drop into the 30s three times before reducing. I know Sue did say “or once under 40” but sometimes that last part gets lost in what the CG reads...or what lurkers read. We determined several years ago that it’s best to specifically use the phrase “three drops between 40 and 50”.
 
What constitutes a “long-term” diabetic? And do remissions factor into that?
Long term diabetics are considered to be diabetes for one year or more...I'm not sure how the remissions factor into that...but perhaps someone else will comment on that. I guess if it was me, I'd probably count all the months that he was clearly diabetic and add that up...but haven't been lucky enough to get Luci to remission...so that's out of my depth.
 
Biscuit has been diagnosed diabetic for 3 months this go around, although as the years progressed we got very lax with testing and it had probably been 6 months since we tested him last before diagnosis. He was in remission for almost 5 years. And diabetic for almost a year before that.
 
What constitutes a “long-term” diabetic? And do remissions factor into that?
Remissions do not count. We go based on the first date of diagnosis. For Biscuit, that was 2013. Once a cat is diabetic, they are always diabetic; they might be insulin independent (e.g. remission) but they are still diabetic.

In summary, once a cat is diagnosed diabetic, they are considered to be a long-term diabetic once it’s a year from that diagnosis even if they went into remission one month after diagnosis.
 
Back
Top