? - 10/20 Bella *dose advice needed plz* AMPS 192, +6 51, PMPS 167, +3 164 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

? 10/20 Bella *dose advice needed plz* AMPS 192, +6 51, PMPS 167, +3 164

Bellas_mom_2020

Member since 2024
? - 10/19 Bella *dose ?* AMPS 102, +3 53, +3.5 48, +4 55 +6 74, PMPS 157, +3 110

I was asking for some advice yesterday but I guess no one saw my post. Can an admin please look at my post from yesterday and respond.

I want to add that Bella was 51 when my husband got home from work today and checked +6 AMPS. I don’t know if she was lower before that, but it’s possible. We’re getting into uncomfortable territory for me. Yesterday she got down to 48 +3.5 hrs after her AMPS. We both work and are not home for several hours. Thankfully my husband works half days and checks her at 1:00 but if yesterday was a work day and she got the 48 at +3.5, I can’t imagine what her +6 would be when my hubby came home to check.
 
Last edited:
I would not say she earned a reduction yet, but ultimately it's up to you. I would try feeding her or leaving food out for her at +1, +2, and +3 (not added to what she eats usually, rather smaller meals more often), if you don't already do this. But especialy since you will be leaving and probably lowering to a vacation dose, I would try to keep her at 1.25 for now: she's been in yellow at this dose several times, and her PS numbers are still high.
I will tag people for you, hopefully you will get plenty of ideas!
@Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee
 
I was out of town yesterday. If you aren't getting help, feel free to bump up your post. Just add a post with the word "bump" on it.

If you are following TR, a reduction is earned one of three ways. This is with Bella considered a long term diabetic. They are a drop below 40, a week in mostly green, or if Bella is a cat that doesn't hold reductions well, you can use the three times between 40 and 50 on separate days method. Do you consider Bella to be a cat that doesn't hold reductions well?
As a general rule, we don't guess or imagine what might numbers have been possible, but instead go with what we actually see.

Are you leaving food out for Bella while you are gone?
 
I was out of town yesterday. If you aren't getting help, feel free to bump up your post. Just add a post with the word "bump" on it.

If you are following TR, a reduction is earned one of three ways. This is with Bella considered a long term diabetic. They are a drop below 40, a week in mostly green, or if Bella is a cat that doesn't hold reductions well, you can use the three times between 40 and 50 on separate days method. Do you consider Bella to be a cat that doesn't hold reductions well?
As a general rule, we don't guess or imagine what might numbers have been possible, but instead go with what we actually see.

Are you leaving food out for Bella while you are gone?
When we leave in the morning for work she has her breakfast and sometimes she’s not done eating until like 10 am (+3 amps) or even later. Yesterday, she finished her food by 9 am (+2 amps) and was sitting by her bowl like she was still hungry so I checked her sugar and she was 52, I decided to wait and re test and she was 48.

How do I know if she didn’t hold reductions well?

I guess I’m just really nervous for when we go away. My mom wont be able to check as much as we can and I worry she’ll go low.
 
Are you going away on a holiday? If so, when? We usually suggest a lower "petsitter dose" if you will be away and want to keep her safe.

"holding reductions well" is what it sounds like. If you reduce the dose, the reduction holds and you don't have to increase back up. A cat that doesn't hold reductions well tends to earn reductions, then have to go back up when the reduction fails.
 
Are you going away on a holiday? If so, when? We usually suggest a lower "petsitter dose" if you will be away and want to keep her safe.

"holding reductions well" is what it sounds like. If you reduce the dose, the reduction holds and you don't have to increase back up. A cat that doesn't hold reductions well tends to earn reductions, then have to go back up when the reduction fails.
Holiday means like vacation right? If so, then yes we’re going on vacation and will be away for 6 days. My parents will be watching Bella. My dad can help my mom with the morning bg check + shot and the pm but he’s not around to do it mid day and they probably won’t do it before they go to bed either. To check her they have to wrap her up so they can get it done so twice a day is all they will do. That’s why I want her on l want her on less insulin so that we don’t run the risk of her being low.

Yes, she holds reductions well. In the past anytime we’ve reduced we’ve never had to increase her back up with the exception of what happened a few months ago with the bad insulin and she went from 0.25 units to now she’s on 1.25.
 
Back
Top