10/20 Autumn amps-455,+3-301, +6-85

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Knew I should have shot last night but the way she's been roller coastering just wasn't feeling confident in doing so, plus we had one nasty storm going on outside and if I set an alarm to get up and check on her and then lost power over night, not good. Because while during the day I can use the alarm on my phone, at night it takes the big guns of the actual alarm clock to get me up, phone alarm shuts itself off after a few minute the alarm clock goes off until I stagger up to either shut it off or fling it across the room.. :lol:

I have never seen rain like we had last night here, we're on high ground for Nebraska (remember Nebraska the most interesting landscape feature is the horizon :o ) and we spent about 2 hours outside last night flagging down vehicles and getting them to turn around because the water was over the curb and about 2 ft into our yard, plus the storm drain for our street is right across the street of our corner to water was MOVING FAST right there to where even in the dark I could see a whirl pool in front of it. Scary
By our rain gauges we got about an inch and a half in less than 30 minutes with enough pea to marble size hail to make it look like it snowed. So dreading going to take the dog for his walk in a few minutes and see how much more damage our poor old trees suffered, I know we had at least one large branch come down because it almost went through the sitting room window next to where I was sitting on the couch. :o Thankfully there is also a big pillar on the porch right there that caught it and deflected it away from the glass but it still hit hard enough to make my heart stop.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/2 Autumn amps-488

Oh my goodness... what a storm!!! I am so glad you are okay.

Poor kitties... I don't know what mine would do in a wild storm. We had a deratio (I know that's what it was called but don't know how it is spelled :lol: ) that ripped a piece of siding off my house but only one cat hid from that.

Goodness, I hope your neighbors are ok.

Now Autumn... when is that new vet appointment. Maybe you already reported on that. I will go back and look.
 
Re: 10/2 Autumn amps-488

Yep it was yesterday and we have a FABULOUS NEW VET!! Autumn even gave her paw of approval. Thank God because this was the LAST clinic in town without driving at least 30 minutes

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/2 Autumn amps-488

Yikes!! We had a lot of that over the last two summers, so I was super-grateful that this summer was an exceptionally quiet one here.

Robin, it's "derecho". :-D (Sorry, I'm kind of a weather nerd.)

Mel, we seriously need to do something about this Trampoline Troupe we have going on here! Crazy cats. I know they enjoy entertaining themselves, but this is going too far!

HOORAY for new vet!!!
 
Re: 10/2 Autumn amps-488

yes sadly we have lots of them on the trampoline. i sure wish it would stop for everyone
 
Re: 10/3 Autumn amps-446, and the circus act continues.

Tail of the Tape from yesterday through last night.

10/2
amps=448
+6=429
+9=326
pmps=356
+3=146 (here comes the circus performers)
+6=72,
+9=114
+11=301

Love ya little girl but momma needs to stop having pajama parties with you. I guess at this point she's just going to bounce until she stops. I can't not shoot when she's this high and I can't reduce without her staying high. Seeing that steep drop long before her normal onset I know something is working in there, but its also what is triggering these outrageous bounces. Kind of like seeing a train wreck about to happen and being able to do nothing to stop it.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/3 Autumn amps-442, and the circus act continues.

wow Mel. that is some crazy bouncing. What a spread of numbers. yikes.
 
Re: 10/3 Autumn amps-442, and the circus act continues.

I would be freaking out for sure!

Is she getting a second dental soon? Poor dear... Alska must be having sympathy dental problems... yeah, that's it!
 
Re: 10/3 Autumn amps-442, +6-363 and the circus act continue

I want her to finish the last 7 days of the antibiotics then we'll schedule her dental ( I hope). Applied for Care Credit and should know by Monday if its approved and what out credit limit is, at least this vet takes it unlike our last vet.

Not sure if I'm happy or not that she is coming back down faster today than yesterday. Cuz this old lady just isn't up for two nights in a row of all nighters anymore.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/3 Autumn amps-442, +6-363 and the circus act continue

That's some rollercoaster Autumn has you on there, Mel. I hope things settle soon.

Great news that both of you are so happy with your new vetty bean. It makes such a difference. :smile:
 
Re: 10/3 Autumn amps-442, +6-363, pmps-314

It's official I'm sicker than a dog. Thought I was just tired this morning. Oh no, got back up about 11 a.m. ate and immediately threw it all back up, now nothing is staying down. There's been flu going around at Jon's work and I think he brought it home to me. Body aches, chills, light headed etc. Autumn might end up with a factory reset this weekend because mom is to sick to get out of bed.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/3 Autumn amps-442, +6-363, pmps-314

mel
so sorry you are sick. please feel better fast.
sending u anti puking vines. that is the worst.
so sorry
 
Re: 10/4 Autumn amps-204

Even though her numbers were high yesterday at least she dropped slow and easy. Oh and such a cuddle bug last night. although about the 9th time I disturbed her to go hurl she was beginning to get annoyed at me.. :lol:

Off to go drag my feverish hiney back to bed...

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/4 Autumn amps-204

Well so far at least saltine crackers and 7-up are staying down and improvement over yesterday. Tonight I'm gonna live dangerously and go for a dinner of chicken noodle soup. flip_cat

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/4 Autumn amps-204

Mel, glad to see you're past the 'so bad you're afraid you're NOT gonna die' stage! I feel for you Lady...ughhh.

Autumn girl...what we gonna do wif u?

Virtual HUG...I'm not getting closer than that... :)
 
Re: 10/4 Autumn amps-204

Hi Mel,

Sorry to hear that you are so poorly. Sending special Wiltyshire vibes for a speedy recovery. And some TLC ...

:YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/4 Autumn amps-204

Oh, Mel, I'm so sorry to hear you're so ill, and with so many furbabies to care for! When I had the flu at the beginning of the year, I SO much wanted to be able to tell them, "There's food on the floor and spoons and plates in the sink. Go feed yourselves!" and "I'm sure you can figure out how to clean those litter boxes!" :roll:

*hugs* Feel better soon!!!
 
Re: 10/4 Autumn amps-204

Nadine beat me to it. Wondering how you are, Mel, and sending healing wishes your way. Neutradonna tablets did wonders for me when I was similarly afflicted a number of years ago but I don't know if they're still available. The belladonna contribution to the formula was great as an anti-spasmodic.

(((Mel)))
 
Re: 10/7 Autumn amps-458 bounce as expected

Well I think I have returned to the land of the living and sent Jon back to work this morning with orders to just generally slap anyone that had been out with this stupid flu for me.

I'm very blessed to have as wonderful of a husband as I do who stepped up and did the momma job so I could spend the weekend and yesterday curled up in bed with my 7-up, saltine crackers and Nyquil. It is also mildly comic relief to watch the man of the house, who believes that I snapmy fingers and twitch my nose and this house magically cleans itself doing about 1/10 of my normal day and then falling asleep on the couch because he's worked to hard. ohmygod_smile :lol: I actually felt pretty decent yesterday just so very washed out and weak and of course Miss Autumn took full advantage of mom feeling better and being back able to hold her head up long enough to test often so she decided to pull a 98 @ +3 (dropping WAY before onset) and even with steering dipped to 35 by +6 so this morning's bounce was no surprise at all.

But if she can drop to 35 on no more insulin than she is getting and can pull herself down almost 100 pts off a .1 once I get her through this bounce there is no other option that to start her on an OTJ trial. She's earned a reduction but since the only place to reduce is off then that is where we are headed.

Other positives Since starting her on the Cosequin she is already walking with a flatter back, and last night she was PLAYING, something Autumn has never done or shown any interest in doing at all. Now from time to time she has always liked to sniff and roll a little in loose catnip but last night she was actually rubbing her face and batting at catnip toy, even took a few swats at the laser pointer when I got it out.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/7 Autumn amps-458 bounce as expected

Glad you're feeling better, Mel!

Bless little Autumn - I'm so glad she's feeling better, too! Best of luck with the OTJ trial!!
 
Re: 10/7 Autumn amps-458,+7-354

Looks like she is already trying to clear yesterday's bounce, once she is below 250 again I'm planning on letting her fly solo and handcuffing myself not to shoot. By all outward signs she is doing better than she ever has, energy is great, super cuddle bug, and even playing a little bit, although far to refined to let the others catch her acting silly. lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/8 Autumn ambg-171

And away we go...Let the OTJ trial begin. Technically I suppose I should have listed the 171 as a ambg since I did give her a teeny weeny tiny drop, literally let the plunger flex back into place and shoot whatever it pulled into the needle just to get her over that first little "bump"

I'm still amazed at what just adding a little cosequin to her lunch meal is doing for her and she still has a month left of the daily dose before we go over to every other day to maintain she is far more active, not cavorting like a kitten by any means but definitely more mobile, following me around the house, jumping up on higher things to get in the sun, and just a happier expression on her face when she does come on the couch at night to watch TV with us. Like she is happy to jump up by herself instead of waiting at our feet for one of us to put her on the couch with us.

It's gonna be weird if she can do this and pass her test, because for the first time in nearly 4 years I won't have a sugarcat actively on insulin. nailbite_smile @-) :shock: And for Autumn that will be truly an amazing feat to have come this far for a cat that should not even be breathing let alone looking at living as a happy healthy diet controlled diabetic. I'm already so proud of her and her will to live that she has even come this far, from a severely dehydrated, walking skeleton, with moderate ketones, and a UTI so bad she was peeing blood, to my stunning fluffy girl that snuggles against my chest every night and greets me with kisses every morning.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/8 Autumn ambg-171

You have been an amazing mommy bean to precious Autumn and it shows!!!

Cosequin in Alska is best reflected on the stairs - he usually walks with me one step at a time but on C he bounds up and waits for me at the top. Last night he even chased the visiting kitten across the living room. I hope it does the same for Emmylou's bladder.

Alska will miss swimming and sunning and picnicking with Autumn but will certainly revel in her success.
 
Re: 10/8 Autumn ambg-171

Well he can still come for picnics if she passes :-D And she might even let him take a dip in the Falls while she spreads the blanket out. Afterall if she passes this test she will be lounging on the grass full time waving her fluffy tail at the boys. I still can't believe I'm even thinking along the lines of "What happens when I have no one to race home to test and shoot). How did I go from one on 11u bid to off in a year, and now another one after nearly two years and near death when I got her to now possibly off as well?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/8 Autumn ambg-171,+3-222,+6-202

Just catching up here--been a very busy week--Glad you are on the mend Mel! And way to go Autumn!!!!
 
Re: 10/9 Autumn amps-354, +3-428, +6-250

Nothing like getting most of the way through a day and realizing I never opened her condo for today...oops

I'll admit it I almost caved this morning and took her back to the .1 instead of a mere needle full but realistically I know all that would do is cause the cycle of diving and bouncing to continue. Definition of insanity: Doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Now I'm glad I held to my guns and resisted the temptation to shoot more insulin. Very nice drop although pretty darn fast from +3 to +6 so she's probably going to bounce again tonight or tomorrow but at least its from a fast down and not a close call with a hypo range numbers.

Especially right now while I'm still recovering for that nasty bug last week I still just don't have the stamina to stay with her at night should she decide to bottom out. While I hate those pinks and reds on her, I would much rather have those than testing before bed and seeing a 20 something...YIKES!

Random thoughts for the day: Looking over this little misadventure in whatever Autumn is trying to do right now I see a repetition of the same patterns that I saw when I first started her on insulin 2 1/2 years ago, the same unpredictable numbers where she rises and drops with no rhyme or reason. Nothing like my two boys that just walked themselves off insulin and right straight to the Falls. So it has me wondering....If they are long term diabetic and finally something clicks over and they try to come off, does their bodies have to get use to the feel of their own insulin again, just like they had to learn how to use what we inject in the beginning of treatment? Has the naturally occurring insulin become foreign because they have been supported for over a year by an outside source? Probably no one can answer those question but just random thoughts that go through my head while trying to figure out a little girl that was so stable for so long is now skipping and jumping all over the place and making mom think of weird things...lol

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/9 Autumn amps-354, +3-428, +6-250

Mel

Just wanted to say what a dedicated mum you are and what great success you have had with your kitties. I wish remi could come and stay with you as I am sure you could make him better too :-D I will keep my fingers crossed for autumn.

What is a condo? I see it mentioned and guess it is the spreadsheet??

Glad you are feeling better.

Sarah
 
Re: 10/9 Autumn amps-354, +3-428, +6-250

phlika29 said:
What is a condo? I see it mentioned and guess it is the spreadsheet??

'Condo' = condition report.

(Bit like the British military slang SITREP for situation report.)
 
Re: 10/9 Autumn amps-354, +3-428, +6-250

HI Mel,

Very glad to hear that you're over the worst of the lurgy. I hope that your energies will be restored very soon. Remember to use some of that wonderfully caring spirit of yours to look after yourself as well as your loved ones. :-D

(((Mel)))
 
Re: 10/9 Autumn amps-354, +3-428, +6-250, pmps-254

Yeah! She's coming down again and seems to finally be settling into that teeny tiny dose.

Actually condo is short for condominium or a kitty condo you known those little carpet covered round boxes that cat's like to sleep in. We use it to refer to each cat's individual threads on a particular forum. So the forum becomes a virtual apartment house. Lol Just part of the insanity that keeps us sane.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/9 Autumn amps-354, +3-428, +6-250, pmps-254

MommaOfMuse said:
Actually condo is short for condominium or a kitty condo you known those little carpet covered round boxes that cat's like to sleep in.
You mean someone told me porkies? :o
 
Re: 10/9 Autumn amps-354, +3-428, +6-250, pmps-254

im sorry to hear u were sick mel. glad ur feeling better and sure hope autumn keeps doing better. best wishes, and hugs to autumn! larry says hi. poor guy hes on a roller coaster too.
 
Re: 10/9 Autumn amps-354, +3-428, +6-250, pmps-254

hi mel
hope you feel completely better soon. interesting thoughts on autumn. you'll get her otj i am sure !!!
 
Re: 10/10 Autumn amps-335

Good Morning and T.G.I.F.

Well while she is still wearing her tutu this morning its at least lower than yesterday morning and we've seemed to have stopped the endless cycles of diving and bouncing like a rubber ball. Although this also might be a little mini bounce off that really fast drop from 428 to 250 in three hours yesterday. But Hey if it is, at least we stayed in the pinks and didn't fly all the way back up to the red floor again. Right now my plan is to leave the dose alone as long as the numbers keep improving both across and down on her spreadsheet.

Now for something completely different...DH and I are going to take a trip into the countryside this weekend to go looking for things to make a fall harvest wreath...I'm thinking, Sumac berries, Cattails, Milkweed pods, and pine cones. I already have some really beautiful large acorns that I'm going to drill out so I can run a wire through them to wire onto the wreath. Can anyone think of anything else I should have my eyes peeled for while we are out in the countryside? I'm hoping we can also find some nice pheasant feathers but not counting on it.

One of the things I'm trying to do with this house since it was built in 1910 is to try to keep all decorations as they would have been back then, so mostly handmade and from things in nature. One of my big projects for this winter is to crochet a bedspread for our bed as well as embroidery several sets of linens for it...Yes, I have truly lost my flipping mind. At least one of the talents besides sugarcats I have is that my mother and grandmother taught me to be crafty (in several senses of that word :lol: ) So I can make soap, candles, knit, crochet, embroidery, needlepoint, spin and weave, and sew. Which by the way, if any of you need any of those services hit me up. I love doing crafts for friends. :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/9 Autumn amps-354, +3-428, +6-250

MommaOfMuse said:
So it has me wondering....If they are long term diabetic and finally something clicks over and they try to come off, does their bodies have to get use to the feel of their own insulin again, just like they had to learn how to use what we inject in the beginning of treatment? Has the naturally occurring insulin become foreign because they have been supported for over a year by an outside source? Probably no one can answer those questions ...

I've been thinking along somewhat similar lines because of Saoirse's 'hunger spikes'. I've started viewing Saoirse's situation as similar to withdrawal from a medication that one has become physiologically dependent upon through long term use. The withdrawal process can result in very unpleasant fluctuations in body chemistry until it starts to ramp up production of natural chemicals to replace the artificial ones.

A classic example is benzodiazepine medication. Initially, it targets the GABA receptors in the brain and produces a calming effect on the central nervous system and boosts the action of the body's own GABA (an inhibitory neurotransmitter). Given the body's strong urge to reach homeostatis, the brain starts to downregulate the production of its own GABA and also the number of GABA receptors, and these changes are responsible for creating a physiological dependency on the drug and also why the drugs stop working. Withdrawal of the drug then leaves the nervous system quite raw because there isn't enough natural GABA activity in the system to counteract the effects of adrenaline and other excitatory neurotransmitters. The body needs to increase production of GABA and also to upregulate the number of GABA receptors in order to function properly again. Similar proThat's why it's necessary to taper benzos in order to mitigate the worst effects of withdrawal. Depending on the length of time the drugs were taken, it takes longer for the body to readjust to naturally regulating itself. The same principles apply for antidepressant meds. The path back to a natural homoeostatic setpoint isn't straightforward: the neuroendocrine system tends to swing wildly between extremes, not dissimilar to the bouncing we see in the sugar dance.
 
Re: 10/10 Autumn amps-335

MommaOfMuse said:
Now for something completely different...DH and I are going to take a trip into the countryside this weekend to go looking for things to make a fall harvest wreath...I'm thinking, Sumac berries, Cattails, Milkweed pods, and pine cones. I already have some really beautiful large acorns that I'm going to drill out so I can run a wire through them to wire onto the wreath. Can anyone think of anything else I should have my eyes peeled for while we are out in the countryside? I'm hoping we can also find some nice pheasant feathers but not counting on it.

One of the things I'm trying to do with this house since it was built in 1910 is to try to keep all decorations as they would have been back then, so mostly handmade and from things in nature. One of my big projects for this winter is to crochet a bedspread for our bed as well as embroidery several sets of linens for it...Yes, I have truly lost my flipping mind. At least one of the talents besides sugarcats I have is that my mother and grandmother taught me to be crafty (in several senses of that word :lol: ) So I can make soap, candles, knit, crochet, embroidery, needlepoint, spin and weave, and sew. Which by the way, if any of you need any of those services hit me up. I love doing crafts for friends. :-D

Mel and The Fur Gang

Mel

Did you pick up some good things for your harvest wreath? I didn't offer any advice as I have no experience with such things. Would love to see the finished outcome though. I love craft too but am not ver good at it. I love knitting but never seem to progress of the basic knits. I recently had a og at spinning as my mum was given a wheel but again it didn't come naturally. I have settled on silversmithing instead and last year made most of my Xmas presents. I love the physicalness of working with metal and think this is the craft for me. My mother makes fantastic patchwork quilts and I've made a couple but it just takes too long. Their is nothing like designing, making and wearing a new pair of earrings in one night :-x patience is not my biggest virtue.

Do you know of kaffe fassett? I went to see his quilting, knitting, etc exhibition at the American Museum in Bath over he summer. Such a show of colour.
 
Re: 10/10 Autumn amps-335

MommaOfMuse said:
So I can make soap, candles, knit, crochet, embroidery, needlepoint, spin and weave, and sew ... I love doing crafts for friends. :-D
phlika29 said:
Did you pick up some good things for your harvest wreath? Would love to see the finished outcome though. I love craft too ... I have settled on silversmithing instead and last year made most of my Xmas presents.

:cool:

Howzabout a show 'n' tell thread? Could it be on the Relaxed board or would it need to be on the Community board?
 
Re: 10/13 Autumn amps-255

Didn't have much success this weekend on the Harvest wreath supplies the weather pretty much did us in, so I got yarn to start an afghan for a dear friend's Yule gift. He's a big Nebraska Husker's football fan so I'm doing him an afghan in the team colors.

I would love a show and tell thread, we could set one up here I suppose since TR has their Loose Lips we could have our Crafty Cats Corner...lol Silver smithing is one of the art forms I haven't mastered although I would love to at some point, because I love working with metals, stones and other natural materials.

Right now I am really missing my Dremel that somehow managed apparently to grow legs and walk away the last time the step-daughter was visiting along with my good glue gun..sigh.

Now back to da kitties. Autumn had a very good weekend I either fattened that drop or skinnyed the .1 depending on how you want to look at it, whatever it should be called its the plunger bottom sitting about in the middle of the zero line and with that slight increase she's out of the pinks and back to yellows, blues and greens again...WHEW!!

And we have...a...new...kitty...THAT"S NOT MY CAT! Ya like he's going to believe that one. lol Anyhow, I have this battle scarred fellow that first started showing up at sundown looking for a free meal so when we see him we've been taking him out food, this morning he was waiting for breakfast! He's figured out where there is a soft touch, but he absolutely will not be joining the inside crew. I'm fine with him coming for meals and will set him up an outside shelter where he can stay warm this winter. But he shows enough battle scars that I'm afraid he would challenge my other toms but we'll see if I can tame him then I can look for him a furever home, just not here...16 is a God's plenty.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 10/13 Autumn amps-255

awhhh. i have 2 outdoor ferals that we feed. in the winter we let them come into the garage and have heated beds for them. they are really feral tho and also won't b joining the inside crew. good luck finding a home for him.
 
Re: 10/13 Autumn amps-255

MommaOfMuse said:
Right now I am really missing my Dremel ...
Me, too. Mine has been packed away in a box for several years. Trouble is I don't actually know which land mass the box is sitting on. :roll:

Anyhow, I have this battle scarred fellow that first started showing up at sundown ...
Battle-scarred he may be, but his radar's in tip top condition. ;-) Another very lucky moggie. ;-)

Great to see Autumn's numbers improving. :thumbup
 
Re: 10/15 Autumn amps-328

Sigh, she remains her bouncy little self. Kinda figured this one was coming this morning after a very steep drop yesterday. I guess I should be thankful she isn't a hard one to get out of the high numbers she is just difficult now to keep her from bouncing off those normal numbers because when I get her out of the highs she goes screaming down instead of floating down like she has for so long.

Well her dental is scheduled for tomorrow, so barring fire, blizzard or flood maybe that will provide the answers to why my once so stable girl is now acting like she is made of rubber.

Sorry for not being around much yesterday, been trying to catch up on everything around the house that didn't get done while I was sick. Love the hubby but I learned a very long time ago there is MAN CLEAN and there is WOMAN CLEAN, man clean is where stuff is stuffed into places where it probably doesn't belong just so the house looks neat and tidy, woman clean on the other hand is everything in its place and floors swept and mopped, carpets vacuumed and things dusted (daily). lol

Plus this is the season that I'm in fully crafting and baking mode. I decided awhile ago that if I can't make it or bake it nobody gets it for Yule, with the exception of books. I absolutely refuse to feed into the commercial end of the holiday season. This year I'm already seeing that the baking end of things is going to be a challenge because while we have a stunning pantry the actual kitchen is tiny with very little counter space, so my poor dinning room table is getting pressed into service as a baking table. Yesterday added 4 doz rum balls, 6 doz (3 doz ea.) dark chocolate truffles and white chocolate/peppermint truffles and 4 doz chocolate chip cookies. Now if I can just keep DH out of them until Christmas especially this weekend when I start making the fudge.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top