10/20/2011 Spitzer +7 trace ketones

Status
Not open for further replies.

BJM

Very Active Member
Previously

I know its early in the ProZinc use, but I'm home today, so I'm doing a curve.

AMPS 361
+2 323
+4 201 <- he actually made it down to the 200s!
+6 263
 
Last edited:
Re: 10/2002011 Spitzer AMPS`361, +2`323,+4~201

Well, I'm no expert but I don't think it's too early for a curve. Hopefully PZI will work for him.
 
Re: 10/20/2011 Spitzer AMPS`361, +2`323,+4~201

Check that out!!!! Almost blue!

Go Spitzer!
 
Re: 10/20/2011 Spitzer AMPS~361, +2~323,+4~201,+6~263

And heading back up again; more than a 20% difference, so its a real increase
.
The math:
value time range
201 @ +4 (160.8-241.2)
263 @ +6 (210.4-315)

Is it too soon to consider a tiny increase? Maybe .2? Or should I wait another couple of doses?

And if the nadir is that early, do you think he'll be a TID cat?
 
Last edited:
Re: 10/20/2011 Spitzer AMPS`361, +2`323,+4~201,+6~263

It does look like an early nadir, but it is also early days into the insulin. If he were mine, I would give it at least another cycle, get another nadir - maybe 4 or 6 or both - before I raised the dose. And I would play with some dose increases before I considered TID.

He is responding well to the insulin, just not in the way that is easiest for us to predict.
 
Re: 10/20/2011 Spitzer AMPS`361, +2`323,+4~201,+6~263

Ack! Trace ketones in the urine! Calling vet now.
NovaMax ketone test: 7.0 mmol/L
 
Last edited:
I think the more data the better in the early stages when you're learning how the insulin works on your cat. Every cat is different. My cat Max was an early nadir kitty too (around +3/+4). He would sink like a rock (at least it felt that way at the time to jittery newbie me) but got pretty good duration / surf before heading back up. Now that Spitzer is feeling better (no more sneezing), it looks like you're seeing some action with the insulin. I think you've got room to experiment with the BID dose before considering TID. Fingers crossed trace ketones are ok.
 
AMPS 361
+2 323
+4 201 <- he actually made it down to the 200s!
+6 263
+8 397 <- is he bouncing, or what?

 
Last edited:
Did you talk to the vet? I'm not familiar with the NovaMax so I don't know what that reading means. Haven't you used R before? What about fluids? I have no experience with either of those but was just throwing it out there. Since you're seeing trace ketones I would go ahead & increase.
 
Vet called back and is suggesting I shoot early on the ProZinc.
Edited to add: and slightly increase the dose

I do have some Humulin R and could give him a very tiny dose to tide him over; it lasts about 4 hours.
 
Last edited:
He is drinking water.

They didn't find them when he was in the hospital in August (on Lantus then)
 
Last edited:
I think You are fine to shoot at +8 with those numbers.

My Kitty went DKA.... So, I do have some experience with ketones. Do you have fluids? Maybe Nancy will show up... She is very familiar with using the R for ketones.
 
Can you redo the blood meter? 7.0 is really high and it makes no sense for the urine to only be in trace, even with the 2-3 hr. difference between urine/blood.

With ProZinc you need to relax and not fight the insulin, it can be very forgiving. I will need to go back to read but I would get one of the tests re-done. You told you vet 7.0 on meter?
 
urine test strip: 1st square above normal, ie "Trace Ketones"

Meter: Novamax (new on market for humans; may need adjustment for cats?)
Blood ketone reading: 7.0 mmol/L
Can't redo at present; only came with 2 ketone strips and I don't have any more.
I have no idea what the reference ranges are for cats, or if they even do a high, medium, low categorization on ketones. My Merck Veterinary Manual wasn't very helpful in that regard.

Other than being kind of quiet, and not coming to the bathroom for testing the last 2 times, he does not seem to be in distress, despite having his ears poked extra today.

Based on going down to 200, I have shot 1.5 hours early, and 1.0 units. I'll be out briefly for dinner and check before I leave and when I get back. I'll check before bed, too.
 
Last edited:
How do his eyes look? high ketones give the eyes a funny look sometime and have you smelled his breath? sometimes you can smell the ketones.

7.0 is considered high ketones .... I have a Precision and it only reads to 8.0 .... I would definitely get another urine in ... and he was sick? remember ketones are like dominos .... they line up waiting for something else, how is he eating?
 
This morning, I put FortiFlora on the food and he gobbled down.

He's nibbled on whats still in the plate & I'm putting some fresh down shortly. (I always leave food out for him, just in case he goes low when I'm not home.)

Edited to add: And he's having a nosh right now - fresh is best, didn't y'know!

Eyes a little gunky, but not the worse I've ever seen.
No vomiting.

Breath does NOT smell like acetone. He has an overbite, so his lips don't close completely very well. When he was a year old, he had a $2,000 dental surgery to shorten, root canal, and cap off the lower canines so he could close his mouth without punching ulcers in the roof of it.
 
Last edited:
And 6 hours after early PM shot ... back up around 390.

He's not getting much duration yet, or something else is wrong.
 
Last edited:
When Shakes started the PZI his nadirs were around +4ish, but now that we are at the proper dose
his nadirs are at +8....I would just strong and keep slowly raising :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top