Re: 10/20/2010 Spitzer AMPS=76
It does seem reasonable to me to lower the dose down to a skinny 0.5u, and see if that is low enough to be able to shoot twice a day. That sounds like a good plan, since the 1.0u is obviously too high and I'm not convinced that 0.75u will be low enough either. Some cats only need a very tiny dose to get a big response.
In this case, skipping the shot was a good idea not only because Spitzer's BG was too low to shoot, but because the 1.0u dose is too high, and you want to drain some insulin from the shed before resuming at a lower dose. But you really don't want to be forced to skip shots routinely if you can avoid it, it can cause a loss in momentum and wonky numbers. I know you understand you want to shoot twice a day, I just wanted to explain why skipping in this case was good for two reasons, IMO. You are going about this backwards, working your way down instead of up, and it makes it more difficult to gauge what dose Spitzer needs....the shed complicates things. You will need to be patient with the new dose, unless he throws some low numbers at you again.
As Sienne said, if you get a PS below 150 tonight, post and let us know. Sometimes just stalling 15-30 minutes makes a big difference, so re-testing every 15 minutes without feeding is SOP in that case. I know Spitzer free feeds, but if you can pick up his food from two hours prior to PS (if you're home) and not feed until you are ready to shoot, that is preferable so you get a "clean" PS reading without food influencing the numbers.
On the other hand, if you see a very high number tonight, please don't shoot a higher dose because the PS number is high! It is likely that Spitzer will bounce from the low numbers, and the bounce combined with no insulin may result in a very high number. Please stick to the plan and shoot Sk0.5u...the bounce will clear on it's own, you don't want to respond to it. If you do, you will likely end up in a yo-yo pattern....very high alternating with very low BG....not what you want and will only delay progress.
Worse case scenario is when you over fill the shed/insulin depot... get very low numbers... then empty out shed by dropping dose too much... or having to skip the shot. Then you'll see high numbers from the combo of the effects of rebound and an empty storage shed/insulin depot. Most react by bumping the dose back up which overfills the shed/depot again resulting in a roller coaster ride to nowhere. Not the way to work this insulin.
Above is from the sticky on the Storage Shed
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... 50&start=0
It's great that you are thinking for yourself....just please bounce stuff off us, there is a wealth of experience here that can help you shorten your learning curve. We want to help you help Spitzer.