10/20 & 10/21 Lucky

Status
Not open for further replies.

all4mymarine

Member Since 2011
Here are the #'s from last night:

PMPS: 365
+3.5: 290 (looked promising, but no...)
+7.5: 359 (was really interested to see how this cycle went so I woke up at 3am to check him!)
AMPS: 367

Last night's cycle looked like it was pretty flat. Shot 1.4u this morning according to the new sliding scale. I also tried shooting in the side for the first time. Was a little difficult because he wasn't used to it but no fur shot. Hope it makes a difference.

Anyone have any links showing different injection sites? I found a picture on the BD website with arrows an d labels but couldn't really find anything else. I've been shooting in the front shoulder, alternating sides.
 
Re: 10/20- Lucky

Sue, I did see the first link and then I saw one diagram from the second link but I really appreciated the slide show. The slide show actually showed the sites in real life, so it was helpful. Lucky must not have a lot of skin to pull up because I can't as much skin as the pictures. I'll work on trying different sites and see how he does. Thanks :-D
 
Re: 10/20- Lucky

There are actually a LOT of videos on YouTube that show it as well. I went to YouTube & typed Cat Diabetes Shot in the search box, and got quite a few very helpful videos. And if you happen to have a deranged sense of humor like I do, there's also a video of side-by-side comparisons of cats who look like Wilford Brimley: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v4CqlrDDWO0 I ended up watching a bunch of the Wilford Brimley videos & sending them to my family, most of whom have diabetes, so I really don't mean to offend *anyone* by posting that! Sometimes you just have to laugh when a disease/disorder has you stressed out. I know from my own health experiences.

My kitty, Stinky, doesn't have much excess skin either-He's only 10 lbs has always been bony. I just make sure that when I do get the skin tented, I smooth as much fur as possible away from where I'm going to inject so I can see that it's going into skin.
 
Re: 10/20- Lucky

WickedSteppMom said:
There are actually a LOT of videos on YouTube that show it as well. I went to YouTube & typed Cat Diabetes Shot in the search box, and got quite a few very helpful videos. And if you happen to have a deranged sense of humor like I do, there's also a video of side-by-side comparisons of cats who look like Wilford Brimley: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v4CqlrDDWO0 I ended up watching a bunch of the Wilford Brimley videos & sending them to my family, most of whom have diabetes, so I really don't mean to offend *anyone* by posting that! Sometimes you just have to laugh when a disease/disorder has you stressed out. I know from my own health experiences.

My kitty, Stinky, doesn't have much excess skin either-He's only 10 lbs has always been bony. I just make sure that when I do get the skin tented, I smooth as much fur as possible away from where I'm going to inject so I can see that it's going into skin.

Thanks, I'll check youtube again. I did look at A LOT of youtube videos when first starting this whole diabetes thing but most videos showed shots in the scruff. But I'll go look again and see what I can find!! I'll check out the Wilford Brimley link too, for some laughs :mrgreen: Lucky is a big kitty, about 15lbs but he's solid, not a whole lot of extra skin. I think I need to start getting shorter syringes too...been meaning to do that, I'm sure he'd thank me for that.
 
Re: 10/20- Lucky

Just an fyi...I find that alternating sitesdefinately changes his numbers for the better
 
Re: 10/20- Lucky

I will definitely start alternating sites, just need a little practice is all. Lucky has started growling at me when I come at him with the syringe and start pulling up his skin. He tenses up so it's hard to get a good pinch.

As for the sliding scale, I noticed tonight when I got a PMPS of 305 (which was really good by the way, although the cycle # weren't that great) that there's no dose for 250-300. I went ahead and shot a s1.4 (just barely past the top of the line, so not quite 1.3). Either it's going to be too much and he's going to be high and flat all night or we'll get good results. Never can tell!

Hoping for a nice AMPS!
 
Re: 10/20- Lucky

Actually this morning looked really good. AMPS was 331. Not sure what what he did overnight, I couldn't stay up any longer, I passed out on the couch watching TV waiting lol

I do shoot him while he's eating but he still gets very aggravated and mad at me. I think I just need to get shorter needles, just afraid of fur shots.

So here's today 10/21:

AMPS: 331
+4.5: 260


Wish +4 would have been a bit lower, especially since his AMPS was lower than usual, I have a feeling that +6 is going to be higher....we'll see....
 
Re: 10/20- Lucky

Beautiful +6 today, we had to expect the bounce afterwards. Don't shoot the bounce, stay with the last dose shot. Every time he see's a good number he will bounce less.

It looks like he might be liking the scale, yay!
 
Re: 10/20- Lucky

Yes, +6 was much much better and I did expect a bounce but I didn't expect his +10 to be almost 100 points higher than his +12 :YMSIGH:

He did the same thing on 10/12 but he didn't see a blue and I shot 1.3 so I wonder what's going on?
 
Re: 10/20- Lucky

I suspected that his PS was going to be lower but didn't want to get your hopes up, I'm glad it went that way.

That's why I suggested to stay at your regular dose. The bounce will clear by itself. I think he's coming around to the scale.
 
Re: 10/20- Lucky

So far so good tonight :-D +4 and we are in the yellows already!

PMPS 389
+4 254

Have to get to bed but I'm hoping to see a nice PS in the morning! So far I'm really liking the sliding scale results. I've done something like this on my own before but then switched to the hold dose method to see if liked settling into doses better.

Will start a new thread for tomorrow!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top